We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Inn(Chambersburg)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$52
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Chambersburg(Chambersburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$116
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Chambersburg(Chambersburg)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
179
20
18
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
20
18
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill roomgeneral leelee suitecivil warghost hunterworth the short driveprivate entrancelovely homeghost storiesb bsbreakfast was deliciousrocking chairsstayed one nightimboden roomgargoyleshostsevp
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We enjoyed our stay over a weekend. The Inn is older and while it shows its age in places, it is clean and well-cared for. Our room was the Anderson Suite with a private entrance at the rear of the inn. We also had a porch we shared with the suite next to ours and we enjoyed the porch's rocking chairs in the morning and evening. Maria and Jack were engaging and they kindly spent time answering our questions.

Jack prepares the breakfasts and both days they were super. We recommend you read the web site carefully, as this is a B&B with the owner as the breakfast chef, breakfast is served at a specific time and not over a period of several hours like a hotel would offer. We had dinner both nights at the Inn's restaurant. Reservations are recommended. The meals were excellent and the portions generous. We ordered an appetizer, salad and main course and couldn't finish them all. We also had desert because the homemade deserts are superb. But agin, we couldn't eat all we ordered. Dinner at the Inn is well worth it. We enjoyed our visit, the staff and the experience. Unfortunately, none of the Inn's ghosts were visiting during our stay. Guess we'll have to try again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We never have done significant homework for B&B reviews in the past. We have been to this Inn for dinner on three separate occasions and decided that we simply must stay there on one of our annual trips to Gettysburg. If we had read the reviews, we would have found app. 10% that were extremely negative and the rest extremely positive. We probably would have gone with the majority and chose to visit anyway. Folks , there is a reason for the negative and we could have written most of them verbatim. Our advice is to do your homework and when you see such poor marks, go with your gut. In 40 years of traveling, we have never encountered such a situation in the hospitality industry. "Nuff said....

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
13  Thank greentr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We very much enjoyed out trip to the Cashtown Inn. We stayed in the General Lee suite. The owners are very personable and treated us like family. We were the only guests to stay there that night and Maria spent hours talking to us and telling us stories and personal experiences. Dinner and breakfast was absolutely amazing. Jack is a master in the kitchen. We absolutely can not wait to stay there again. I highly recommend staying there. No ghostly experiences for us, but maybe next time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reneesmithtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Had an amazing time at the Cashtown Inn. The owners Jack and Maria treated us like family. We had a great time listening to their stories of the history here. Dinner and breakfast were both cooked to perfection. We stayed in the Gen. Lee suite which was very spacious and comfortable. For us, there is nowhere else we want to stay when we visit Gettysburg in the future.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I don't know how many times I have passed within a block of this venerable inn with a degree of longing to stop but always with another destination in mind. After being unable to find a special place for lunch on a Thursday at Antrim 1844, at Fairfield Inn, I noted a sign saying Cashtown was a scant 6 miles away. I quickly checked their hours and saw we had plenty of time to arrive under their closing wire and a few minutes later we were seated inside their charming dining room sipping on delicious Bloody Marys. This is an historic inn that boasts of Civil War generals and ladies and scallywags alike, and we soaked up the atmosphere. We ended up having glorious, huge sandwiches in peaceful, pretty surroundings. Around $60 with tip for three sandwiches, two cocktails and an iced tea. It was nice--not extraordinary but very nice. I'd return for a special lunch and would like to try the dinner hour, too.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank FineMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews