We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cheri L

Our Stay at the Royal Sonesta - Downtown Portland, Oregon

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Sept 2023
Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was delightful, from the staff to the accommodations. The royal exterior façade of the structure fit the name and met all of our expectations.

The suite was three full rooms a large bedroom, with an equal bathroom and living room area.

The décor was eye candy for the soul, uplifting, bright and unique, from the Bird Leg Lamp on the octagon table, to the metal art on the flight of birds wall paper. Art Deco tile on the shower back wall. The compliment of the gold and gray geometric patterned carpet. Two interesting winged back chairs, and the navy-blue love seat met our aging comfort level perfectly. The view of street from our wall of windows connecting us to the outside, and the architectural renderings wallpaper in the bathroom. Bravo to the interior decorator, loved your bravery.

Our bed was heavenly sleeping; Steve and I and our our large dog Midnight with space and comfort.
Every request of the staff was made with a smile and a skip in their step.

We would like to thank the staff
Jeremy, Room Director
Dean, the Doorman
Carla, and Chris Front Desk Staff,
Katherine, Karla Parking Valet,
Bailey and Emily, Room Service
Neville, the electrician who repaired our living room TV.
And others that gave us their assistance and care.
We have forgotten the lady with a mask that checked us in and continued to be delightful throughout our stay.
We would also like to give the city of Portland a heads-up compliment for the cool comfortable weather, clean streets, air and overall disposition of kindness and generosity.

Many Thanks
Robert Austin and Cheri Ann La Lone

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 9 Sept 2023
Cheril, it's wonderful to hear that your time at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown was a delightful experience. We're pleased to know our hotel’s unique look and thoughtful decor fed your soul and that your suite provided you with space and comfort. Appreciation for our team's dedication, from Jeremy to Neville, brings smiles to their faces. We're thrilled to read about your gratifying interactions and service. Portland's charm is undeniably a bonus, and we're glad you acknowledged it. Many thanks, and we hope to welcome you and Midnight back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 592
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 708
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 632
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 647
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 533
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 576
RM 544
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    RM 576
  • Hotels.com
9.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Zags Lobby Seating
RM 524
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 503
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 744
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    RM 443
  • Priceline
11.8 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (3,778)
Filter reviews
3,778 results
Traveller rating
2,899
641
157
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,899
641
157
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel monaco red star tavern king suite social hour attached restaurant love this hotel front desk staff valet parking upon check kimpton lobby downtown doorman funky wallpaper garage robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 3,778 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2023

Wonderful experience. The bed and pillows super comfortable. All the extra offerings -- the free wine tasting in the lobby, free coffee in the morning, lovely fireplace and comfortable seating in the lobby, dog treats, friendly staff, expedient service. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hollymoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Hollymoff, thank you for sharing your superb review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and pillows at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. The additional amenities like the wine tasting, morning coffee, the cozy fireplace seating, and dog treats are just a few features we're pleased were memorable. It's wonderful to hear our team members were friendly and provided quick service. We can't wait to welcome you back in a heartbeat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. Very nice and clean. Ate in the restaurant and food was good.
We used their parking and it was $52 a night, easy to get car.
Walkable to voodoo doughnut and waterfront area.
At lot of homeless but they are everywhere and did not bother us

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tomhW7885FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2023

Tom, it's encouraging to learn that your three-day stay at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown met your expectations. We're delighted you had a positive dining experience in our restaurant and that our convenient parking facilities enhanced your stay. It's pleasing to know that our location, being within walking distance to popular attractions, played a role in shaping your impressions. We appreciate your understanding of the city's wider societal matters. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we eagerly anticipate your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2023

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta while we were in Portland for a wedding. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous and the friendly staff made our stay especially enjoyable. Speaking with Kathryn with valet was one of our favorite parts of our stay. Kathryn has such a positive attitude and you can tell she loves her job, she made us feel like royalty! Overall wonderful experience, we'll be back to stay again!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maddi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

It warms our hearts to hear about your fantastic experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown! Our team members, like Kathryn, truly embody our dedication to making each guest feel like royalty. It's wonderful to know you so enjoyed her positivity and friendly attitude. We're truly delighted you loved the beauty of our property. We eagerly await your return for another memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

Really swanky decor, thoughtful touches (shoutout to the wine happy hour), and lovely staff. Shoutout to Kathryn working the valet and Chris at the front desk. Kathryn gave us great donut recs and we had a lovely chat about her recent move from Boston (where I had just come from!). Both of them were awesome and made our stay that much more pleasant.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LoveTravel494014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2023

LoveTravel494014, it's wonderful to hear about your positive experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're delighted that our unique interior aesthetics and considerate amenities, like our afternoon wine gathering, added to your enjoyment. We're particularly pleased to note that Kathryn and Chris were able to enhance your stay - both are valued team members. Kathryn's local knowledge and Chris's hospitality exemplify what we strive for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2023

We stayed in a king suite on the 10th floor. The view was beautiful, the staff was amazing and so accommodating. I was impressed by the quality of the design, the decor is very eclectic and not something I’d normally be into but everything was so elevated and beautiful, the booking photos do not do it justice. If you’re driving I would recommend putting your valet it’s worth the peace of mind and the valet, Kathryn that was usually there during our trip was exceptional.

Room tip: Use valet, it’s downtown
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mercedes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2023

Mercedest982, thank you for this fantastic review of The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We are elated to learn that the view from your suite was impressive, and our team’s service was amazing and convenient. We're also glad to hear that the unique décor won you over and it surpassed your expectations from bookings photos. Our colleagues, including Kathryn, are committed to provide outstanding service and your kind words will certainly encourage them. Your recommendation for our valet service is much appreciated and we look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews