We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
RM 759
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
AliR123
Lynnwood, Washington
Looking Forward to Going Back
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Feb 2024
We stayed at the Kimpton RiverPlace for one Saturday night and were very impressed. We will be staying for three nights in March for a family wedding. We were first greeted by the valet, who was welcoming and helpful to us. Then the desk customer service personnel were very pleasant, efficient, and informative. The hotel room (a King Suite) was roomy, clean, and quiet. In fact, the whole hotel was very clean with warm and welcoming decor. We ate at the King Tide restaurant on site and were impressed with the food, beverages, and service on both occasions. We appreciated the quiet, out-of-the way location of the hotel, away from the busy-ness of downtown Portland, yet still reasonably close. Located off the river walk, it was nice to walk along the water. There are several shops and restaurants to check out along the way. We felt safe and were among runners, families, and walkers out enjoying the break in the rain.
Date of stay: January 2024
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 524
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Tripadvisor
RM 677
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 622
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 504
RM 461
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 903
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
2.3 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 653
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
1.1 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 439
  • Official Website
    RM 540
1.0 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 528
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    RM 576
  • Expedia.com
    RM 463
  • Hotels.com
9.6 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 478
  • Expedia.com
    RM 557
0.7 km from Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveller rating
1,647
292
83
24
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,647
292
83
24
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews willamette river river place a river view room the river walk wine hour wonderful hotel close to downtown valet parking happy hour front desk staff the entire staff visiting portland king suite kimpton riverfront fireplace pets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

If you’re traveling to Portland, OR, and you want to stay in a lovely hotel in a great location, I strongly recommend Kimpton RiverPlace. It’s got that warm, cozy feeling. The rooms are great. The restaurant is great. The entire staff was outstanding! Especially Michael, Isabel, Sarina, James, and Doug.

Room tip: I recommend walking along the marina! It’s a lovely location with many shops. Also downtown shopping is a short 5 minute walk.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Excursion17552641654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimptonRiverPlaceGM, mgmt_resp_affil8 at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Excursion17552641654, we're thrilled to hear that your stay at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel was enjoyable. It's wonderful that you appreciated our enriching ambiance, comfortable rooms, and delightful restaurant. Our team members, particularly Michael, Isabel, Sarina, James, and Doug, are pleased to have been a part of your positive experience. Thank you for your strong recommendation and we're looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the 4.5 star ratings. I am not rating this a 3/5 because we had any particular problems; but it's just tired and dated. It's in dire need of a renovation. Everything from the room decor to the small TVs to the bathroom fixtures, furniture, etc.; it's all very meh. The coffee maker in the room is installed in the TV cabinet (which itself is really dated; feels like the 80's) in a pull-out drawer, but it isn't plugged in! And there's no obvious outlet in there, so we had to pull it out and plug it in awkwardly on a side table beside one of the dated couches.

We are relatively new to the IHG brand; we've had some excellent experiences at Intercontinental hotels as well as Indigo brand properties; we had thought that Kimpton was also supposed to be one of IHGs nicer, more updated brands, but this is the second Kimpton we've stayed at that has really underperformed. It feels like the hotel isn't really keeping up with the times and details like a coffee maker that isn't plugged in seems to be par for the course with this brand.

We are Platinum elite members but as far as I could tell we weren't upgraded in any meaningful way (perhaps the hotel was full).

Honestly we are also Hyatt loyalists and I think in the brand portfolio this would be something akin to a Hyatt Centric or something, but Hyatt's upper tier brands are far better maintained and have been more recently renovated. IHG is making an effort to improve their brand; they have made great strides in improving their loyalty program but I think hotels like this one indicate to me that IHG needs to decide what they're going to do with brand standards.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mitsu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimptonRiverPlaceGM, mgmt_resp_affil8 at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Mitsu, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you remarking on the hotel's aesthetics and room conveniences. We understand that certain aspects like decor and equipment may not have met your expectations and it didn't seem up-to-date. We constantly strive for improvement so your input about this matter is valuable to us.

It's evident from your comments that you are a discerning traveler with a strong affinity for the IHG brand, having experienced several of our other properties. Please rest assured that your comments have been heard and will be taken into consideration as we constantly aim for excellence in all our properties, including Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel.

Regarding your Platinum elite membership, we apologize if you didn't feel acknowledged in a significant way. We aim to honor our loyal guests and ensure their recognition. We regret if this didn't seem to be the case during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and demonstrate improvements made based on your invaluable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

By far, this was the worst hotel in our Oregon trip with 5 hotels. We stayed at the Marriott across the street but by the time we decided to extend our stay in Portland, they were already booked out. Fortunately and unfortunately, I booked this Kimpton using an IHG award night and it happened to be a 2-minute walk.

From start to finish, it was an unwelcoming experience. We hauled our stuff across the street, only to find the door locked at 11am. It was 2 minutes before a guest came to let us in. The manager James then helped us check in early and he was the only helpful staff member. Our room was not quite ready, so we left our bags and decided to come back later.

They did text when the room was ready but we ended up getting back a bit before 8pm. Same deal, the door was locked. We stood a few minutes waiting for someone to open it. A woman with a name tag came out and opened the door to ask if we were guests. When I said we are, that was followed by a lecture about how we need to use our key card to open the door, which we did not have yet. I said we checked in earlier but the room was not ready; we didn't have a key. Instead of apologizing for the confusion, she continues to lecture that I should have said that to begin with when she could have phrased her question differently. This was already such a bad start.

A nicer young lady came to help us with our keys. I asked if our bags were upstairs and she wasn't sure but said she would check and if they were not upstairs, she would ask for someone to send them up. We waited 20 minutes before my husband called down and asked about our bags. Once again, they confirmed they would send them up. After another 10 minutes, my husband went down and got them. They had slammed the door in his face after handing him the bags. He is the sweetest person and this really upset him. The room was ready for 8 hours and after asking twice, they still were not located for 30 minutes and they were rude to my husband.

The room itself was biting cold. We set the thermostat to 75 degrees, later 78, and it still stayed around 65-69. It was so cold that I had to sleep with a robe on, still shivering after a hot shower and despite wearing long sleeves. I was excited to see a timer in the bathroom, thinking it was for a heated floor, but it was for lights. Who times the vanity lights? It also came with a loud ticking in the background. I'm also not sure who is designing bathrooms these days but they put the toilet paper roll so far behind reach on the right side when there is literally a wall on the left side that is long enough to be within reach and accessible.

Overall, the room felt dated and was fairly dusty. There was dust near the TV, dust near the coffee/tea packets, dust near the lights. Speaking of lights, they all had different and hidden switches. In 2023, you would think they'd use one switch to turn on all the lights. The switches turned nothing on. Instead, we had to search for the 1st switch in the dark. The rest were also hidden as tabs or built into the design. The bed was big but not comfortable. It was sinking in the middle. The pillows were even sadder and flat. The bathroom door didn't slide all the way closed and there were 2 doors into the bathroom; both closed loudly. The room door was also hard to close. The complimentary boxed water in the rooms had a weird waxy taste. One of them later burst in the trunk of our car, probably for the best.

The only good thing was that we called the front desk a few times for items we forgot or ran out of, such as toothpaste and tweezers, and they brought those right away. The room also didn't have lotion but they brought one over. We also enjoyed King Tide, the restaurant downstairs. It was a solid 4 stars - great service and delicious food. Highly recommend the clam chowder with Peruvian spices. The hotel lobby door was open from the time my husband picked up the luggage until we went downstairs to eat, so at least 30 minutes, and the lobby was then ice cold and the cold air carried into the restaurant. I asked the receptionist if we could close the door, to which she said yes, she was cold too. She didn't even offer to help, but I was just happy to close it.

At check-out, my husband pulled the car around and I handed him the luggage. There was no one around at the desk or counter, but the valet saw we were there and called someone. I walked to the front door and while this happened, a family and a couple cut me in line, even after the valet noted I was there first and he did try to help. The receptionist didn't care and the family took an absurdly long time reviewing each line item. I didn't know why until later. We stood there for 10 minutes until James also came out to help the couple and then finally helped me check out. He confirmed I only had the King Tide charge and some taxes. I received the bill 10 minutes after leaving, while we were on the road.

To add insult to injury with this experience, we were charged a $26 amenity fee. What amenity was provided exactly? We had to dodge attitudes, search for our bags, call for lotion, buy new water, wipe dust off their appliances, and try not to freeze to death. There is no pool or spa. I sent a 2-sentence email to the hotel showing the screenshot of my reservation and no mention of an amenity fee. Their response? "The fee is listed on our website and app as additional charges. I have confirmed it is listed when booking with points this way." I did not book with points though and they never responded to my follow-up email.

Chalk it up to an inexpensive lesson - don't stay at Kimptons! They apparently all charge amenity fees and there is a class action that was started in 2021. Fill that out if you were also surprised. I have stayed at 30+ IHG properties and have never seen an amenity fee on an award night and this bill looked more like a long rental car receipt than one for a 4-star hotel.

If you don't want to deal with this kind of nightmare on vacation, we highly recommend staying across the street at the Marriott. The experience was 180 degrees, especially with their wonderful staff, simple checkout/bill, and clean rooms.

Room tip: Don't book this hotel - unhelpful staff, cold and dated rooms, long list of fees and taxes, and uncomfortable bed.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimptonRiverPlaceGM, mgmt_resp_affil8 at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

We're genuinely sorry to read about the issues you encountered. Understanding that your experience was less than ideal, we assure you that it's not reflective of the level of service we typically strive to deliver.

The difficulty with accessing your room and the wait times experienced during check-in are regrettable. We definitely value your time and acknowledge that early access should be made smoother for our distinguished guests.

Our team is truly sorry for the not-so-warm experiences you encountered. We strive to make every guest interaction positively memorable and will be addressing your feedback about communication with our colleagues.

It's important to us that every guest room is perfectly set upon arrival. Mention of a chilly room, confusion with lighting, and issues with the bathroom setup are areas we'll be reviewing with the relevant teams to rectify. Your comments about upkeep and cleaning are taken seriously. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and will ensure that your feedback is shared with our housekeeping team.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the prompt room service and found value in our restaurant, King Tide. Your feedback about the lobby temperatures will be passed on to ensure a more comfortable and welcoming environment.

The issues surrounding billing and the amenity fee are concerning and will be looked into. It's crucial for our guests to feel satisfied and accurately informed about all charges associated to their stay.

To wrap up, we are truly sorry for the less than stellar experience you had. We acknowledge there's room for improvement and we appreciate you sharing your experience so we can take appropriate steps to enhance our services for you and our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

Stayed here after booking with AMEX Fine Hotel and Resorts. Loved that we could use the $100 property benefit towards the $49 parking (not safe to leave car outside). We had dinner at King Tide and they had an excellent burger and fries! Didn’t care for the appetizer bread which is weird…the butter wasn’t good. Helpful staff and clean room. I liked that there was a fridge for our waters without it being taken up my weighted minibar bottles. Beds very comfy. Short walk to the tram to explore the city.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ThreeGirls520
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimptonRiverPlaceGM, mgmt_resp_affil8 at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

ThreeGirls520, it's great to read that you enjoyed your experience at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel. We're delighted to know that you found our amenities to your liking and the restaurant met your palate. We appreciate your feedback regarding the appetizer bread and will surely pass it along to our culinary team. Our team members take great pride in maintaining clean rooms and it's lovely to know you found the beds comfortable. We hope you had a wonderful time exploring the city and we look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Our first interaction set the tone for our excellent time in Portland. The young woman at the desk recommended lunch at a small French restaurant called Maurice. We enjoyed that lunch tremendously. We enjoyed the views from our room over the Williamette River, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the proximity to downtown and the relaxed atmosphere and responsive staff. Also had breakfast and dinner at the adjoining restaurant King Tide—so easy and excellent food.

Room tip: Portland is very walkable. Plenty of activities downtown on Saturday. Recommend the Oregon Historical Society, Danner and Powell’s Bookstore
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inspire44638579153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimptonRiverPlaceGM, mgmt_resp_affil8 at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Inspire, it's wonderful to hear that your stay at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel surpassed your expectations. The enthusiastic recommendation from our front desk and your delightful lunch experience are exactly the kind of memorable moments we strive to create for our guests. We're pleased you found our accommodations cozy and our location convenient, allowing for a relaxed atmosphere and swift response from our team members. It's great to know you made the most of your dining experience at the adjoining restaurant as well. Looking forward to having you back soon for another fantastic stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews