We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have eaten in better Italian Restaurants”
Review of Brooklyn Trattoria

Brooklyn Trattoria
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 20/06
20:00
Ranked #552 of 4,146 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: RM 104 - RM 353
Description: Italian Restaurant, NY Style Cuisine. Dinner Only, Romantic, Special Occasions, Join us for Dinner with those you love.
Restaurant details
Description: Italian Restaurant, NY Style Cuisine. Dinner Only, Romantic, Special Occasions, Join us for Dinner with those you love.
Reviewed 11 February 2020

Just picky, Have eaten in Italian restaurants in NYC, Little Italy-Baltimore, The Hill in St. Louis,, Sals by Victor in Williamsburg VA. and anyplace I can find Italian. All were better than this place. Small menu.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2019

We absolutely love this place. It's a very frequent stop for us for dinner or even just happy hour. The food is great, always consistently prepared and done perfectly. The wine selection is nice and one of the most reasonably priced wine lists I have ever seen on this side of the pond. Service is good and the atmosphere is very cozy without distractions from TVs etc. Wouldn't pass this place up, very good find! Added bonus is that it's kid-friendly and 1/2-off wine night!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mineo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2019

Family of six. Something for everyone. Selections much more inspiring than most Italian restaurants. The special of the day was crab ravioli. Superb. Very friendly, efficient, knowledgeable waitstaff. Reasonably priced. Not terribly noisy. Excellent wine selection. Eager to return!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngelineW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here on a Sunday night for my birthday. We made reservations ahead of time, and I'm glad we did because this is a popular place. I wanted to find a nice romantic Italian restaurant on the westside and found this on a random search. The restaurant has a romantic intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. Some people were dressed up yet not required. We ordered Almond Salmon Limone and Spaghetti & Meatballs. Both were absolutely delicious. My husband kept raving the entire dinner about the bread & herb butter, the service, the atmosphere and especially the meatballs. This is a great place to go for Valentine's Day, birthday, anniversary or a special occasion. There was one family here but mostly adults. The menu offers both moderate to higher price items. We like to try different restaurants for special occasions to mix things up, but we will definitely be coming back again.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MJ_EBs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2019

We had been meaning to try this Trattoria for some time – it is only 0.7 miles from our home. We used March’s “Dine Out Month” to sample the place at a slightly lower cost. We will be back!
Because of the special priced menu (which had more choices than on most “Dine Out Month” menus) the restaurant was full and a little noisy. However, the wait staff handled the large crowd very well. David, the owner, came over to talk to us, and he was charming and very informative about the restaurant – their web site says you will become family, and they could well be right. Mandalyn, our wait person, was excellent, and when she realized we were from England, she brought over a colleague who was from Yorkshire as we are – talk about becoming family!
All the food we sampled was very good, and we cannot understand some reviewers saying the portions were too small. We found the three courses a little too much for us, and when we return will probably not consider a dessert if we have appetizers – or may just have a main course.
Both our appetizers were lovely – the Parmesan Polenta Cakes will probably become my choice every time, and my wife loved her Spinach Salad which had pancetta, gorgonzola, and crushed hazelnuts in it. Some people might consider Tiramisu a “too ordinary” dessert, but the version here is wonderful.
As both of us love the concept of wine and food pairings and consume wine with all dinners, we would like an Italian restaurant such as this to concentrate more on Italian wines. They have some very good wines on the list, and I realize they do not have much storage space, and also need to carry some wines the average person can recognize. However, I would like them to increase slightly the proportion of Italian wines on the list. Italy has an incredible variety of wines, and Portland consumes much Italian wine and so many are available on the local market. What makes it even better is that some wines are Direct Imports by Oregon distributors which cuts out a “middle man’s” profit.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pdxmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Brooklyn Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.