We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Website
RM 541
Booking.com
RM 541
ZenHotels.com
RM 445
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,774)
Filter reviews
3,774 results
Traveller rating
2,896
640
157
54
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,896
640
157
54
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel monaco red star tavern king suite social hour attached restaurant love this hotel front desk staff valet parking upon check kimpton lobby downtown doorman funky wallpaper garage robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,774 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2023 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Royal Sonesta! Everyone was extremely friendly especially our valet driver Kathryn. She gave us a lot of helpful tips about the attractions we visited and was always smiling. The room had a log of character and was very clean. Would visit again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Kelly, it's wonderful to hear you had a memorable stay at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're thrilled Kathryn, your valet driver, made such an impact on your visit, contributing helpful tips with a radiant smile. We're also pleased you appreciated the distinctive character of your room and its cleanliness. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023

Though I live in Portland, I needed a room in Downtown for an event. I can definitely say that this hotel is so very Portland. I knew I was going to love it from the second I walked into that lobby. In terms of feel and decor, it is so lively, whimsical, colorful, artsy, and just plain beautiful. It’s the kind of hotel you might find in a Wes Anderson movie. Moreover, every member of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Front desk, bartender, and valets were all a complete pleasure to interact with. The room itself was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and had a great view of the city. If you have a car, their parking structure has a gate and is attended to the entire time. And yes, you can go in and out as you please. I can’t recommend this place enough. I can’t wait for an excuse to need a room in downtown just so I can stay here again. Oh, and it’s within walking distance from so many great places! Love this place.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ItsReallyRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

ItsReallyRen, your excitement about your stay at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown is infectious! We love that you enjoyed our vibrant ambiance and found our decor reminiscent of a Wes Anderson film. Our team members are flattered by your kind words and really strive to make every interaction a pleasure. We're thrilled the room exceeded your expectations and you found our parking convenient. Here's to many more enjoyable stays! It seems you've found a delightful excuse to enjoy our hotel, even being a local. We look forward to welcoming you back for more unique experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed our three night stay at this lovely hotel. The area felt with several nearby restaurants, including the hotel restaurant Finch on Fifth. Valet parking was extremely safe and secure with genuinely friendly valet staff. Shout out to Kathryn who greeted us warmly each time we saw her. Housekeeping was somewhat unpredictable as is often the case these days, but a phone call took care of anything we needed quickly and pleasantly. We enjoyed the Saturday wine hour and the coffee and pastries on the other mornings

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 374sherryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

374sherryh, it's delightful to know you thoroughly enjoyed your three nights with us at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're glad that our location enhanced your stay by providing convenient dining options including our in-house restaurant, Finch on Fifth. It pleases us to know how you appreciated our valet parking and the friendliness of our colleagues, especially Kathryn who left a positive impression.

We acknowledge your feedback regarding our housekeeping, and we're glad our team was able to promptly assist with your needs. Your mention of the Saturday wine hour and morning pastries is heartening. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - your positive feedback is encouraging. We hope your future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Have been to Royal Sonesta in Portland a few times this year for work and pleasure. The staff is always fun and friendly. It was nice to be remembered by Kathryn at the valet! She does a great job 👏🏼 Also enjoy Chris and the creativity he brings to the place.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

W9226DGjoeyt, it's great to hear that your experiences at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown have been so positive. We're thrilled that our team members, like Kathryn and Chris, have contributed to making your stay both memorable and enjoyable. We highly appreciate your commendation of their efforts and can't wait to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Loved the restaurant experience, I had breakfast at the finch (on the first floor of this hotel), and had a lovely waitress assist me. She was warm, bubbly and friendly. Her name is Grason. An absolute must to grab breakfast downstairs. She's awesome!!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GoPlaces665358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyalSonestaPortDTGM, General Manager at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Greetings, it's delightful to hear of your fantastic restaurant experience at The Royal Sonesta Portland Downtown. We're thrilled that Grason, with her vibrant personality and friendly service, went above and beyond to enrich your breakfast experience. Her effort truly embodies the extraordinary hospitality we strive to provide. Please do revisit us; your breakfast table is always ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews