We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey, Dirty, Bad "Breakfast"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portland Airport
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Don't let the pictures fool you, this remodel meant new paint, sheets, and carpet, but the service, facility, and food are terrible. To keep the rant short, here is a bullet list of the terrible experience we had:
-Trouble with our reservation
-Filthy cribs(had puke and blood on/in them), you have to set up yourself, that have no sheets
-Room had been smoked in, and they wouldn't give us a new room (even though they weren't full), they offered "smoke out" lysol as a solution...seriously!
-Filthy bathroom (footprints in tub, mold in all the shower corners)
-No black out curtains
-Terrible breakfast (cereal, yogurt, toast, bananas, waffle, hard boiled egg) eggs were not even kept cold, and there was not enough food for the guests, even when we got to breakfast at 5:30am... but the staff felt free to eat the breakfast provided, while leaving lines to form at front desk unattended... I have asked for my money back... I have never done this at a hotel before.

Room Tip: one side backs up to a freeway, ask for the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8portlandor, Webmaster at Super 8 Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the guest experience better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8portlandor, Webmaster at Super 8 Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We stayed at this hotel twice, seven days apart. It was close to the airport, and it's right next to the Budget car rental place. Those were the upsides for us. It's a basic Super 8 that has had some upgrades such as a flat screen TV and bedding. We also choose this hotel because other reviews mentioned it being clean. We found that to be true. The tub faucet in the first room was so loose that I thought it would pull off when starting the shower. The second room did not have that problem. Wifi worked well in both rooms. Noise was somewhat prevalent from the outside (highway and airplanes). Breakfast was very basic. The only hot item was waffles. Our first visit, the breakfast attendant must have been out, because the front desk lady was hurriedly trying to refill coffee and such at break neck speed. It was obvious she was having to cover more than one job. The second visit, there was an attendant there. We took the free shuttle back to the airport. It was timely just as promised.

Room Tip: One side faces the busy highway, but the other side faces the landing or take off side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e5ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Manager at Super 8 Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so excited to see that you were overall satisfied with your stay we are also happy to see that you stayed with us more than once. We will address your comments on breakfast and the tub faucet right away. We do hope you choose to come back again soon to the Super 8 at The Portland Airport.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank dkettr_237297
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria G, Manager at Super 8 Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The company loves booking this hotel as its a cheap dump. Checkin this year was way better than last year and the desk clerk deserves credit for that. She couldn't help the condition of the hotel however. The place still smells of stale cigarette smoke and the rooms still feel like they belong in a red light district somewhere. I went ahead and took the liberty to bring a bottle of Febreze this year and sprayed down the room. I didn't bother with breakfast as usual since the odor of the place is completely unappetizing. Parking is always a challenge at this place. If you have a family with lots of luggage, etc. I'd avoid it like the plague. Would never spend my own money on this place, would stay at the Courtyard down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wdharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8portlandor, Webmaster at Super 8 Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your feedback about our services. We sincerely apologize for inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We will take you feedback and make appropriate changes.
We hope, on your next visit, you will see all the changes we have made. Thank You.

Sincerely,
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
1.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#91 of 144 in Portland
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#78 of 144 in Portland
943 reviews
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
1.8 km away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portland Airport

Address: 11011 NE Holman St, Portland, OR 97220-1208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#53 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: RM324 - RM520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Free SuperStart Breakfast with fresh waffles, 24 Hour Coffee and Tea Service, Free Wireless Internet Access, In Room Coffee/Tea, Hair Dryer, Micro/Fridge Units, Free 24 Hour Airport Shuttle, Guest Laundry, Fax and Copy Service, Business Center, Meeting Space, Handicap accessible, Large Vehicle Parking, and Free parking during stay. We are conveniently located off I-205 Exit 24B. And with a large variety of restaurants and plenty of shopping options including Target at Cascade Station with access to the Max Light Rail with service to downtown Portland, within 1 mile. Restaurants and convenient stores within walking distance are Shari's, Panera Bread, The Shilo Restaurant, McDonalds, Burger King, Subway, China Wok, Sidelines, Seven Eleven and Plaid Pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Portland Hotel Portland
Super Eight Portland
Portland Super Eight
Portland Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing