We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
25
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filled crepes umpqua river a lovely stay guest rooms shelley hosts guests
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Daybreak Haven. There was a beautiful view of the river, a very comfortable bed, a huge library of movies to watch, and our delicious breakfast was served with herbs picked straight from the garden outside. It's a little off the beaten path - there is a local convenience store and restaurant/bar, but that's about it in close proximity. The shower for our room was notably luxurious. We enjoyed fishing for bass on the river - salmon were out of season. Our hosts couldn't have been better. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Cheerful renovated home on quiet residential street. Sits right on the Umpqua riverbank: one guest room (out of 3), and many rear-facing public areas, have wonderful views out over the river, forest, and hills. Friendly hosts. The breakfasts, and dinner@$25/person, were cooked from scratch by the hosts and beautifully presented. Would have appreciated fresher higher-quality ingredients, more simply prepared. Would have appreciated for the not-extensive dinner menu to include a glass of wine. In the guestrooms, did not get a feeling that 'everything here is so nice and clean', especially vis-a-vis the shower.

Room tip: The Riverview Suite is larger and has the river view; the other two rooms are smaller and look towards the front garden and entry driveway.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LighthouseDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Owner at Daybreak Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. I do feel the need to address the two concerns you expressed. We try our best to keep everything clean & up to pare. However, upon your arrival you were displeased with the room you had reserved & instead insisted on a room that had not yet been cleaned from the guests that had just vacated it a few hours before. I obliged you & had to do a rush job to clean it for your use. I'm sorry if something was overlooked but you never mentioned it during your 2 day stay. As for dinner...there is wine available but it is an extra charge. I'm not sure how much fresher or of better quality the food could have been. The Chinook Salmon that made up the Saffron Salmon you were served for dinner was just caught that morning, the tomatoes, onions & green beans were harvested from our own garden the afternoon of your arrival. Oh, and the homemade French bread came out of the oven about 1 hour before dinner was placed on the table. Apparently we were just not to your liking & I hope you had better luck with your lodgings after you departed from here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This was a great stop.
Shelly and Pat are welcoming and provide:
1) A fabulous location with a deck overlooking the Umpqua River which is just down some stairs to a deck and then to the dock,
2) Shelly provides truly high quality American fare in generous portions,
3) All the amenities you could expect and then some,
4) Finally, Pat can take you salmon fishing (in season) and his catches are trophy-size.
I will recommend to any friends pass through this area.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Owner at Daybreak Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review & kind comments. You were a delight to host and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

The B &B is right on the river in a lovely valley. If you call ahead. Shelley can prepare a wonderful meal and affordable! We had fresh salmon her husband had just caught. You can arrange to fish with him too.

Room tip: We had the river view
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roslyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We just finished our stay at Daybreak Haven and had a great time. Shelley & Pat Ryan were excellent hosts, breakfast both days was awesome, the bed was very comfortable & their dogs were very cute & friendly. Our bedroom window direct view was of the Umpqua River, just gorgeous. Scottsburg Oregon & the surrounding areas are so beautiful, that we plan to buy a small home there in the not too distant future. We did not fish this trip, we did see the Ryan's neighbor bring home a 30 plus pound Salmon. Great trip!

Room tip: The River View room was excellent
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iralogic21k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews