We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 511
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
Marriott Hotels
RM 434
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Expedia.com
RM 511
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Karina K

Excellent hotel, with even better staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2023
Centrally located, the Bidwell is an easy walk to the sites, sounds, and many flavors of Portland. Thoroughly enjoyed every staff interaction from the valet, the front desk, the cleaners, and the breakfast bar staff. Wanted to particularly highlight Pedro, the M Club attendant and Ian at the front desk. Both went out of their way to make us comfortable and make the best of our trip. The room itself was modern and comfortable, and had all the amenities one would need including dimmable lights, USB outlets and blackout blinds.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear karinakW1547UB,
Thank you for your glowing review of The Bidwell! We're delighted to hear that our central location made it easy for you to explore all the vibrant sights and flavors Portland has to offer. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your interactions with our team across all areas of our hotel—from the valet to the breakfast bar staff.

A special thanks for highlighting Pedro and Ian; we're thrilled that their efforts helped make your stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing not just a modern and well-equipped room but a warm and welcoming atmosphere that makes every guest feel at home.

We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to serve you again with the same top-notch hospitality and comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 522
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 524
  • Hotels.com
    RM 522
  • Priceline
    RM 522
0.1 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
RM 673
  • Priceline
    RM 673
  • Expedia.com
    RM 673
  • Hotels.com
    RM 673
1.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 538
  • Choice Hotels
    RM 569
  • travelup.com
    RM 475
  • Expedia.com
    RM 538
9.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 489
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 489
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 473
  • Expedia.com
    RM 491
0.7 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 753
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    RM 752
  • travelup.com
    RM 691
  • Expedia.com
    RM 752
1.7 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 678
  • Expedia.com
    RM 678
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 675
  • travelup.com
    RM 740
0.4 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 619
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 505
  • Official Website
0.1 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 573
  • Hotels.com
    RM 573
  • Priceline
    RM 573
0.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • LuxuryCollection
    RM 821
  • Booking.com
    RM 872
  • Hotels.com
    RM 872
0.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 574
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 565
  • Priceline
    RM 574
0.7 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
545
384
135
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
545
384
135
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location high horse front desk pioneer square valet parking corner room within walking distance per day the pearl two blocks valet service very nice hotel powell's books hotel restaurant voodoo donuts tyler lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Terrific hotel stay in a central downtown location. We have stayed at the Bidwell Marriott a few times and this hotel consistently exceeds expectations. Rooms are modern, comfortable and well appointed but it is the staff that sets this hotel apart from competitors. Each team member we met went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable and comfortable. Two employees deserve a special shout out for making the visit exceptional, specifically Levi at the front desk and Pedro in the M lounge. They both went out of their way to help and could not have been nicer. It is such a pleasure to deal with professional, genuine and friendly people and I hope Marriott recognizes that Levi and Pedro are wonderful ambassadors for their brand. They exemplify the traits that make guests feel truly welcome and who want to return. Thanks for a great experience.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Absolutely beautiful room and view! The staff at the Bidwell are professional, and nice… especially Levi and Pedro!:) we had dinner in the restaurant, and it was delicious! Definitely highly recommend this spot! :-)

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cyndi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

Good weekend stay at the Bidwell Portland for a quick trip to see friends. Hotel was inexpensive, was quiet, Clean and centrally-located in downtown next to shopping, restaurants and the waterfront. The rooms were large and comfortable, only complaint would be the bed was a little uncomfortable but I have a bad back so this is most often the case for me. Maid service was good. Front desk staff was friendly, and the lounge was well-equipped. HIGHLIGHT OF THE TRIP: lounge staff Pedro was EXCEPTIONAL. He was super friendly, super helpful, insistent on staying late to make sure everyone got breakfast, he went out of his way to get us coffee drinks and snacks as we departed A+++ VOTE FOR PEDRO!

Room tip: Valet or Uber
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SMUxSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Exceptional service at breakfast (both in the restaurant and the club). Pedro, in particular, was so lovely, personable and super helpful. The room was well appointed--only feedback is that our hallway was SUPER hot. When we visit Portland again, this is the spot.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mange2teTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023

Did a spontaneous road trip down to Portland and got a great deal at The Bidwell.
Super easy to access from the highway for someone not familiar with Portland.

Only parking option was valet which made us a tad nervous as you never know who will handle you car but after walking around Portland for 2 days – we would not know where to park the car ourselves. All was great with the valet.

As a Marriott elite member, we were given a very beautiful upgrade – thank you.

Check in was a breeze, amenities explained well and the front staff was super friendly.

Hotel has a very cool vibe, I loved the colours and décor.

Housekeeping does a great job, everything felt fresh and crisp.

The M Club had a cool attendant, He started a few months ago (Hello NYC) and was super attentive to guests’ needs. Note, no evening appies available, that would have made it perfect.

We ate our first dinner in the hotel’s restaurant and were blown away by the food and cocktails. Outstanding! The braised short rib pasta was to die for.

I know the hotel’s green, but I just didn’t like the idea of that empty water bottle we could fill with water. If there was a dishwasher where I could have run it through before I use it, I might have tried it, but I am not just using any random bottle. It’s like drinking out of the water glasses in a hotel’s bathroom, you just can’t do that 😊

The location was perfect if you didn’t want to touch the car at all. We got great recommendations from the front desk where to go and walked all over town.

I checked out a few other Marriott properties I had considered and this one has by far the best location.

Portland has some challenges with drugs and homeless people, but as Vancouverites this seemed very tame to us. Never felt unsafe at all and we walked everywhere, even in the evening. The hotel is in a good spot.

When we come back to Portland, we will definitely pick the Bidwell again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bubbelbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews