We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak sandwich”
Review of Riverside

Riverside
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Button Bridge Rd
Description: Hood River's only waterfront restaurant is known for some of the best food in the Gorge, plus amazing Columbia River views from just about every table. Enjoy it all indoors in Riverside's recently remodeled dining room or on the expansive dining deck. Menus change seasonally, with fresh, locally-sourced, all-natural ingredients. An extensive award-winning wine list, a dozen brews on tap, and full bar offer the perfect complements for a relaxing meal. Riverside's menu is also served in Cebu lounge. Weekday happy hours at Cebu feature a special menu based on many of Riverside's specialties.
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Food always tastes better on a deck overlooking a river, but the steak sandwich would taste good anywhere. Food is reasonably priced, there's plenty of seating, and I did not find parking to be a problem.

Thank WStaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

That's outstanding to hear you enjoyed your steak sandwich so much, and the river view made it even better. Thank you for taking the time to review Riverside, and we hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

What a beautiful place on the side of the river. You weren't directly in the sun as they had some coverings which added to the ambiance. It was so nice to sit out there for breakfast and drinks and dinner and no one chased us out as we enjoyed the view. The food and drinks were wonderful too. I recommend the Bloody Mary's, the Breakfast Veggie Bowl and the calamari appetizer. Well, everything we ordered was delicious. We were staying at the hotel and were so glad we dicided to stay and eat there instead of going out. Recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank francetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

What an outstanding recommendation! Thanks for sharing the many things you enjoyed about your meals at with us: the dining deck, food, beverages, and the relaxation. We're delighted that Riverside made your stay even better. We hope your travels will bring you back our way someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Great pasta's and a wide variety of different types of pasta dishes. Nice view of river and bridge area.

Thank Hochmayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thanks for coming in, and for sharing that you enjoy our pasta selection. Most pasta is housemade, and there's enough variety to please various palates. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My friend from out of town and I came in for dinner on a Sunday afternoon in June roughly around 5pm. Although we didn't have a reservation, We we're still greeted by a nice host and asked our preference of seating, as they did have some availability for that time. We were offered a spot on the patio outside and we took it. The views from the patio area where wonderful! It was sunny, not too warm, not a lot of wind and had nice shade from the covers provided.

We both ordered burgers although we did see many menu items with possible interests to try in the future! They had many seafood options and had their, "Catch that day, Serve that day Salmon" that they have seasonally. We were also surprised to see that the Riverside Grill was competitive as far as price goes, to many other places in Downtown Hood River but had the benefit of being in a position with fantastic views!

Our burgers where cooked to perfection, we both had fries that where awesome as well and before our entrees came out we had some really nice soft garlic bread with oil and vinegar. Although we didn't have any alcohol, they did have an extensive wine menu with options from all over the Pacific Northwest!

The staff was solid, from the female host to the young gentleman by the name of Caesar who was very respectful and friendly and who walked us to our outside seating. Our female server took a little whiles to come get our order or to ask for our drinks but she seemed pretty busy overall. She was kind and nice during our interactions with us and tried to offer us dessert twice which we both appreciated each time but were too full to take advantage of. What we appreciated as well was the bussers or the young guys and girls dressed in all black that came out and cleaned up after guests departed, where all friendly and kind too. They were able to interact with guests by smiling and having quick conversations with guests and weren't just robots. Being personable goes a long ways for us as we both are in the customer service world so anytime you have someone representing a business or restaurant, that is something we both look at and appreciate. We saw hard working people such as Luke who was very personable while getting tables ready for guests!

This place gets high marks from my friend and I and would enjoy coming back in the future for another meal with a beautiful view!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thanks so much for bringing your out-of-town friend to Riverside for dinner. We're fortunate to have an ideal spot for enjoying Columbia River views along with your meal, and the deck this time of year can't be beat. We're so happy our menu choices met with your approval, and that your burgers were cooked to "perfection." We especially appreciate your high praise of Riverside's staff — hostesses, servers and bussers. We're thrilled to hear everyone was personable, and that it added to a nice experience for you and your friend. Thanks also for contributing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We've taken many trips over the years from our home in PDX to the Columbia River Gorge for the recreational activities. We've stayed numerous times at the Hood River Best Western Plus Hotel but never took the opportunity to have dinner there. We took the opportunity on Sunday night and we were quite pleased with the experience.

The Riverside Dining Room has the advantage of a great waterfront location and equally great views of the Gorge. Our meals complemented the fine views. I had the Salsiccia pasta and my wife dined on the Salmon Penne entree. My pasta was a generous size and very tasty. The salsiccia was spicy but not overpowering with a very flavorful sauce. My wife had declared her salmon penne as excellent. The chocolate tort dessert was also excellent.

The entree prices were in line with other restaurants in Hood River. Guests at the hotel get a discount on one entree. This lowered the price of our dinner with a bottle of wine and dessert to $75. We thought that was a very reasonable price given the excellent meal and waterfront location.

LIke others, we've found that service at restaurants in resort areas can be a bit of a gamble at times. Fortunately, the service here is as good as the meals and views-attentive and professional. I imagine that a few of the wait staff here are in the area for same reasons as the guests-hiking, biking, skiing and windsurfing. Regardless, the Riverside crew is well-trained without the "hey dude" overly casual air we've seen at other places.

An excellent Father's Day dinner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thanks for your great review and all the details about your experience at Riverside. We appreciate you being our hotel guest in the past and are so pleased you have now enjoyed dinner with us. You hit many key points — our housemade pasta specialty, panoramic river views from the restaurant and dining deck, and a professional, attentive staff — thanks for being so thorough! It’s great to receive feedback that you also found great value in the overall experience, too. We hope you’ll visit us again next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing