We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I was at this hotel from Wednesday the 20th September until Sunday 24th September 2017 for a Viet Nam reunion. The room was not in very good shape, except for new carpet! In the bathroom the light looked as if it would fall any minute, the caulking was horendous and you could see that the tile was not very clean around the edges. After the first night we had to request a mattrass be relaced as it sank down in the middle. The ceiling/wall over the AC showed water damage probably from the unit in the floor above. Evidently the hotel is not set for breakfast when booked to capacity. Breakfast was in one of the conference rooms (not the restaurant) and the curcuit breakers kept shutting the lines off where the toaters and waffle machines were on plus the eggs, bacon and potatoes were cold. The last 2 mornings they were somewhat better. I was lucky and was able to speak to the General Manager who "kindly" charged me 1 night less. Also the conference room that we had for our "Hospitality suite" was freezing cold even after someone came and attempted to adjust the temperature. If this hotel had not been arranged for our reunion and prepaid months ago I would have moved out after the first night. I can only hope that we had "one of the few bad rooms"!

Room Tip: Look before you pay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Herbert E,

On behalf of the Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, please accept my apologies for not providing you with the quality and value we strive for 24/7. I inadvertently omitted your room from a list that was scheduled for deep cleaning and quality improvements. We recently purchased new Beautyrest mattress sets, one of which, was placed in your room. Upon discovery of my mistake, and your feedback, we were able to address the condition items noted and now have the room prepared inviting ready.

The decision to move breakfast from the restaurant to the Pennsylvania ballroom was due to the anticipated high volume of business during the breakfast meal period. Once we realized the loss of power, we corrected it immediately. Again, my apologies for the noted inconvenience.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to speak with you Sunday morning during check-out. As discussed, we’re not perfect, but we are passionate about the guest experience, and improving where possible. Our hospitality promise is unmatched.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

On September 14-16 we had our three-day meeting at the Red Lion. The staff at this hotel are amazing and do everything possible to make sure that the customers are truly satisfied. At our Friday dinner we held a special event to celebrate our union's 80th anniversary. The staff made sure that everything was done "just right" to make this event truly memorable for all. When I say staff, I mean all staff including the General Manager (Randy) and the Director of Sales (Dawn). They don't stand around watching others work--they are right there doing whatever is needed. The renovations that have been done and those that are planned are wonderful Thanks for all your work!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa000053177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Lisa000053177,

Thank you for your business, and recognizing our commitment to service excellence. Our energy and enthusiasm for serving you, and all our valued guests is always on full display.

We look forward to hosting your annual September event and thrilled you find our recent renovations, wonderful. Hallway carpet replacement is scheduled for December. There is palpable excitement at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey for this beautiful upgrade.

We value your business and look forward to maintaining a high level of satisfaction with your organization in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Each year we hold a Navy reunion somewhere. This year we held it at the Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. The location of the hotel is really good and the staff was great ! I worked with Brenda for our event. Brenda was fantastic and made it very easy for me. The manager (Randy) was great. He made sure that all went well and was very accommodating for everyone and any special needs or requests. I'm very happy that we made this hotel our choice for the reunion !

Room Tip: Easy to ask for a room change if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ussthomaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear ussthomaston,

We are pleased to read we exceeded your expectations, and that you found our location ideal for your reunion – goal accomplished. We consider it an honor to serve so many veterans who served for us - #salute. Brenda takes tremendous pride in covering all aspects of event planning and was excited to learn she made your preparation and planning much easier.

Thank you for selecting us for your 2017 reunion.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beyond friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms. Randy, the general manager, goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Overall a great experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Kelsey U,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. A wonderful experience by another valued guest is fantastic news to every team member at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. Our team has a commitment to service excellence they enjoy sharing with every guest we’re privileged to serve and accommodate.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

So I was a bit confused I did what every good "trip advisoree" does... read reviews before I book. Well I read the reviews, and thought sounds great! Then I went to book and every site was selling out of rooms at this hotel, and I thought wow this place MUST be great... Our stay wasn't terrible, but we went with much anticipation considering the stellar reviews.

The hotel is very dated. The rooms are just as dated, and to me, made it seem not as clean and crisp as I would have imagined especially from reading the reviews. I didn't get a cozy mod feel.

The indoor heated pool is very heated. Like jacuzzi without the bubbles, and there was a pungent smell. Worse than chlorine, like a new sole of a shoe smell. Very weird. They are doing construction nearby so perhaps it is from that?

The playground on premise was great for the kids, but in order to walk there you pass ground level rooms and some people are just slobs. (Beer cans out on the floor, grills on the patio deck, towels strewn) No fault to the hotel but it certainly didn't help to change my perception.

Hotel management is very invested in not just this establishment but in the patronage. They are aware of the datedness and are working on improvements/ renovations which are supposedly set for the foreseeable. I hope this will change the overall feel and experience at Red Lion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank salexi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear salexi72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your first Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey experience with us. We regret to read the look and feel of our property gave you the impression we were not clean or welcoming. We want every guest to find comfort and enjoyment the minute they arrive, and if they don’t, we want to know, so we can address it immediately.

Our mature property has gone through various renovations and cosmetic improvements over the last couple years, and will continue with new hallway carpet later this fall. Your visit with us last Wednesday was during the time when we were renovating the men’s/ladies’ restrooms at the indoor pool. My apologies for the odor, as it may have been from the tile and vanity replacement. The project has been completed.

It’s disappointing you found our exterior courtyard area untidy. We police the grounds several times day and will make sure our guests with patio rooms dispense their trash in the appropriate receptacles.

We appreciate your business and hope for another opportunity to welcome you and your family back. We anticipate starting the carpet project the end of November, and confident it will make a dramatic improvement to the overall look and feel of our property - #cozy.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 km away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
14.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: RM388 - RM666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing