We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Marriott Hotels
RM 474
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
ZihuFun
Laguna Beach, California

Spacious - Super Comfortable - Clean - Unique & Real

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We're at The Bidwell Marriott Portland with family. The room is wonderful, extra large with two super comfortable Queen beds!
Our first time to Portland.
There are four absolutely wonderful employees here that made and is making our 2 days totally enjoyable. Colton, Levi, Zion and Carolina. Great food recommendations and conversations.
Ideal location too!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Walk 5 easy blocks to Pearl district restaurants. Peacock Thai was Delicious! Recommended by...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 627
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
LuxuryCollection
RM 952
RM 896
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 951
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 633
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 633
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 749
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 749
0.4 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 779
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 505
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Website
    RM 530
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 430
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 521
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 508
  • Choice Hotels
    RM 569
9.2 km from The Bidwell Marriott Portland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
545
384
135
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
545
384
135
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location high horse front desk pioneer square valet parking corner room within walking distance per day the pearl two blocks valet service very nice hotel powell's books hotel restaurant voodoo donuts tyler lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

This has been our hotel choice in Portland starting well before it was rebranded as The Bidwell, but recent changes have us considering other nearby places to stay. We have been visiting Portland twice a year, and the Bidwell has kept our business for now, but barely.

The Bidwell is an older but well maintained hotel, comfortable, I would say. It’s location is good, just two short blocks from the Red Line light rail to and from the airport.

But the Bidwell’s “destination fee” of $30 per day is difficult to justify, since downtown Portland, with its persistent and unfortunate problem with homelessness, can hardly be considered a “destination” area these days. And the fee now has us considering alternatives. We stuck with the Bidwell on this trip, but I just don’t know if it will remain our top choice.

Yes, I know “destination” or “amenity” fees are becoming standard, but Portland is a competitive market and several comparable hotels use their lack of such fees to advertise their advantages.

As Marriott Platinum members, we enjoy the 2nd floor M Lounge with its friendly and helpful staff, and free breakfasts.

And, to be fair, the hotel now offers some offsets to the destination fee, including a $30 daily credit at the High Horse, the bar/restaurant adjacent to the M Lounge on the 2nd floor. Another benefit is a free daily cocktail for two, but if you’re not into these mixed drinks, this does’t do you any good.

And while the food is pretty good at the High Horse, we found the wine pours frankly skimpy for the price. Smallish glasses combined with small pours. And one small glass with dinner for each of us wiped out the daily credit, so didn’t represent any break on rather standard hotel pricing for meals.

The rooms are a reasonable size. The rooms come with a safe at no charge. Both on the plus side. Some rooms on high floors have nice views of Mount St. Helens or Mount Hood.

When we look at our next Portland visit, we’re going to have to figure out the value of the lounge and its excellent free breakfast fare, and at what point it no longer represents a good value in this hotel market.

I’m sorry to be kind of downbeat, as we have enjoyed our previous stays at the Bidwell.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for your continued loyalty to The Bidwell as your hotel of choice in Portland. We truly value your insights as they help us understand where we can improve and continue to offer memorable experiences to our guests. We appreciate your kind words about the condition and location of our hotel, as well as the positive experiences you've had with our M Lounge staff and the amenities provided there.

We understand your concerns regarding the destination fee and how it impacts your perception of value, especially given the competitive nature of the Portland hotel market and the current social challenges in the downtown area. We are actively working to ensure that the benefits provided, such as the daily credits at High Horse and complimentary cocktails, offer real value to our guests and make the overall pricing transparent and worthwhile.

Your feedback is crucial for us as we strive to better our services and ensure our guests feel truly taken care of during their stay. We hope to keep The Bidwell as your preferred choice and are committed to addressing the issues you've raised so that your future visits are nothing short of excellent. Thank you once again for your candidness and for helping us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Was there on a Family medical stay, the view from my room was awesome. From the very first moment at the front desk, I felt the warmness of the staff. We were met by "Zion" asking if we needed assistance with a vehicle and luggage. He took care of everything asked us on a daily basis if we needed anything. My very first contact was with "Betty and her co-worker" at the Front desk, they made me feel like I was at home. They checked on my daily needs and saw to my every desire, welcoming back. The staff throughout the hotel was nice and very helpful. They happily greeted you and saw to your every need. I had breakfast daily and the staff (Pedro and Cory) served us breakfast in the lounge. Betty and of the staff had a very warm (remembering our names from the first meeting) and joyful greeting when we came in from a day at the hospital (days of surgery and waiting room for my daughter). The staff provided great service. This a family orientated big hotel because, all the staff made me feel like family. This hotel is my favorite in Portland, because of the Staff, accommodations and food are great. I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Portland, Oregon.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPine1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Dear BigPine,
Thank you so much for your heartwarming review and for choosing The Bidwell during such a critical time for your family. We're deeply touched to hear that our team, especially Zion, Betty, Pedro, and Cory, provided you with the warmth and support you needed. It's our goal to make every guest feel at home, and it sounds like we were able to do just that for you during your stay.

We understand how challenging and stressful it can be to have a loved one in the hospital, and we're glad that we could offer you a comforting and caring environment to return to each day. It's wonderful to know that the views from your room, our accommodations, and the food contributed positively to your stay as well.

Thank you for recommending us as your favorite hotel in Portland. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back and ensuring another exceptional experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Levi was amazing. Made me very welcome! I walked in and he helped me everything I need. I always stay at this place because it’s so personable and clean. The door people keep the riff raff out and all of the staff was extremely helpful. I will continue to stay here.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Curiosity34549918003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Dear Curiosity, Thank you for choosing The Bidwell for your business stays and for taking the time to share such positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that Levi made you feel exceptionally welcome and that his service, along with the efforts of our door staff and the rest of our team, contributed to a personable and secure environment during your visit.

It's great to know that our commitment to cleanliness and helpfulness meets your expectations consistently, making us your preferred choice in Portland. We value your continued patronage and look forward to your next stay, ensuring it's just as enjoyable and comfortable as the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Highly recommend the Bidwell for the value, location and most importantly the staff. Tyler at the front desk was super helpful and a joy to interact with. So was the morning / breakfast staff in the M Lounge & restaurant: Travis, Corey and Jared (I think). Overall, the staff made our trip even more enjoyable. Thanks all!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Dear JasonS3577,
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review and high recommendation of The Bidwell! We're thrilled to hear that Tyler, along with Travis, Corey, Jared, and the rest of our morning/breakfast team, made such a wonderful impression on you. Our staff always strives to provide warm, friendly, and helpful service to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible, and it sounds like they achieved just that during your visit.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and we'll make sure to pass along your compliments to the team. We are delighted that our location and the overall value added to the positive experience of your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bidwell soon for another fantastic experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Centrally located, the Bidwell is an easy walk to the sites, sounds, and many flavors of Portland. Thoroughly enjoyed every staff interaction from the valet, the front desk, the cleaners, and the breakfast bar staff. Wanted to particularly highlight Pedro, the M Club attendant and Ian at the front desk. Both went out of their way to make us comfortable and make the best of our trip. The room itself was modern and comfortable, and had all the amenities one would need including dimmable lights, USB outlets and blackout blinds.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Wright, General Manager at The Bidwell Marriott Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Dear karinakW1547UB,
Thank you for your glowing review of The Bidwell! We're delighted to hear that our central location made it easy for you to explore all the vibrant sights and flavors Portland has to offer. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your interactions with our team across all areas of our hotel—from the valet to the breakfast bar staff.

A special thanks for highlighting Pedro and Ian; we're thrilled that their efforts helped make your stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing not just a modern and well-equipped room but a warm and welcoming atmosphere that makes every guest feel at home.

We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to serve you again with the same top-notch hospitality and comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews