We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Party caused problems”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #16 of 93 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Description: What would the beautiful city of Newberg be without a great place for family and friends to grab a delicious meal? Black Bear Diner provides the perfect ambience for people from all walks of life thanks to its friendly staff and scrumptious food. Whether you’re a faithful resident or visiting from out of town, we will make sure you feel right at home every step of the way.
Restaurant details
Description: What would the beautiful city of Newberg be without a great place for family and friends to grab a delicious meal? Black Bear Diner provides the perfect ambience for people from all walks of life thanks to its friendly staff and scrumptious food. Whether you’re a faithful resident or visiting from out of town, we will make sure you feel right at home every step of the way.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Much to the credit of our server, she worked very hard to make a tough situation more than acceptable.
Food was very good.
It seems like a party of 10 should not be placed to a party of 22 in the same area?
Server was great. Food was slow coming out of the kitchen, but good when it got to us.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018

This is a local restaurant with good food and good service. The menu has a good selection. It is comfortable and relaxing. I would eat there again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Great breakfast. Grandson had the cinnamon roll French toast. He was in seventh heaven. I had the sausage and eggs with biscuit. Everything thing was great. I have gone there 3 times on my trip to Oregon and every time has been great. Service was very good Will be stopping back again when I go back next year

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank tsteelefarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice dinner, late (9) last night. Service was excellent, portions were large, even though two of us ordered from the senior menu! Two of us had the Chicken Fried Steak with salads and the other person in our group had the fish and chips dinner. All the portions were too large to finish and we took stuff home. Bonus for me, I love that! The Chicken Fried Steak was delicious, so we're the fish and chips, although he did say, they were a little too crunchy. That's why the four stars instead of five. May we suggest that the coatings on fried items be of a softer variety and maybe another menu selection for smaller appetites called a LOT less, for small plates? Atmosphere is great, prices very good for all that food! Oh! Also may we suggest smaller size grated carrots and very thin cucumber slices for senior salads... Some of us have no teeth to crunch the big stuff! Overall very happy experience!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mag23018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The food was good and the service was very good and the place has a very rustic feel it was also not very crowded when we went.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 324Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing