We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover(Strasburg)(Great Value!)
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Dover(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$98
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bolivar)
US$170
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
US$105
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Twins Motel(Strasburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
65
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse is beautifullaurens roomamish countryzoar villagea wonderful staylocal attractionstrip homeshy cellarsb b'seach morningweekend stayfootball hall of fameholmes countytwo nightsenjoyed our stayhostsaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Garver House. Our host, Al, was very kind and hospitable. The house is beautiful and well kept. We were spoiled by snacks, coffee, and a delicious breakfast while we were there. Al was very informative about activities and restaurants in the area as well. Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a getaway!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieC1015, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your excellent review. Really enjoyed having you. People like yourselves make running a bed and breakfast a real pleasure. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Garver House this past weekend while attending the Zoar Harvest Festival in Zoar, Ohio. We loved the antiques and artisans at the Zoar festival, as well as visiting the museum buildings in Zoar and hearing about the 19th century community that the villagers keep alive with their stories and tours. The Ft. Laurens room was very pleasant. Breakfasts were scrumptious. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. We'd love to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NanC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieC1015, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

It is always a pleasure to host people such as yourselves! The Zoar festival keeps getting better and better. Hopefully, you will return next year for the festival. Actually, we'd love to have you back any time you can make it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My wife and I were on an overnight get-away to visit the Wilderness Center and Schoenbrunn Amphitheater. Booked the Ft. Laurens room; very comfortable and roomy. The home is a finely furnished century home with several nice sitting areas. Our host, Al, provided an overview of the home and some local attractions. He suggested several dining options. At breakfast which was terrific, Al joined us for coffee and further discussion of local areas of interest. Would definitely recommend The Garver House B&B.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nojo716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieC1015, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words and excellent review! We really enjoyed having you here at the Garver House. People like yourselves make the bed and breakfast business a pleasure. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Reserved Ft. Laurens room, but host, Al, explained that they were having problems with air conditioner so we were upgraded to Strasburg Suite, which was cooler, for the same price. Al even offered to let us move to another nearby B&B if we were uncomfortable, but we had no complaint with room temperature. Home had nice living room area and sun porch which we were welcome to use.

Ordinarily breakfast is served at 9:00, but since we woke early, Al offered to move breakfast to 8:30. Nice breakfast with yogurt & fruit parfait and lemon pancakes. Al joined us and told us about some local sites.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ballen122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieC1015, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

One of the most rewarding things about running a bed and breakfast is meeting good people like yourselves. It was a pleasure to to be your host. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Our host, Al greeted us warmly on our arrival and gave us history and tour of the house. The home is beautifully decorated and maintained. Our room was very comfortable for restful nights sleep. Al would bring coffee upstairs near our room an hour before breakfast, a very pleasant treat. Breakfasts were delicious and nicely presented. After I mentioned liking oatmeal, Al very thoughtfully presented us with delicious oatmeal pancakes on our second morning. He gave us great overview of the Amish places of interested and restaurant recommendations, which helped us plan for our short stay. We definitely recommend the Garver House and look forward to repeat stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieC1015, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

It is always a pleasure to host guests such as yourselves. Meeting great people like you is one of the things that make the bed and breakfast business so worthwhile and interesting. We are not only looking forward to your second visit, but also the third and fourth!
Al and Natalie, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews