We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Lunch Spot for Views & Chowder” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron Salmon

Saffron Salmon
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Spot for Views & Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We found this a little pricey ($8 was the cheapest glass of wine) but there were not many choices that looked promising in the area, (the old historic bayfront area) and we were glad we chose it as the chowder was excellent, the fish and chips pretty good, too. You overlook the Newport bridge. Bring binoculars if you want to watch the seabirds and seals in the bay. The restaurant provides picture ID charts along the windows to help you figure out what's what in the fish and fowl on the waterfront. There are several little art galleries nearby that are also worth checking out. I gave the cost per person rating a $$$ based on cost, not the "more formal dining" description - (What does that have to do with the cost per person?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Desdemona99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    103
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

this is where my husband and I go for our anniversary every year. The setting on the bay front in Newport is stunning at sunset, and the food is just as beautiful! Everything we have had there has been delectable! I have taken other couples there and they agree with us that it lives up to their reputation of being a premier restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Coy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstandingly delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The menu, the ambience, the food and the service were awesome! If you want something more upscale than pizza and fried seafood the Saffron Salmon is your place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyMac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific City, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just had lunch at the Saffron Salmon and couldn't have been more pleased. We started with the twice fried potatoes which were delicious and very unique. The calamari was lightly breaded and sauteed in olive oil and just the right amount of spicy heat and flavor. Definitely a different twist than what you would typically get in other restaurants. We loved it. We also ordered the sauteed garlic shrimp with linguini. The large shrimps were very plentiful and perfectly cooked.

They have a stunning view of the bay, relaxed atmosphere and our service was spot on. I really liked the menu for both lunch and dinner and its uniqueness. This is one of the best places I've eat at in Newport. I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coastlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The food was wonderful! It's a great small restaurant right on the water in the Bay Front district. The prices range from $12 (burger) to $32 (rack of lamb). A note: DO get a reservation. It's possible that we were there during a popular festival, but the quality of food suggests to me that reservations are a good idea any time of the year.

My boyfriend got their burger and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had their grilled Escolar which was absolutely delicious and very well seasoned. The service was friendly and attentive. It was a great romantic evening.

As a note though, my creme brulee was not very smooth. When it came to the table it was still very warm and the sugar on top had not set so it was a gooey mess. Tasty, but not done properly. The custard could also have used from a bit longer setting time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Salmon also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing