We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Harrisburg(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,302)
Filter reviews
2,302 results
Traveller rating
1,624
391
162
82
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,624
391
162
82
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innrandy stuartping pongfront deskoutdoor poolthe general managerhot tubhershey parkthe entire staffhome away from homebasketball courtbusiness triphotel staffplaygrounddawnconferenceamber
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 2,302 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beyond friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms. Randy, the general manager, goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Overall a great experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Kelsey U,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. A wonderful experience by another valued guest is fantastic news to every team member at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. Our team has a commitment to service excellence they enjoy sharing with every guest we’re privileged to serve and accommodate.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

So I was a bit confused I did what every good "trip advisoree" does... read reviews before I book. Well I read the reviews, and thought sounds great! Then I went to book and every site was selling out of rooms at this hotel, and I thought wow this place MUST be great... Our stay wasn't terrible, but we went with much anticipation considering the stellar reviews.

The hotel is very dated. The rooms are just as dated, and to me, made it seem not as clean and crisp as I would have imagined especially from reading the reviews. I didn't get a cozy mod feel.

The indoor heated pool is very heated. Like jacuzzi without the bubbles, and there was a pungent smell. Worse than chlorine, like a new sole of a shoe smell. Very weird. They are doing construction nearby so perhaps it is from that?

The playground on premise was great for the kids, but in order to walk there you pass ground level rooms and some people are just slobs. (Beer cans out on the floor, grills on the patio deck, towels strewn) No fault to the hotel but it certainly didn't help to change my perception.

Hotel management is very invested in not just this establishment but in the patronage. They are aware of the datedness and are working on improvements/ renovations which are supposedly set for the foreseeable. I hope this will change the overall feel and experience at Red Lion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank salexi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear salexi72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your first Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey experience with us. We regret to read the look and feel of our property gave you the impression we were not clean or welcoming. We want every guest to find comfort and enjoyment the minute they arrive, and if they don’t, we want to know, so we can address it immediately.

Our mature property has gone through various renovations and cosmetic improvements over the last couple years, and will continue with new hallway carpet later this fall. Your visit with us last Wednesday was during the time when we were renovating the men’s/ladies’ restrooms at the indoor pool. My apologies for the odor, as it may have been from the tile and vanity replacement. The project has been completed.

It’s disappointing you found our exterior courtyard area untidy. We police the grounds several times day and will make sure our guests with patio rooms dispense their trash in the appropriate receptacles.

We appreciate your business and hope for another opportunity to welcome you and your family back. We anticipate starting the carpet project the end of November, and confident it will make a dramatic improvement to the overall look and feel of our property - #cozy.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I had a week long stay here and enjoyed everyday. Big rooms, comfortable beds, and plenty of amenities. Nice gym, great pool, great food rom the restaurants and bar. Had a Reuben sandwich while shooting pool and it has to be the best I ever had. The staff are very friendly and aware of our every needs. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Gene T,

We are delighted to learn your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing – goal accomplished from team Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. It’s wonderful news when a valued guest finds our service and accommodations wonderful. We are 100% focused on complete guest satisfaction and happy you noticed - #smiles.

Thank you for your business and recommendation.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

It's been a few years since my last visit. I was not disappointed. Randy and his staff are as friendly, gracious, wonderful, and couldn't be more accomodating. The room was very quiet and clean, the food was excellent. The hotel is being updated but that doesn't get in the way of having a great stay. We'll certainly be stopping again the next time we're in the area and need a hotel,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Helen B,

We are pleased to read you continue to find our service and accommodations inviting - #smiles. Friendly service is a hallmark of Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey – it’s our unique point of difference. Hallway carpet replacement is scheduled for the end of Q4. We are very excited to launch this extensive project, as we know it will offer a refreshing improvement to the overall guest experience.

Thank you for your business and sharing your stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I would be remiss in not sharing with others the exceptional service of the staff of this hotel! Kudos to the management for these employees who have gone above and beyond the best service ever! The front desk staff, especially Mick, who was always gracious to our group of veterans celebrating your annual get together. The staff at the restaurant were superb as well! The rooms left a lot to be desired as they are extremely dated but large... whatever I could complain about chest gets washed away due to the excellent service of this hotel staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank thebestrealestateage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear thebestrealestateage,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed our customer service, and find it the best ever. It’s a service culture centered around the guest experience, and one without equal. We are passionate about what we do, and take tremendous pride in serving every guest with the highest degree of satisfaction possible.

Thank you and all the veterans who attended the annual military reunion for serving our country.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews