We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came here night #1 and for lunch before we left.”

Newport Steak and Seafood
Ranked #52 of 116 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Description: We are a small family owned business that has operated for many years. We have a very loyal local following as well as people coming from miles away. Although we specialize in steaks and seafood we have much more on our menu and also have daily breakfast, lunch, and dinner specials. We try to make your visit with us a happy one and do our best to accommodate special requests.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small family owned business that has operated for many years. We have a very loyal local following as well as people coming from miles away. Although we specialize in steaks and seafood we have much more on our menu and also have daily breakfast, lunch, and dinner specials. We try to make your visit with us a happy one and do our best to accommodate special requests.
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We came here just because the name sounded like what I wanted= Seafood. Had a salad with a mini loaf of very fresh bread that we enjoyed. The chowder was quite good with some large chunks of clams...yum! We ended up coming back for more chowder on our last day. There is a bar half of the restaurant that has a very nice gas fireplace. The perfect place to warm up after a day out on the rainy Oregon coast. The other half of the restaurant is kind of diner style and not very memorable.

Thank garyd210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Manager at Newport Steak and Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the nice review!
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We often frequent the place and are seldom disappointed. Tonight was an slight exception. The food was great but the bartender was too busy to give us but the scantest of service. She was so "busy" that she only filled our beer 3/4 full, yet she had time to text often and visit with the other workers.
This less than average bartender will not thwart our support and enjoyment of this fine establishment but I do hope the owners will correct this inept individual that was tending on Saturday night October 14.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Manager at Newport Steak and Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are very happy that you enjoy our restaurant! We do apologize for the service you received this past Saturday night, though, and we will bring it to the bartender's attention immediately.
Thank you for your continued support and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had eaten here before 4 years ago and enjoyed the food. The food was good on this trip also but the restaurant is in need of a good cleaning. I would advise shampooing the carpet at least if they can't replace it. We had the steak special that night and it was very good. They were out of the dessert we wanted so we skipped that. Very reasonably priced, good food, but not very well maintained.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Stopped for lunch, almost by accident. Traffic southbound across The Bridge was insane, so we bailed out and ended up here. We both had that day's lunch special--grilled ham/cheese sandwich with a cup of soup or chowder. Our food came quickly and was hot and delicious. Our server was a hoot--friendly, vivacious, and efficient. We returned the next morning for breakfast. Same server greeted us. (How could she be so full of energy ALL the time?). My wife had French toast (3 slices instead of the more usual 2) and I had the omelette special which was gynormous! Once again, the food was great and served with a smile. This is a no frills "locals" sort of place. The time and effort goes into the food, not fancy decor. We loved it.

Thank mvdreamtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Manager at Newport Steak and Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

We are so happy that you had a good time with us! I'm guessing that your server was Marcy and she IS a hoot and very energetic. We hope you come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I reviewed this establishment earlier this year because it's one of our favorites. This past weekend solidified exactly why we come here and will continue to do so. After attending a nearby biker camp out we decided to have a late breakfast on the ride home. When I say we, I mean 15 people joined a short while later by 2 others, who walked in unannounced at sat down. Before we could even finish getting settled I noticed the waitress pouring the dozen plus glasses of water and getting ready to bring them to our tables. Orders were placed for drinks and food orders were taken. Despite our numbers, our food arrived quickly and as always, it was great. Not all establishments can pull off that task, but they did so with ease and efficiency. I highly recommend Newport Steak and Seafood and I look forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2bald2care
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Manager at Newport Steak and Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for the great review!! We are so glad that you enjoy coming here and we look forward to seeing you again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newport Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Newport Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing