We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Website
RM 530
ZenHotels.com
RM 436
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
ElaineT
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Comfortable rooms but very limited servcies

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2023
This property is not a 4-star hotel nowadays. That said, my room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet once the kids next door settled down for the evening so I'd put it 3-star. The only thing lacking in the room was aesthetics. It was exactly as well-worn and 70s ugly as pictured. To top it off my room had a painting glued to the mirror slightly crooked. I paid a bit more to stay on the the top floor, which included a view of Mt. Hood on clear days, upgraded linens, and plush bath robes. I'm accustomed to paying for a view; however, I'd expect premium linens in all rooms in a Royal Sonesta.

The staffing was what was really lacking. The only noteworthy service was the front desk, who were friendly, professional, and efficient. The restaurant and bar aren't even open Sunday and Monday evenings. If you want a drink in the evening, you have to purchase bottled beer or a glass of wine at the front desk. Monday and Tuesday breakfast and lunch on all days is only by room service with an expensive delivery fee tacked on. Like many hotels now, they don't have cleaning service outside of emptying the trash every couple of days. If you want fresh towels or even in-room coffee refreshed you have to ask at the front desk. It took me two tries to get more K-cups.

The couple times I ate at Finch & 5th the food was variable in quality. The wings were excellent, with plenty for 2-3 people to share. However, I was really taken aback by a pork chop dinner. I'm not picky about how my food looks but the pork chop was served on a sea of white grits with tan apple gravy and not a shred of vegetables or color. I've never been served a less appealing looking plate. The flavor was good, but the pork chop was very tough.

Pay attention to room rates when you reserve. The hotel advertises low rates to look good in aggregation services, but then tacks on a $25+tax "destination fee." It includes $10 breakfast and spa credits so I felt like I paid for services I didn't use. The Hilton, Marriott, and Hampton Inn nearby don't engage in this annoying and mildly deceptive practice.

The location is very convenient to mass transit and within walking distance of the Pearl District but I was uncomfortable walking at night. 4th street had a sizeable tent encampment, with armed guards posted at the businesses across the street. The local CVS had broken glass and bare shelves. One afternoon I had to ease around a spaced-out, intoxicated man standing squarely in front of the hotel entrance. The hotel itself has access control and felt safe, but depending on your plans you may want to take the area into consideration.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Plan for nights with no bar/restaurant.
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 27 Oct 2023
It's regrettable to note that your stay was not up to your expectations. We're pleased that you appreciated the spacious and quiet nature of your room and the quality service by our front desk colleagues. We do, however, acknowledge your comments about the room decor and the challenges with our restaurant's operating hours.

In regards to room preferences, we do our best to provide various amenities across different room categories. About the room service, we're continually revisiting our practices, and your feedback is invaluable in such efforts.

Concerning the restaurant, we're sorry your culinary experience was inconsistent. We aim to provide top-notch dishes and take great pride in everything prepared by our kitchen team. Your input will certainly help us improve.

Our pricing structure is aligned with industry standards. As for the location, while we have no control over the external circumstances, the safety and satisfaction of our guests within our premises are our primary concerns.

We appreciate your detailed feedback which will guide us in making improvements. We hope to get another chance to serve you better in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 628
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 952
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 952
0.1 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 634
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 636
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 750
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 750
0.3 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 780
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
1.6 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 506
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 489
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 522
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 509
  • Expedia.com
    RM 546
9.2 km from The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (3,774)
Filter reviews
3,774 results
Traveller rating
2,896
640
157
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,896
640
157
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel monaco red star tavern king suite social hour attached restaurant love this hotel front desk staff valet parking upon check kimpton lobby downtown doorman funky wallpaper garage robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,774 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

This hotel used to be very nice albeit a bit gaudy but it’s really gone downhill with the rest of Portland. It’s staffed by a skeleton crew, the spa has windows facing the street, and the restaurant is nowhere near what it used to be. Location is good though it’s around the corner from a convenient store inhabited by denizens of the street with lots of junkies smoking heroin out of foil nearby. The local wildlife is abundant. As a traveller from Seattle, I see this all the time. However, Seattle seems like Disneyland compared to Portland and this hotel is akin to the haunted mansion without the fun ride. Sad.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Jason, we appreciate your detailed feedback. It's disheartening to hear that your recent stay didn't meet your past expectations. The point about a diminished spa experience has been noted--privacy and comfort within our wellness area are essential for our guests. The observation about our dining services is also appreciated and will be assessed. We're glad to know that our location was beneficial, though we regret to hear about the outside environment. Being a refuge of calm and enjoyment for all travelers is a top priority. We'd value the opportunity to have you give us another try and see that we can provide an improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

The hotel vibe was excellent and all of the staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room itself was a corner room and the bed was comfortable, and the valet service they offered was a huge help and well worth the additional charge.
Jermie greeted us upon check-in and made great recomendations for our trip. Me and my wife celebrated our 1-year wedding anniversary in Oregon and this was a great place to stay for the 7 nights.
Karla was also very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Lani in valet was very helpful and courteous of our needs and always greeted us with a smile. If we are ever back in the area and looking for a place to stay, this is where it will be. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

It's heartening to learn that you and your wife had an excellent experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown for your anniversary. Our team members, like Jermie and Karla, genuinely enjoy providing a welcoming atmosphere that enhances your stay. We're also thrilled to know that our convenient valet service, led by Lani, added extra ease to your time with us. When your travels bring you back to our area, we'd be truly delighted to host you once more. Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023

Kathryn, the valet attendant made us feel especially welcome. Every morning we would go get our car she would greet us with a kind welcome, and we always looked forward to seeing her each day. Thank you Kathryn, for making us feel safe and for being a great employee. You made our experience at Royal Sonesta great.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Allison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Greetings, we're delighted to hear about your experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. It's wonderful to know that Kathryn, one of our team members, made your stay memorable through her thoughtful hospitality. She'll be thrilled to hear how much you appreciated her kind welcome. Thank you for the stellar rating and we are looking forward to having you with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2023

Spacious accommodations and interesting decor but the real gem was the service. Grayson the server at the hotel restaurant was amazing and intuitive. She made me feel right at home. Also Chris from the front desk was thoughtful. Loved the grand piano and fireplace in the lobby - lovely old hotel feel!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Temple W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2023

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the ample space and unique design of The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're thrilled you had a wonderful dining experience with Grayson and received thoughtful assistance from Chris at our reception. We're also delighted you enjoyed the grand piano and fireplace, contributing to our charming and traditional ambiance. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was delightful, from the staff to the accommodations. The royal exterior façade of the structure fit the name and met all of our expectations.

The suite was three full rooms a large bedroom, with an equal bathroom and living room area.

The décor was eye candy for the soul, uplifting, bright and unique, from the Bird Leg Lamp on the octagon table, to the metal art on the flight of birds wall paper. Art Deco tile on the shower back wall. The compliment of the gold and gray geometric patterned carpet. Two interesting winged back chairs, and the navy-blue love seat met our aging comfort level perfectly. The view of street from our wall of windows connecting us to the outside, and the architectural renderings wallpaper in the bathroom. Bravo to the interior decorator, loved your bravery.

Our bed was heavenly sleeping; Steve and I and our our large dog Midnight with space and comfort.
Every request of the staff was made with a smile and a skip in their step.

We would like to thank the staff
Jeremy, Room Director
Dean, the Doorman
Carla, and Chris Front Desk Staff,
Katherine, Karla Parking Valet,
Bailey and Emily, Room Service
Neville, the electrician who repaired our living room TV.
And others that gave us their assistance and care.
We have forgotten the lady with a mask that checked us in and continued to be delightful throughout our stay.
We would also like to give the city of Portland a heads-up compliment for the cool comfortable weather, clean streets, air and overall disposition of kindness and generosity.

Many Thanks
Robert Austin and Cheri Ann La Lone

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Cheril, it's wonderful to hear that your time at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown was a delightful experience. We're pleased to know our hotel’s unique look and thoughtful decor fed your soul and that your suite provided you with space and comfort. Appreciation for our team's dedication, from Jeremy to Neville, brings smiles to their faces. We're thrilled to read about your gratifying interactions and service. Portland's charm is undeniably a bonus, and we're glad you acknowledged it. Many thanks, and we hope to welcome you and Midnight back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews