We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Logan(Logan)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Logan)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$152
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$129
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
73
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar maple cabinred oakthe kitchenhot tubhocking hillsbachelor partyclean cabinpeaceful settingworking orderhiking trailsthe grillbudmarshaaspenwoodsgamestoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Years ago, the Penguin classical music guide would rate recordings, but also give a "rosette" in rare instances in which a performance had a particularly moving quality that defied a star rating. Bear Run is like that.

If I would rate Bear Run solely on the amenities, I would likely give it around a 4.5, which is very good, but there are many, many undefinable positive qualities as well.

Let's start with the basics. We stayed here for several nights as part of a family reunion in which various groups stayed either in the inn or in cabins. Bear Run has an inn with three rooms and several cabins. Our group included people from toddlers up through their late 50s, with many different backgrounds despite the family connection. Particularly the newer cabins are far nicer than one would expect and well-appointed. We ourselves stayed in the suite in the inn, which was basically a large L-shaped room with two king beds and a bath. Throughout our time, our extended family used the downstairs living room area, which was very nice and included a full-sized refrigerator. There was a hot tub for 4 outside that we did not use. Our room was very comfortable.

The setting is beautiful. The inn and cabins are next to a huge meadow. There is a pond and shelter right nearby. We cooked several meals outside at night with two grills, a picnic area, and even a fire pit where we were able to build a fire and make smokes. On a clear night, make a point of going outside, as you will see more stars in the sky than you likely ever remembered due to the remote location. They have lots of hiking trails, and the countryside is made up of rolling hills and woods. This is not the place if you are looking for an exciting urban nightlife, but it has the best of what you would want in a rural inn in terms of comfort and atmosphere.

The amenities were good with the qualification that this is in a rural area, so while the wi-fi worked, the internet connection ranged from very good to virtually non-existent through no fault of the owners. They have satellite TV with multiple channels. We spent most of our time with family, so we didn't spend much time watching them, but there seemed to be a wide variety.

Speaking of the owners, they are the reason for my reference to a rosette award. Bud and Marsha are very genuine and warm hosts. They were extremely attentive without being intrusive and popped up from time to time with interesting stories (apparently they are acquainted with Joan Baez and she spent some time here), good recommendations, and lots of history. They spent extensive time in the Philippines, and our room and the inn were decorated with all kinds of interesting objects, including an intricate inlaid chest, as well as many other decorative touches. One evening, Bud came by for a hay ride, which sounded uninteresting to me (I live in a semi-rural area), but it turned out to be scenic and fun. The children in our group loved it.

Breakfast each morning at the inn was filling and great. I can recall very nice quiches and an extremely decadent caramel pastry of some sort. Every breakfast began with a lot of fruit.

The inn is about 5 miles from Logan, where there are some restaurants, a nice grocery store, a Wal-Mart (if you find yourself in need of some basics), and several small-town offerings if you want. It's about 20 minutes or so to Hocking Hills State Park, but it's a pretty drive.

Bear Run is a wonderful place to spend a rural weekend.

Room Tip: Look on line. The inn is a different experience than the cabins. The newest cabins are the nicest.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We here at Bear Run Inn Cabins and Cottages are honored to accept your "Rosette" along with the rest of a truly beautiful review. Bud and Marcia, along with the rest of us, are excited to share our little piece of rural life with our guests. Often it is easy for us to take all of this beauty for granted, but hearing of our guest's experiences and enjoyment of the property helps remind us once again that we are lucky to call this part of the Hocking Hills our home. When our guests arrive, our wish is that they will find themselves just as much at home. Thank you for your generous review and we look forward to seeing your group return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our party enjoyed a Hocking Hills adventure over Memorial Day Weekend with lovely accommodations at the Goldilocks cabin and the B & B. Our hosts, Bud and Marcia and their granddaughter, could not have been more welcoming and accommodating to our rather large group. The kitchen was well equipped and the grills and hot tub were in fine repair. The B & B is conveniently located on a beautiful hill within walking distance to the cabins enabling our group to easily gather for evening meals at the cabin. The beds were comfortable and it was clean. My only suggestion would be to make a separate exit to the backyard rather than having to walk through one of the bedrooms. We just walked around through the front door. We were within minutes to our canoe and zip lining excursions. Enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merryleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed recent your stay with us and that you found our facilities convenient for your large group to gather together. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your generous review. We look forward to seeing you and all of your group back again in the future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On a whim, my husband and I decided to visit Hocking Hills in winter ... we were lucky that Bear Run Inn was available for our short stay! We've usually booked a cabin somewhere, but also enjoy a good BnB, so we booked. SO glad we were able to find this gem! The owners, Bud & Marcia are such gracious hosts. Our room, the Four Seasons Suite, was so spacious, and room for two couples, or a family, but awesome for the two of us. VERY clean and tidy. The Sunday morning breakfast was outstanding; and the conversation with Bud was entertaining! Being winter w/ the heavy snow, we couldn't explore the pond or property, but we sure heard some stories about it! We will definitely book another trip in the Inn, or adjoining cabins, and would love to fish, or enjoy a hayride. I love horses, and can't wait to meet them next time!

If you love good, genuine hard-working people, clean rooms, great food and some peace & quiet, you will love Bear Run!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

On behalf of Bud, Marcia and the rest of our family, we thank you for your generous review and kind words. We are pleased that you were able to stay with us even if it were only for a short visit. We look forward to your return stay when you can spend more time outdoors, especially with the horses. We think they are looking forward to some warm spring weather as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am totally loving this B&B! We stayed at the B&B Inn, the Capiz room. The owner also has cabins, but we stayed at the B&B. I'm usually a hotel person, but this is better than a hotel. For a low price, you can have a great room only 20 minutes from Hocking Hills State Park. They have fast & free wifi & dish satellite TV in the great room downstairs. She reduces the price in the winter because she doesn't cook a hot breakfast. I actually preferred the discount. Breakfast during the winter is a yummy coffee cake that's very filling. There is also english muffins, oatmeal packets, dry cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee & fresh fruit. Better than a hotel breakfast! The bedroom & bed were very comfortable & the bathroom is nice. Both nights we were there in November I absolutely loved my time downstairs in the great room listening to soft music & writing on my laptop. It was so quiet, relaxing & inspirational! They have a hot tub too if you bring your swimsuit. They also have cats outside & farm animals that are fun to visit (goats, alpacas, horses) if you are animal lovers like we are. We met the owner, Marcia, & she is super nice. So glad we stayed here! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felizheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are pleased to hear that you loved your recent stay in our Capiz room and that you found your visit quiet, relaxing and inspirational. We realize that in this busy world, it is harder to come by those special moments, even while on vacation. In addition, it is great that you had an opportunity to visit our farm, especially the new Alpacas. Our farm animals love the attention they get from our guests.

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to submit your generously detailed review and we look forward your return visit with us someday for more relaxation and inspiration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Aspen cabin overnight for our Anniversary. We have stayed in dozens of cabins in the Hocking HIlls region over the years so we know about what to expect. We got this cabin last minute and it cost around $60-70 more than the usual cabins we've stayed at before. The cleanliness of this cabin was outstanding. You could smell it when upon entering. It was a clean, fresh smell. It was a cute, one room cabin. Lovely bed and small stand alone fireplace. Nothing spectacular but cozy just the same. Because we paid so much more for this cabin, I expected at least the same amount of amenities as other places but was disappointed. I always bring my coffee maker with me because I'm a coffee person but this time I just figured it was an overnight stay and I could drink what they had on hand. Wrong. When looking through every nook and cranny for coffee I realized this wasn't something they offered... So, we had to head out through the hills and long roads to go get coffee. When we returned, had settled in awhile and used the hot tub we sat down to watch a movie. Then we realize there were NO movie channels. We talked about playing some cards but upon inspection there were no cards or board games to be found, which is very unusual since we've always had these things at hand at other places we've stayed. I realize these are minor things but when you pay over $200 for a one night stay in a one room cabin, you come to expect a few comforts. I would definitely pass up Bear Run Inn cabins the next trip and stay at one of the places we've stayed in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_Run_Inn_Cabins, Owner at Bear Run Inn Cabins & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were expecting. We make every attempt to provide the best customer care from the moment our guests make the reservation to the moment they complete their stay with us. In order to make ourselves available to accommodate any needs that arise prior to and during our guest's stay, we staff an office & gift shop located within ½ mile of all of our facilities. Even after hours, we are often available to answer phone calls to address customer questions and concerns.

We are happy to hear that you found the cleanliness of our Aspen Cabin to be outstanding. Our family has been in the lodging business here in the Hocking Hills for twenty years and our experience has shown that facility cleanliness is one of the most important qualities prospective guests looks for. We will be happy to share your complement to our housekeeping staff. We apologize that the coffee was not available in your cabin and have addressed that. A deck of cards was available in a drawer near the telephone. Although some of our facilities still have various board games, we are in the process of removing some and replacing them with simpler games. We found that often pieces were misplaced or mixed up with other games causing frustration for both housekeeping and our guests.

Each of our cabins is equipped with one of the two available satellite service providers, providing a large selection of program and music channels. Although this list did not include the channels you were expecting based on your previous experience with other facilities, we have chosen to offer other amenities which we believe are unmatched in the Hocking Hills. One such example is our several hundred private acres of woodlands and meadows. Very few facilities in the Hocking Hills can offer this expansive opportunity for nature's sights, sounds, peacefulness and serenity, stargazing and wildlife viewing, all within a short distance of your cabin.

We thank you for taking the time to submit your review and hope you will decide to give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to unmatched hospitality, while at the same time offering a clean and well equipped facility at a reasonable price, all located in a beautiful part of our county.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews