We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat and lovely setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hinton Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ova I
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat and lovely setting”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I would highly recommend Hinton Lodge. We stayed 3 adults and a tot, perfect to stay with a toddler, nice atmosphere, functional and well furnished house, very nice village location close to Stonehange, Bath, Stourhead, Lacock and lots of other National Trust sites. Would definitely stay again if we visit the area.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12tillymi...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wiltshire's best kept secret!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wow - what a lovely, quirky place to stay. Warm, cosy and very comfortable. Place was spotless and linen was clean and crisp. Wonderful if you want to get away from it all, especially after a hard day's shopping in Bath. It was my friend's 50th; Cleo had kindly supplied a bottle of champagne and flowers for her arrival. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unusual building
Liked least: Early check-out
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cosy and peaceful”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed in this charming cottage for 4 nights. very cosy and quiet,although not far from Devizes, great museum here. many pubs to eat at. Although further afield, shopping good at Clarks Village Street. so many historical sites to see in this area though. love the Roman Baths.....look forward to coming back to this cottage soon.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and warm
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathym271
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“perfect cottage for friends to celebrate new year and walk”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in December 2013

lovely kitchen and dining area, gardens and porch, lots of lovely canal walk nearby, the nearest pub is a long walk and not really safe in the dark, the lanes are too narrow, Bath very easy to get to. everything you want in this cottage, had a great time. we used a local cab for the pub.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidoo34
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Respite for sister with disabilities”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I bought my sister away for a respite break as she does not get out much on a regular basis. She has learning disabilities and other problems.Hinton lodge is a beautiful quaint cottage,we were stunned into silence as we walked in and had look around,its just how a cottage should be. The living room is cosy and compact, master bedroom is just beautiful,the bathroom is a good size also. The cottage all connects so you can walk round it in a circle which tickled my sister as she walked round chuckling to herself. We will definitely be coming back again as we both loved it, surroundings n scenery are lovely aswell. Situated in a prime location so you can visit different places, we went in trowbridge, visited bradford upon avon and went to the local market in devizes which is on a thursday. There is an on site therapist (lynne) who will come and do massages in the quiet surroundings of the cottage, i had a deep tissue massage and it was AMAZING l, would definitely recommend trying her. The only negative about the whole stay was that on arrival there was no milk or coffee at the cottage and after 3 hrs of travelling i didnt want to have to drive to shop aswell. Also there wasnt any toilet paper left, so i would definitely pack these essentials. Plus the side of the bath is quite high and and effort to get into (i am 5ft nothing) would have been nice to have a separate shower. All in all though the cottage, surroundings, break away has been brilliant will definitely be recommending it to friends, thank you for sharinng your cottage with us, it is like a little bit of heaven tucked away.

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.