We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites Harrisburg(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Harrisburg(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
1,663
393
164
84
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,663
393
164
84
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innrandy stuartping pongfront deskthe general manageroutdoor poolhershey parkhot tubthe entire staffhome away from homebusiness tripsoccer tournamenthotel staffplaygrounddawnterranceconference
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

On September 14-16 we had our three-day meeting at the Red Lion. The staff at this hotel are amazing and do everything possible to make sure that the customers are truly satisfied. At our Friday dinner we held a special event to celebrate our union's 80th anniversary. The staff made sure that everything was done "just right" to make this event truly memorable for all. When I say staff, I mean all staff including the General Manager (Randy) and the Director of Sales (Dawn). They don't stand around watching others work--they are right there doing whatever is needed. The renovations that have been done and those that are planned are wonderful Thanks for all your work!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa000053177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Lisa000053177,

Thank you for your business, and recognizing our commitment to service excellence. Our energy and enthusiasm for serving you, and all our valued guests is always on full display.

We look forward to hosting your annual September event and thrilled you find our recent renovations, wonderful. Hallway carpet replacement is scheduled for December. There is palpable excitement at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey for this beautiful upgrade.

We value your business and look forward to maintaining a high level of satisfaction with your organization in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Each year we hold a Navy reunion somewhere. This year we held it at the Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. The location of the hotel is really good and the staff was great ! I worked with Brenda for our event. Brenda was fantastic and made it very easy for me. The manager (Randy) was great. He made sure that all went well and was very accommodating for everyone and any special needs or requests. I'm very happy that we made this hotel our choice for the reunion !

Room Tip: Easy to ask for a room change if you want
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ussthomaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear ussthomaston,

We are pleased to read we exceeded your expectations, and that you found our location ideal for your reunion – goal accomplished. We consider it an honor to serve so many veterans who served for us - #salute. Brenda takes tremendous pride in covering all aspects of event planning and was excited to learn she made your preparation and planning much easier.

Thank you for selecting us for your 2017 reunion.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beyond friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms. Randy, the general manager, goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of. Overall a great experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Kelsey U,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. A wonderful experience by another valued guest is fantastic news to every team member at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. Our team has a commitment to service excellence they enjoy sharing with every guest we’re privileged to serve and accommodate.

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

So I was a bit confused I did what every good "trip advisoree" does... read reviews before I book. Well I read the reviews, and thought sounds great! Then I went to book and every site was selling out of rooms at this hotel, and I thought wow this place MUST be great... Our stay wasn't terrible, but we went with much anticipation considering the stellar reviews.

The hotel is very dated. The rooms are just as dated, and to me, made it seem not as clean and crisp as I would have imagined especially from reading the reviews. I didn't get a cozy mod feel.

The indoor heated pool is very heated. Like jacuzzi without the bubbles, and there was a pungent smell. Worse than chlorine, like a new sole of a shoe smell. Very weird. They are doing construction nearby so perhaps it is from that?

The playground on premise was great for the kids, but in order to walk there you pass ground level rooms and some people are just slobs. (Beer cans out on the floor, grills on the patio deck, towels strewn) No fault to the hotel but it certainly didn't help to change my perception.

Hotel management is very invested in not just this establishment but in the patronage. They are aware of the datedness and are working on improvements/ renovations which are supposedly set for the foreseeable. I hope this will change the overall feel and experience at Red Lion.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank salexi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear salexi72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your first Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey experience with us. We regret to read the look and feel of our property gave you the impression we were not clean or welcoming. We want every guest to find comfort and enjoyment the minute they arrive, and if they don’t, we want to know, so we can address it immediately.

Our mature property has gone through various renovations and cosmetic improvements over the last couple years, and will continue with new hallway carpet later this fall. Your visit with us last Wednesday was during the time when we were renovating the men’s/ladies’ restrooms at the indoor pool. My apologies for the odor, as it may have been from the tile and vanity replacement. The project has been completed.

It’s disappointing you found our exterior courtyard area untidy. We police the grounds several times day and will make sure our guests with patio rooms dispense their trash in the appropriate receptacles.

We appreciate your business and hope for another opportunity to welcome you and your family back. We anticipate starting the carpet project the end of November, and confident it will make a dramatic improvement to the overall look and feel of our property - #cozy.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I had a week long stay here and enjoyed everyday. Big rooms, comfortable beds, and plenty of amenities. Nice gym, great pool, great food rom the restaurants and bar. Had a Reuben sandwich while shooting pool and it has to be the best I ever had. The staff are very friendly and aware of our every needs. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Gene T,

We are delighted to learn your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing – goal accomplished from team Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey. It’s wonderful news when a valued guest finds our service and accommodations wonderful. We are 100% focused on complete guest satisfaction and happy you noticed - #smiles.

Thank you for your business and recommendation.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews