We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Plas to Stay in Quaint Jacksonville, OR”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a must in Jacksonville, OR, just outside Grants Pass. ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL restored victorian. The house has been restored to better than new, absolutely gorgeous! Robert and his wife I don't remember her name) are warm and welcoming. The baked goodies in the morning are first cabin and the fresh-baked cookied in the afternoon are some of the best I have ever had. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed, the cost, at least during the winter, very reasonable. We decided to extend our stay an extra day because of our wonderful hosts and the quaintness of Jacksonville itself. BTW, check out the local winery tasting rooms, all within a few minute walk. We ate at the Jacksonville Inn, the bistro, and it too was first cabin.

Magnolia Inn is a definite two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

A charming and restful place to rest while in the area for a family wedding. We enjoyed two nights as guests. The owners struck a great balance between friendliness and professionalism.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here for one night after a week with family in Portland. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful with restaurant suggestions etc. I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the place.
Our only disappointment was in the breakfast. When we booked in a bed and breakfast we thought that breakfast would be substantial. Here they offer fairly typical hard boiled eggs, oatmeal in a packet, sad looking fruit salad. It's not displayed very well. They did have good bread for toast and excellent scones. We would have loved to have had a hot breakfast with eggs, potatoes etc.
The hotel location is excellent, on a fairly quiet street within steps of the interesting downtown area.

Room Tip: Look on-line at the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband, adult son and girlfriend, and I stayed here one night while traveling to Portland. We all stayed in the two room suite with a rollaway added and everyone was very comfortable. The inn is decorated very charmingly with some beautiful artwork on the walls that are available for purchase. Upstairs, where most the rooms are, also has a nice sitting area where breakfast is served (continental) and snacks and drinks during the rest of the day. There's even a neat popcorn machine downstairs that you can help yourself to. They also have a nice selection of vcr tapes and books you can borrow during your stay. Our room was comfortable with some nice antique pieces and the bed was great. I'm ready to come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Magnolia Inn was fantastic. The owners are warm and friendly.The Inn was decorated for Christmas and looked gorgeous. The rooms have themes. We were in the music room in the corner. It was such fun meeting people in the breakfast room. Breakfast was delicious and it was nice that you could come any time and didn't have to be there at a specified time. The Inn is conveniently located for visiting downtown Jacksonville. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Look them up on the internet and you can see what the rooms look like. Even though we were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
24.3 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
24.7 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
690 reviews
32.8 km away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Country House Inns Jacksonville
1.6 km away
Bybee's Historic Inn
Bybee's Historic Inn
#4 of 8 in Jacksonville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 245 N 5th St, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9258
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: RM562 - RM697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn, built in 1928 and located in the heart of historic Jacksonville, Oregon, boasts nine comfortably elegant rooms, each featuring premium linens, private bath and central air. The boutique Inn has been completely renovated, and provides a unique blend of casual elegance filled with charming hospitality. The lush floral grounds beckon you to relax and unwind in one of the numerous sitting areas, each having wonderful views of several of the town's most historic buildings. Our expansive continental breakfast allows you to wake up on your schedule and dine at your leisure in the dining area or on our picturesque and inviting veranda. Jacksonville's Magnolia Inn is the perfect spot for romantic getaways, vacation and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing