We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
22
13
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
13
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smith river crescent city redwood park gas station across the street fire pit a great place to stay coffee maker rooms are clean sitting area california pillows furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I'VE NEVER STAYED IN A ROOM WITHOUT CURTAINS NOR AIR CONDITIONING! SHAME ON YOU for selling rooms like these for $90+!!! This is such a blatant dig into tourists wallets as it gets. This place would be "just tolerable" and would earn it's one star IF it were ~$40 / night.

As the only option directly in hiouchi the management sees fit to gouge unwary travelers for what, exactly? What amenities are offered for that cost?

What there is: WiFi, a mini fridge, a mini coffee pot, hot water and full bath, a bed with clean but thin cheap linen, a 17" flat screen with cable+HBO, a floor heater and a ceiling fan.

What there isn't: A phone, a NICE bed with decent sheets, a view, privacy (no curtains, thin walls) Curtains, and lastly A/C!!

Now, I understand that it doesn't get "hot" in Hiouchi but in the summer it can get 80 and this is a particularly hot year; it is 96° as I write this review. NO A/C!!!??? ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!!?

Also, levaleur plastic white blinds? No curtains of any kind, let alone blackout curtains?

Neighbor noise and street noise is a good reason enough alone to look elswhere, if I hadn't given you reason enough yet.

IF YOU ARE GOING TO CHARGE $90+ a night for single bed rooms then you need to add window A/Cs and blackout curtains at the bare minimum!

OTHERWISE SELL IT FOR WHAT IT IS: A $40 room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at Hiouchi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that you found your stay to be less than pleasant. We strive to ensure that our guests experience the best visit possible during their travels. It is unfortunate that we fell short of our goal this time, but it is our hope that you will come back and visit us again, as we are currently in the process of having the air conditioning and heating units installed. We are also ordering new window treatments and looking to get the windows themselves replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Clean well-equipped rooms, friendly and helpful staff. I stayed for 3 nights. What a great place to stay - close to the Smith river and right smack dag in the middle of Jedediah Smith Redwood Park. The staff had a fire going in the evenings in a sitting area adjacent to the Motel. I'll be going back!

Room Tip: Note, the quieter rooms are set back from Hwy 199.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at Hiouchi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Was met by Dave later in the evening after a long day of travelling and he was more than happy to help us get settled. Our 3 year old daughter was thrilled with the fire circle and loved speaking to others travelling to California about their adventures. The location was convenient to our Kayaking trip meeting spot and to all things in Jedediah State Park. Room was very clean and staff was extremely helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at Hiouchi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This is not a fancy motel, but we were extremely pleased with our five night stay here.
The rooms were clean and comfy, with all of the basic necessities we really needed. The bed and pillow were very comfortable! Except for some late night arrivers who were a bit too rambunctious and noisy, the place was quiet. The yard was nicely landscaped and had picnic tables, as well as a fire pit and outdoor bbq / sitting area complete with tiki torches. The operators (we encountered 3 different people) were all friendly and very accomodating. This place is only 7/10ths of a mile from the entrance to Jedidiah Smith State Park and adjacent to the Hiouchi Cafe...a real GEM!! (see their review seperately) Ourselves and our companion couple loved it here.

Room Tip: Best to stay far away from highway if you want avoid occasional road noise.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank back2Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at Hiouchi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

On behalf of everyone at the Hiouchi Motel and Cafe, we would like to thank you for letting us be a part of your trip to the redwoods. We appreciate all of the feedback and the amazing reviews. We hope to welcome you back next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Needed a place to stay with our family for the night while on a road trip because we were too tired to keep driving. The bathroom toilet was dirty and seat was covered in urine. Unfortunately we were not able to switch rooms as we arrived too late at night and had two sleeping children. When I tried to address this issue with them over the phone (the office was completely empty when we had to check out in the morning) they were unable to issue any type of refund by phone. I called back a few days later to follow up and they denied any issue with them room and hung up the phone on me.

I would NOT recommend staying here, especially considering how expensive it was for the region.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank RGL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at Hiouchi Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

The problem was not reported at the time you checked in. You called from the road after checking out, whereupon I apologized if there was a problem and agreed to issue the refund you requested. I explained that I needed the credit card used to pay for the room. You either hung up or we were disconnected. You called back the following week and demanded a check or you would post a bad review. I am sorry, but I refused to be blackmailed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews