We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 3 Logan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had purchased a gift certificate for my wife for her birthday. We are both getting ready to start new jobs and thought that it would be great to get away before we do. We stayed for 2 nights. We stayed in the Aspen Cabin. It was amazing. It had most of the amenities of home, but no neighbors. We were able to sit in the hot tub on the back balcony in the early morning and evening and watch the deer feed at the bottom of the ravine.
The cabin is about a 12-20 minute drive through beautiful countryside from Hocking Hills Old Man's Cave and about 8 minutes from a Walmart, Antique Mall and Restaurants.
We did not get to meet the owners but have heard they are incredibly nice.
We will gladly stay here again soon.

Room Tip: We love the Aspen Cabin although there is no cell service or wifi in that cabin. It was a little un...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope your wife enjoyed her birthday getaway. Congratulations and all the best with your new jobs! We can imagine how exciting this is for both of you. Thank you for taking the time to submit your generous review and we certainly look forward to your return visit and getting to meet you in person the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Years ago, the Penguin classical music guide would rate recordings, but also give a "rosette" in rare instances in which a performance had a particularly moving quality that defied a star rating. Bear Run is like that.

If I would rate Bear Run solely on the amenities, I would likely give it around a 4.5, which is very good, but there are many, many undefinable positive qualities as well.

Let's start with the basics. We stayed here for several nights as part of a family reunion in which various groups stayed either in the inn or in cabins. Bear Run has an inn with three rooms and several cabins. Our group included people from toddlers up through their late 50s, with many different backgrounds despite the family connection. Particularly the newer cabins are far nicer than one would expect and well-appointed. We ourselves stayed in the suite in the inn, which was basically a large L-shaped room with two king beds and a bath. Throughout our time, our extended family used the downstairs living room area, which was very nice and included a full-sized refrigerator. There was a hot tub for 4 outside that we did not use. Our room was very comfortable.

The setting is beautiful. The inn and cabins are next to a huge meadow. There is a pond and shelter right nearby. We cooked several meals outside at night with two grills, a picnic area, and even a fire pit where we were able to build a fire and make smokes. On a clear night, make a point of going outside, as you will see more stars in the sky than you likely ever remembered due to the remote location. They have lots of hiking trails, and the countryside is made up of rolling hills and woods. This is not the place if you are looking for an exciting urban nightlife, but it has the best of what you would want in a rural inn in terms of comfort and atmosphere.

The amenities were good with the qualification that this is in a rural area, so while the wi-fi worked, the internet connection ranged from very good to virtually non-existent through no fault of the owners. They have satellite TV with multiple channels. We spent most of our time with family, so we didn't spend much time watching them, but there seemed to be a wide variety.

Speaking of the owners, they are the reason for my reference to a rosette award. Bud and Marsha are very genuine and warm hosts. They were extremely attentive without being intrusive and popped up from time to time with interesting stories (apparently they are acquainted with Joan Baez and she spent some time here), good recommendations, and lots of history. They spent extensive time in the Philippines, and our room and the inn were decorated with all kinds of interesting objects, including an intricate inlaid chest, as well as many other decorative touches. One evening, Bud came by for a hay ride, which sounded uninteresting to me (I live in a semi-rural area), but it turned out to be scenic and fun. The children in our group loved it.

Breakfast each morning at the inn was filling and great. I can recall very nice quiches and an extremely decadent caramel pastry of some sort. Every breakfast began with a lot of fruit.

The inn is about 5 miles from Logan, where there are some restaurants, a nice grocery store, a Wal-Mart (if you find yourself in need of some basics), and several small-town offerings if you want. It's about 20 minutes or so to Hocking Hills State Park, but it's a pretty drive.

Bear Run is a wonderful place to spend a rural weekend.

Room Tip: Look on line. The inn is a different experience than the cabins. The newest cabins are the nicest.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We here at Bear Run Inn Cabins and Cottages are honored to accept your "Rosette" along with the rest of a truly beautiful review. Bud and Marcia, along with the rest of us, are excited to share our little piece of rural life with our guests. Often it is easy for us to take all of this beauty for granted, but hearing of our guest's experiences and enjoyment of the property helps remind us once again that we are lucky to call this part of the Hocking Hills our home. When our guests arrive, our wish is that they will find themselves just as much at home. Thank you for your generous review and we look forward to seeing your group return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our party enjoyed a Hocking Hills adventure over Memorial Day Weekend with lovely accommodations at the Goldilocks cabin and the B & B. Our hosts, Bud and Marcia and their granddaughter, could not have been more welcoming and accommodating to our rather large group. The kitchen was well equipped and the grills and hot tub were in fine repair. The B & B is conveniently located on a beautiful hill within walking distance to the cabins enabling our group to easily gather for evening meals at the cabin. The beds were comfortable and it was clean. My only suggestion would be to make a separate exit to the backyard rather than having to walk through one of the bedrooms. We just walked around through the front door. We were within minutes to our canoe and zip lining excursions. Enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merryleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed recent your stay with us and that you found our facilities convenient for your large group to gather together. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your generous review. We look forward to seeing you and all of your group back again in the future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On a whim, my husband and I decided to visit Hocking Hills in winter ... we were lucky that Bear Run Inn was available for our short stay! We've usually booked a cabin somewhere, but also enjoy a good BnB, so we booked. SO glad we were able to find this gem! The owners, Bud & Marcia are such gracious hosts. Our room, the Four Seasons Suite, was so spacious, and room for two couples, or a family, but awesome for the two of us. VERY clean and tidy. The Sunday morning breakfast was outstanding; and the conversation with Bud was entertaining! Being winter w/ the heavy snow, we couldn't explore the pond or property, but we sure heard some stories about it! We will definitely book another trip in the Inn, or adjoining cabins, and would love to fish, or enjoy a hayride. I love horses, and can't wait to meet them next time!

If you love good, genuine hard-working people, clean rooms, great food and some peace & quiet, you will love Bear Run!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

On behalf of Bud, Marcia and the rest of our family, we thank you for your generous review and kind words. We are pleased that you were able to stay with us even if it were only for a short visit. We look forward to your return stay when you can spend more time outdoors, especially with the horses. We think they are looking forward to some warm spring weather as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am totally loving this B&B! We stayed at the B&B Inn, the Capiz room. The owner also has cabins, but we stayed at the B&B. I'm usually a hotel person, but this is better than a hotel. For a low price, you can have a great room only 20 minutes from Hocking Hills State Park. They have fast & free wifi & dish satellite TV in the great room downstairs. She reduces the price in the winter because she doesn't cook a hot breakfast. I actually preferred the discount. Breakfast during the winter is a yummy coffee cake that's very filling. There is also english muffins, oatmeal packets, dry cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee & fresh fruit. Better than a hotel breakfast! The bedroom & bed were very comfortable & the bathroom is nice. Both nights we were there in November I absolutely loved my time downstairs in the great room listening to soft music & writing on my laptop. It was so quiet, relaxing & inspirational! They have a hot tub too if you bring your swimsuit. They also have cats outside & farm animals that are fun to visit (goats, alpacas, horses) if you are animal lovers like we are. We met the owner, Marcia, & she is super nice. So glad we stayed here! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felizheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are pleased to hear that you loved your recent stay in our Capiz room and that you found your visit quiet, relaxing and inspirational. We realize that in this busy world, it is harder to come by those special moments, even while on vacation. In addition, it is great that you had an opportunity to visit our farm, especially the new Alpacas. Our farm animals love the attention they get from our guests.

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to submit your generously detailed review and we look forward your return visit with us someday for more relaxation and inspiration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Logan
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
25.2 km away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
25.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
39.8 km away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages

Address: 8497 Bear Run Road, Logan, OH 43138-9334
Region: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Logan
Price Range: RM398 - RM1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a night in our quaint Bed & Breakfast Inn, spend cozy nights for two in a cabin designed for relaxation, or bring your entire family and stay in one of our large cabins. We are surrounded by 600 acres of private woodlands and meadows. Three fishing ponds, shelter houses, fire pits and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages Logan, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing