We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aaron H

1-year anniversary stay at Sonesta Downtown Portland

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Oct 2023
The hotel vibe was excellent and all of the staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room itself was a corner room and the bed was comfortable, and the valet service they offered was a huge help and well worth the additional charge.
Jermie greeted us upon check-in and made great recomendations for our trip. Me and my wife celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary in Oregon and this was a great place to stay for the 7 nights.
Karla was also very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Lani in valet was very helpful and courteous of our needs and always greeted us with a smile. If we are ever back in the area and looking for a place to stay, this is where it will be. Highly recommend!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 6 Oct 2023
It's heartening to learn that you and your wife had an excellent experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown for your anniversary. Our team members, like Jermie and Karla, genuinely enjoy providing a welcoming atmosphere that enhances your stay. We're also thrilled to know that our convenient valet service, led by Lani, added extra ease to your time with us. When your travels bring you back to our area, we'd be truly delighted to host you once more. Thank you for recommending us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 690
  • Curio
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 703
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hampton
1.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 518
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Zags Lobby Seating
RM 483
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
0.7 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 798
  • Curio
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 778
  • Booking.com
  • Embassy
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 447
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 663
  • Expedia.com
    RM 891
0.5 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 487
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 606
  • Priceline
9.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (3,776)
Filter reviews
3,776 results
Traveller rating
2,897
641
157
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,897
641
157
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel monaco red star tavern king suite social hour attached restaurant love this hotel front desk staff valet parking upon check kimpton lobby downtown doorman funky wallpaper garage robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,776 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2023

Kathryn, the valet attendant made us feel especially welcome. Every morning we would go get our car she would greet us with a kind welcome, and we always looked forward to seeing her each day. Thank you Kathryn, for making us feel safe and for being a great employee. You made our experience at Royal Sonesta great.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Greetings, we're delighted to hear about your experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. It's wonderful to know that Kathryn, one of our team members, made your stay memorable through her thoughtful hospitality. She'll be thrilled to hear how much you appreciated her kind welcome. Thank you for the stellar rating and we are looking forward to having you with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2023

Spacious accommodations and interesting decor but the real gem was the service. Grayson the server at the hotel restaurant was amazing and intuitive. She made me feel right at home. Also Chris from the front desk was thoughtful. Loved the grand piano and fireplace in the lobby - lovely old hotel feel!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Temple W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2023

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the ample space and unique design of The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're thrilled you had a wonderful dining experience with Grayson and received thoughtful assistance from Chris at our reception. We're also delighted you enjoyed the grand piano and fireplace, contributing to our charming and traditional ambiance. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was delightful, from the staff to the accommodations. The royal exterior façade of the structure fit the name and met all of our expectations.

The suite was three full rooms a large bedroom, with an equal bathroom and living room area.

The décor was eye candy for the soul, uplifting, bright and unique, from the Bird Leg Lamp on the octagon table, to the metal art on the flight of birds wall paper. Art Deco tile on the shower back wall. The compliment of the gold and gray geometric patterned carpet. Two interesting winged back chairs, and the navy-blue love seat met our aging comfort level perfectly. The view of street from our wall of windows connecting us to the outside, and the architectural renderings wallpaper in the bathroom. Bravo to the interior decorator, loved your bravery.

Our bed was heavenly sleeping; Steve and I and our our large dog Midnight with space and comfort.
Every request of the staff was made with a smile and a skip in their step.

We would like to thank the staff
Jeremy, Room Director
Dean, the Doorman
Carla, and Chris Front Desk Staff,
Katherine, Karla Parking Valet,
Bailey and Emily, Room Service
Neville, the electrician who repaired our living room TV.
And others that gave us their assistance and care.
We have forgotten the lady with a mask that checked us in and continued to be delightful throughout our stay.
We would also like to give the city of Portland a heads-up compliment for the cool comfortable weather, clean streets, air and overall disposition of kindness and generosity.

Many Thanks
Robert Austin and Cheri Ann La Lone

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Cheril, it's wonderful to hear that your time at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown was a delightful experience. We're pleased to know our hotel’s unique look and thoughtful decor fed your soul and that your suite provided you with space and comfort. Appreciation for our team's dedication, from Jeremy to Neville, brings smiles to their faces. We're thrilled to read about your gratifying interactions and service. Portland's charm is undeniably a bonus, and we're glad you acknowledged it. Many thanks, and we hope to welcome you and Midnight back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

Wonderful experience. The bed and pillows super comfortable. All the extra offerings -- the free wine tasting in the lobby, free coffee in the morning, lovely fireplace and comfortable seating in the lobby, dog treats, friendly staff, expedient service. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hollymoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Hollymoff, thank you for sharing your superb review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and pillows at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. The additional amenities like the wine tasting, morning coffee, the cozy fireplace seating, and dog treats are just a few features we're pleased were memorable. It's wonderful to hear our team members were friendly and provided quick service. We can't wait to welcome you back in a heartbeat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. Very nice and clean. Ate in the restaurant and food was good.
We used their parking and it was $52 a night, easy to get car.
Walkable to voodoo doughnut and waterfront area.
At lot of homeless but they are everywhere and did not bother us

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tomhW7885FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2023

Tom, it's encouraging to learn that your three-day stay at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown met your expectations. We're delighted you had a positive dining experience in our restaurant and that our convenient parking facilities enhanced your stay. It's pleasing to know that our location, being within walking distance to popular attractions, played a role in shaping your impressions. We appreciate your understanding of the city's wider societal matters. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we eagerly anticipate your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews