We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Inn(Castle Combe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Keepers Lodge(Castle Combe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveller rating
888
198
70
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
198
70
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbybrook restaurantthe cottagesafternoon teathe main housemichelin startasting menujunior suitefour poster bedgin barbeautiful hotelgrounds are stunningwalk in showerspecial occasionpicturesque villagesconesluxury hotelcream tea
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 1pm on the Friday and were greeted and fussed over and the car was valet parked. The room was ready and we were installed in 5 mins. We were well looked after all weekend. The staff are cheerful and competent. I have to single out the bar staff for praise. They were so entertaining and attentive. The cocktails were made to perfection.
Food in the Bybrook restaurant is right up there with the usual Michelin fare. The quail starter was one of the best plates I've ever eaten.
Always leave wanting more and we did, on the Sunday morning. This may all sound very rose tinted but we genuinely loved it. It's our second visit and we'll find an excuse to come back. Amazing value, we did it on secret escapes for £650 for 2 nights in a plush room with Michelin dining both nights. If you get the chance tgen book it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for the great comments and it was great to have seen you both again.

I just hope we can try and encourage you to come for another visit.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We enjoyed a one night stay in a plush room (junior suite)
This hotel is excellent in every way
Room in the Manor House was very large excellent equipment and spotless
Staff very friendly and welcoming unpretentious and well trained
Setting is beautiful in a very pretty Cotswolds village
Bar very good selection drinks expensive but what you would expect in this upmarket setting
Restaurant Bybrook see separate review
Over all truly excellent about as good as a hotel can be thoroughly recommended

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank subadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear subadai,

Thank you for the lovely comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I know the rest of the team will be delighted.

Hope we get chance to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed at The Manor House Hotel for one night only. It is a most impressive old manor house situated in beautiful grounds in the equally beautiful village of Castle Combe, Wiltshire.The atmosphere in the hotel is very welcoming with log fires in the lounges and bar. The room was large, well appointed and very comfortable and even had a television in the bathroom wall so that you can sit in the bath and not miss a thing! The room was situated in the main house overlooking the grounds.
The Bybrook Restaurant is Michelin Star and the meal we had in the evening was excellent and beautifully presented.All the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.
The village is mainly 14th Century and is at the bottom of a steep valley with a river running through and is most picturesque. The last time I had visited the village was 60 years ago and it had not changed as far as I remember.
The breakfast was very good and all in all a super visit to a superb hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Wide choice.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The Manor House Hotel is beautiful! I can see why people get married there. We stayed in one of the cottages off of the main hotel. Our room was spacious. The bathroom was huge and the shower was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable!

It’s very peaceful there. We took the train in so we didn’t have a car to drive other places. We enjoyed just relaxing and walking through the village and on the foot paths.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Katherine M,

Thank you for the lovely review and great comments.

I hope we may get chance to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

My wife and I spent two delightful days at the manor, albeit in late winter with cool wet weather. The website pictures do not capture the true elegance and beauty of this country estate. To begin, all the staff were genuinely welcoming, friendly and eager to please. The many public rooms are well appointed and comfortable, whether you want to read, chat or simply have a drink next to a warm fire. The wood paneled bar is a classic. The Bybrook Restauant is elegant and has exceptional food and service. While we did not see all the grounds, the terraced gardens were a real delight. The adjacent village is postcard-perfect although it can be a bit crowded with daytime vistors.

We chose the Ludlow Cottage. It is quite enchanting with its two floors and a wood-burning fireplace in the main room (the bedroom is upstairs). The staircase is appropriately creaky. This and the other nearby cottages are centuries old, except for a very modern and luxurious bathrooms. Our cottage also has a small kitchenette and yard which would be handy for longer stays.

Our only regret was that we only had two days to stay here. Next time we will visit in spring or fall for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorcalWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear NorcalWanderlust

Thank you for the lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Ludlow Cottage.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews