We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$79
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$79
View deal
Expedia.comUS$79
Orbitz.comUS$79
PricelineUS$79
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
775
348
182
60
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
775
348
182
60
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea murder mystery tea room hot tub laura ashley lovely grounds lovely hotel sandwiches sunday lunch christmas party lovely room waiting staff staff were attentive executive room evening meal food was lovely pudding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Overall had an amazing stay.
Very helpful and supportive receptionist couldn't help enough.
Easy check in.
Everything you could need in bedroom, lovely view.
We ate in restaurant the food was really nice and we had a bottle of prosecco included in package as well as breakfast.
Use of hot tub gym and sauna included.
We would definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emmamP1110FD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Dear emmamP1110FD,
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star feedback after your recebt stay with us. Im delighted to read your comments and will certainly pass them onto the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Chris Osborne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast were all lovely and the hotel grounds extensive for our amble around following all that good food. Really enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaynorHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear GaynorHC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your comments and will be sure to pass them onto the rest of the hotel team who I'm sure will be as pleased as I am.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Osborne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

I've just returned from a pamper package at Southcrest Manor. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The service was fantastic and the staff went above and beyond all of our requests. Everything was perfect and the afternoon tea was incredible. Everything was so fresh. The covid regulations that were in place were great. My friend and i are already looking at when we can come again!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Miss_Georgia0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear Miss_Georgia0865,

Thank you so much for sharing a wonderful 5 star review of your stay with us.

We're delighted to see you enjoyed such a fantastic stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed the Pamper Break accommodation package.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back very soon!

I will also pass your kind comments regarding the staff onto the team - they will be delighted!

Kind Regards
Chris Osborne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful location. Room wasn't ready on arrival. We were made to wait 1 and half hour for room, and wasn't told when it was ready.
Gym facilities lovely.

Breakfast was self service, not much choice and had limited range for vegetarians. Inconsistent re enforcing guests using sanitizer and wearing masks in buffet location.

Room beds were comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank V4340YVlorrainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear V4340YVlorrainec,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am dissapointed to read your comments and would like to apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay.
Our aim is always to ensure all of our guests leave the hotel happy and if we are made aware at the time of any issues, we would of course resolve these for you, I'm sorry we didnt have the opportunity to do this for you at the time.

Our check in time is from 2.00pm onwards. Sometimes, this is delayed for our arriving guests due to previous guests checking out late, which delays our Housekeeping Team entering the bedrooms to service them for the next guest. As there are currently additional cleaning measures in place, to protect our guests and our team, this service time can sometimes be longer than usual. We would always try and check our guests into an available, clean room on their arrival but depending on how busy the hotel is and the specific guest requirements, there sometimes may not be the opportunity to do so. Please accept my apologies for the check in delay that you encountered.

I’m very sorry that you were unhappy with our breakfast offering. We have a full breakfast menu in place including continental items, with many being vegetarian options. We also offer vegetarian meat alternatives.
Throughout the pandemic we have worked closely with the local council’s covid regulatory team who visit our premises regularly to inspect our measures and procedures along with the local community police. In addition to this, we have been independently verified as Safe to Trade by Shield Safety Group’s Safe to Trade Covid Compliance Scheme. This was even mentioned in the local newspaper last year, we are incredibly proud of the level of covid compliance that we have achieved and work hard to balance this with ensuring the comfort and relaxation of our guests.
We have moved our breakfast buffet out of our restaurant and into our adjacent function room to allow guests the space to be able to remain socially distant, we have also provided sanitiser and disposable gloves which must be worn by all guests when selecting items from the buffet, including milk and sugar. Face coverings are of course to be worn in all areas of the hotel, except if seated for the purpose of eating or drinking. We issue friendly reminders to guests who do not comply with these rules and have worked hard to uphold high standards of cleanliness and compliance in all areas throughout the pandemic.

Thank you for your positive comments on our Fitness Suite and the comfortable beds.

Your comments have been taken on board and we will always ensure that we are improving our guest experience.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Osborne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

We visited southcrest manor hotel for a spa visit, for the day. We hadnt visited this place before but we attended to reception to check in and were told to just follow the coridor/down the stairs to the spa area, noone showed us where to go or what the day would consit of. So we were left walking around having to figure out where to go and start off our spa experience. (The lady in the beauty room Rachel was amazing, so friendlyand did an amazing job at our treatments and making us feel relaxed. She showed us where to go initially, but this should of been explained at the main reception by the duty manager when we first arrived)....

There was only one hot tub and when we got there there were already people in and as soon as they come out we were left to go straight in. Outside by the hot tub and outside the beauty room, the grounds were a bit of a mess, dead leaves, the slabs were filthy, there were hanging baskets around with dead plants hanging out of them bone dry. The garden was not looked after.
This area would be beautiful and so relaxing if there was table and chairs as the sun was shining all day for us, but nowhere to sit...

The laura ashley tea room was stunning decor, but the food and customer service was very very poor. We had one lot of tea/coffee the whole time we were there for afternoon tea, we were handed our afternoon tea on a 3 tier stand with a massive hair hanging over the sandwiches, we told the staff, he pulled the hair off, threw it on the floor, appologised but only took the plate that the hair was on to replace, didnt take the whole tier stand. The milkleft floaters in our teas, which they did change after we told them, but we just didnt get anyone come back to us to see if we needed more drinks or anythin else after. So had one lot for the 2 hours we were there...

We really cant fault Rachel the beautician, she really made our spa experience special, very chatty friendly and did a fantastic job for us. Just a shame about everythin else we experienced. I know with covid its been hard but there just didnt seen to be any staff around to help or assist us... the only person who kept checking on us even in the relaxation room was Rachel the beautician.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Dear Rebecca F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to the hotel, as an independendent hotel, all forms of feedback are invaluable to us, so that we can ensure we are always inproving our facilities and services for our guests.

I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy with some elements of your visit and for that, please accept my apologies. Our aim is to always ensure our guests leave the hotel happy and if we are made aware of any issues at the time we will always resolve them to our guests satisfaction, Im just sorry we did not have the opportunity to do this for you at the time and you left disappointed. I have tried to contact you directly to resolve this for you but unfortunately have recieved no response.

I do apologise you felt that on your arrival you were not given adequate instructions of where to go. Our Reception Team would always direct our Manor Health and Beauty Visitors to the Manor Health and Beauty Salon where our fully knowledgeable team will welcome you and explain how the day will go. Our Duty Managers wouldn't do this prior to you meeting with them as its part of the service the Therapists offer.

We do only have one hot tub at the hotel and this is detailed on our website where it is explained that it is a bookable facility and other guests may be using the hot tub at the same time.
Apologies you felt the garden area was unkempt, your comments have been forwarded to our Gardeners who will investigate this and ensure improvements are made.

Please accept my apologies you felt your afternoon experience wasnt up to our usual high standard. Your comments have been forwarded to the Food and Beverage Manager who will investigate and action any retrianing with his team as necessary.

Im delighted to read your comments regarding Rachel and will be sure to forward them onto her.

Kind regards,

Chris Osborne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews