We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a reunion !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Each year we hold a Navy reunion somewhere. This year we held it at the Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. The location of the hotel is really good and the staff was great ! I worked with Brenda for our event. Brenda was fantastic and made it very easy for me. The manager (Randy) was great. He made sure that all went well and was very accommodating for everyone and any special needs or requests. I'm very happy that we made this hotel our choice for the reunion !

Room Tip: Easy to ask for a room change if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ussthomaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear ussthomaston,

We are pleased to read we exceeded your expectations, and that you found our location ideal for your reunion – goal accomplished. We consider it an honor to serve so many veterans who served for us - #salute. Brenda takes tremendous pride in covering all aspects of event planning and was excited to learn she made your preparation and planning much easier.

Thank you for selecting us for your 2017 reunion.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beyond friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms. Randy, the general manager, goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Overall a great experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Kelsey U,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. A wonderful experience by another valued guest is fantastic news to every team member at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. Our team has a commitment to service excellence they enjoy sharing with every guest we’re privileged to serve and accommodate.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

So I was a bit confused I did what every good "trip advisoree" does... read reviews before I book. Well I read the reviews, and thought sounds great! Then I went to book and every site was selling out of rooms at this hotel, and I thought wow this place MUST be great... Our stay wasn't terrible, but we went with much anticipation considering the stellar reviews.

The hotel is very dated. The rooms are just as dated, and to me, made it seem not as clean and crisp as I would have imagined especially from reading the reviews. I didn't get a cozy mod feel.

The indoor heated pool is very heated. Like jacuzzi without the bubbles, and there was a pungent smell. Worse than chlorine, like a new sole of a shoe smell. Very weird. They are doing construction nearby so perhaps it is from that?

The playground on premise was great for the kids, but in order to walk there you pass ground level rooms and some people are just slobs. (Beer cans out on the floor, grills on the patio deck, towels strewn) No fault to the hotel but it certainly didn't help to change my perception.

Hotel management is very invested in not just this establishment but in the patronage. They are aware of the datedness and are working on improvements/ renovations which are supposedly set for the foreseeable. I hope this will change the overall feel and experience at Red Lion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank salexi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear salexi72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your first Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey experience with us. We regret to read the look and feel of our property gave you the impression we were not clean or welcoming. We want every guest to find comfort and enjoyment the minute they arrive, and if they don’t, we want to know, so we can address it immediately.

Our mature property has gone through various renovations and cosmetic improvements over the last couple years, and will continue with new hallway carpet later this fall. Your visit with us last Wednesday was during the time when we were renovating the men’s/ladies’ restrooms at the indoor pool. My apologies for the odor, as it may have been from the tile and vanity replacement. The project has been completed.

It’s disappointing you found our exterior courtyard area untidy. We police the grounds several times day and will make sure our guests with patio rooms dispense their trash in the appropriate receptacles.

We appreciate your business and hope for another opportunity to welcome you and your family back. We anticipate starting the carpet project the end of November, and confident it will make a dramatic improvement to the overall look and feel of our property - #cozy.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I had a week long stay here and enjoyed everyday. Big rooms, comfortable beds, and plenty of amenities. Nice gym, great pool, great food rom the restaurants and bar. Had a Reuben sandwich while shooting pool and it has to be the best I ever had. The staff are very friendly and aware of our every needs. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Gene T,

We are delighted to learn your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing – goal accomplished from team Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. It’s wonderful news when a valued guest finds our service and accommodations wonderful. We are 100% focused on complete guest satisfaction and happy you noticed - #smiles.

Thank you for your business and recommendation.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

It's been a few years since my last visit. I was not disappointed. Randy and his staff are as friendly, gracious, wonderful, and couldn't be more accomodating. The room was very quiet and clean, the food was excellent. The hotel is being updated but that doesn't get in the way of having a great stay. We'll certainly be stopping again the next time we're in the area and need a hotel,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Helen B,

We are pleased to read you continue to find our service and accommodations inviting - #smiles. Friendly service is a hallmark of Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey – it’s our unique point of difference. Hallway carpet replacement is scheduled for the end of Q4. We are very excited to launch this extensive project, as we know it will offer a refreshing improvement to the overall guest experience.

Thank you for your business and sharing your stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 km away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: RM 405 - RM 849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing