We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Advantage of the Guided Tour”

Pennsylvania State Capitol
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teddy Roosevelt declared that this Italian Renaissance-style building was “the handsomest building I ever saw”. Indeed, the State Capitol, with its vaulted dome and grand staircase and the murals and painted floors inside, is thing to behold.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Even though I have visited the capitol building many times over the past 30 years, I was amazed at the new information that I gained on the guided tour. The Guide was quite knowledgeable and added a new dimension to viewing this spectacular building.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 374sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful building"
in 113 reviews
"supreme court"
in 58 reviews
"free tour"
in 51 reviews
"guided tour"
in 48 reviews
"gold leaf"
in 21 reviews
"every half hour"
in 16 reviews
"stained glass"
in 24 reviews
"senate and house chambers"
in 14 reviews
"amazing architecture"
in 10 reviews
"floor tiles"
in 10 reviews
"grand staircase"
in 10 reviews
"president theodore roosevelt"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful capital"
in 12 reviews
"light fixtures"
in 10 reviews
"street parking"
in 11 reviews
"dome"
in 73 reviews
"marble"
in 49 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I drove down to the state capital building in the evening after everything was closed but we figured we could walk around the outside and take a look. I wish we could have seen the inside and had one of their free tours but that didn't happen. Finding a parking space seemed to be a challenge. We circled the blocks and found some metered spots. Now the funny thing is as we left our car a capital state police officer pulled in behind us. We asked if we had parked in the right spot and told her we paid the meter and left a slip on the dashboard for anyone to see. See seemed confused. She said i think your fine and then said we could have parked in any of the empty state employee parking spots. I said i saw those but were just visitors she said it didnt matter. Well alrighty then. Who knows if that is correct. The other funny thing was as we walked around we saw other metered parking spots that had a huge sticker on it stating parking is free after 8pm. Ours didnt have that sticker. But from my pictures you can tell its a cool place to walk around in

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank dwbcaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Do you like history? Architecture? Art? Photography? The Pennsylvania State Capitol is the perfect place for you. Take a free tour and learn about this most incredible building that President Theodore Roosevelt claimed, "The handsomest building I ever saw." on October 4, 1906 when the current state Capitol was dedicated. The interior of the building is simply incredible. Every which way you look, there is something more beautiful to see. The gorgeous staircase, the Moravian tiles that cover the first floor under the Great Rotunda and the adjacent corridors. Probably the largest piece of folk art in North America, the floor has 400 tile mosaics illustrating the state's many industries, wildlife, history, occupations and modes of transportation. Truly amazing to see. Make sure to take a free tour which will show you the Senate, the Supreme Court, the House of Representatives, and the great dome of the Rotunda. Artwork literally everywhere, in every corner and on every wall. Mosaics, gorgeous chandeliers in each chamber and throughout. If you enjoy art history, you can spend all day here. Stained glass as well will greet you in each chamber. Make sure to take particular note of The Apotheosis of Pennsylvania, the largest mural in the Capitol, located behind the Speaker's podium in the House Chamber. Very much worth the visit, make sure to confirm with your guide that pictures are ok. You'll past through security upon entering the building from 3rd Street. When the tour is over, make sure to ask your guide how to get to the Governor's Office to take a look around. And yes, you can get there by yourself. Take one of the elevators to the second floor. The Governor's secretary is there and she welcomed us in to take a look around and even welcomed us to take pictures as well. Very friendly and welcoming. This was a wonderful experience and both my son and I enjoyed ourselves very much exploring all of the wonders of the Capitol. Our guide Patty was also fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable and willing to answer questions and provide additional information. Once you register, you will get a confirmation e-mail as well. After the tour, I received a survey about our experience. When you are done inside the building, take a walk outside around the complex, including by the Veterans' Memorial Fountain. If the weather is nice, prepare for some amazing photo opportunities. This is most certainly a worthy visit when in Pennsylvania's capital city.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank SpanishteacherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

One of the best and most architecturally beautiful capital buildings in US. Paid parking on the streets nearby. Good cafeteria. Visit the fountain in the backside.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mukul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

It's an amazing building. So over-budget that the architect went to prison! We declined the tour, as it was full of school children, but I think you can comfortably see this on your own. The public spaces are the main lobby and the Senate and House chambers. Every surface is carved and gilded to the max. It's a feast for the eyes. There's a parking garage behind the complex. We paid $10 to park, but the tour is free, so not a bad price. The area is somewhat run down, but certainly safe enough. Some of the negative reviews should be deleted - they are not based on what the building offers.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank BetsyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennsylvania State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing