We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Prom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Prom
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stay out of room #14. Bed is rock hard, TV is mounted and is approx 19inches, hear everytime someone opens and shuts door, no storage for clothes, no phone, only one lamp- horrible lighting, table to eat on is about size a thimble, blinds don't work, office hours fluctuates, parking sucks, unsafe stairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MCT18guns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haystackas, General Manager at Inn at the Prom, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We appreciate your feedback. I was surprised by the Bed comment - the Beds are brand new Serta presidential style pillow-top. People have raved about the beds in all our reviews. The TV is a 26" flat screen DVD combo unit. We could have made it larger - but we wanted the Inn to be a retreat and not have a large flat screen TV on the Wall - it did not look right. I agree we can always improve our rooms and plan on new window treatments and custom building a small dresser in the closet area. We do have two parking areas - one is for compact cars and the other is for the large vehicle. Parking is a premium on the ocean front and we allow one car per unit and sometimes people bring two vehicles and we have to ask them to move one of them to the street. We again appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our business. We hope you can give us another chance to earn your business in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    94
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
181
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I purchased a Groupon for the Inn at the Prom. We had a great check-in and were informed that we could rent any of the DVDs in the office for free and watch them in our room. These were brand new DVDs with hit movies (it wasn't like someone had raided the Wal-Mart $5 DVD bin). She also told us that each day there would be complimentary muffins and fruit in the office.
We checked into our unit (#5) and it was very cute and spacious. Had all the amenities that we needed (microwave, toaster, fridge, range).
The bed was very comfortable but if I was to at all complain about the visit, the bedroom in Unit #5 is a corner unit and faces the stairs of the other units and even with the blinds closed at night, it is still extremely light due to the flood light and no real way to get the room dark. I would suggest that the management get thicker blinds on that window to help darken the room.
The location is ideal, a block from Broadway. All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Honestly, I'm not sure what the person below me was complaining about. We stayed the same weekend (Feb 17th - 19th) in room 15 (Oceanfront room on the second floor), and had a great time!

The Inn itself is in a great location, right on the Prom, within walking distance to several cool areas (the aquarium, Maggies on the Prom and such). It had a large and extremely comfortable king sized bed. There was also a gas fireplace right at the foot of the bed, with a flatscreen TV above it, which makes it a perfect set up for warming your feet and watching a movie after a walk on the beach. The full kitchen was small (ish), but was perfect for light cooking for the weekend. All the appliances and dishes looked almost brand new. The Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom had plenty of room for two people to sit in, and was a fantastic addition to the room.

You can tell in places that the inn is old (they even have pictures from the Prom around 1950 pointing the inn out), but everything has been remodeled extremely well, and you can tell a lot of love and care went in to making it what it is today.

The main Inn parking lot is a bit small, and I would recommend avoiding it altogether. There is another lot right across from the first which offers easy access to the street, and if you walk up and around the right side (closest to beach), there is a stairway leading right to the main building (ask at front desk if confused).

The staff were all extremely nice and helpful, and I would recommend this to anyone stopping by, or looking to get away for a while.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms (especially in the summer I noticed) can be a bit spendy. Ask the staff about a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Your visit begins with attempting to safely park your car in what serves as a lot. A very narrow strip of tarmac containing spaces for angle parking makes for tight and hazardous maneuvering when pulling in, and when departing, it's much worse! The driver must back out, reposition his car so as to then BACK DOWN the narrow strip with other parked cars literally inches from your own. The facility is old, and obviously designed for when cars were much smaller and shorter! We risked this only once before parking on the street.
The beach view rooms in the 'newer' building are long and narrow, with the front allowing exit to small, individual decks with wrought iron railing badly in need of painting, and four pitiful plastic chairs.
Our room with king bed had only one bedside reading light, and only a very small, inadquate televison.
We were surprised to hear conversation though the walls! More? Apparently, housekeeping is non-existent here. We had dirty glasses and plates we had assumed would be removed and replaced by housekeeping, however, except for replacing the soiled towels the next morning, we received no housekeeping service AT ALL.
It would appear that the Inn is being run on a shoe string budget.
But, there is an upside, and it's the location. The Inn is located on the waterfront promenade walkway, and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff.
Sadly, we just can't recommend the Inn At The Prom.

Room Tip: For adult travelers who 'know the difference' just avoid it altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haystackas, Owner at Inn at the Prom, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We appreciate your feedback and will discuss the housekeeping issues with the Housekeeping manager. We take great pride in our property and when you find something not right - please bring it up to our office staff and we will take care of it immediately. The parking - we have 2 parking lots, one is small for compact cars only and the other is large and very easy to pull in and out. I apologize that you were not aware of the larger parking area - should have been part of the check-in process. The patio area's - we have patio furniture, but we take them in during the winter due to the storms and high winds. Also we are in the process of removing the old paint from the ocean front railing between stays and are awaiting the weather to improve to complete the repainting process - I would agree they do not look great right now. We would love you earn you business again and please know that we will take your comments to heart and use them to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The view was wonderful and the room was nice. The kitchen was small but fully loaded...coffee pot, toaster, and a full set of pots and pans including cooking utensils. The bed was a little slice of heaven!!! The staff were very helpful. One block to the main drag (Broadway)
We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 16, ocean front, 2 floor and the view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJTNRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.4 km away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.6 km away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.1 km away
The Gilbert Inn
The Gilbert Inn
#13 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 km away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Prom

Property: Inn at the Prom
Address: 341 South Promenade, Seaside, OR 97138 (Formerly Edgewater Inn on the Prom)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#8 Family Hotel in Seaside
Price range (per night): RM403 - RM939
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Prom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Prom location is perfect with downtown shops and family fun-filled activities just steps away. The Seaside Prom and Pacific Ocean is right at your doorstep for romantic sunsets or midnight strolls along the beach. All rooms include presidential style, pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, fireplaces, 2-person Jacuzzi tubs, full kitchens with stainless steel appliances and much more. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! We invite you to discover an oceanfront retreat that provides all the fine touches without the high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at the Prom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Prom Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing