We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese food.”

Tao's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Prestwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Still a really good chinese restaurant.
Very efficient staff. Food and wine is good value for money. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank L90MAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visited Tao's as a party of 4 including 2 children. Prawn dim sum, seaweed, paper wrapped prawns and spring rolls to start. Chicken with broccoli, Szechuan prawns and beef and spring onions for mains, banana fritter for dessert. The food is consistently good, we have tried lots of different dishes over time. The service is courteous & prompt but not overbearing. We will definitely be back, they offer a takeaway collection too, restaurant quality food at home.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We went to Tao for a special meal to celebrate Father’s Day on Sunday 17th June.

We ordered off the Banquet menu and also an additional quarter duck for our group to enjoy. The meal started off well as we enjoyed our soup but things went quickly downhill from there.

From that moment on, we felt very rushed as our first two courses were delivered in a very militant fashion without the personal touch which we’re used to in most restaurants. We thought it was because they had to turn around the table but as the evening wore on it got quieter and quieter so we didnt understand the urgency.

As the second course arrived (platter), we were first told that the BBQ Ribs which were on the menu were not available. instead we were provided salt and pepper fried battered ribs. This substitute was not only disappointing but undercooked. It was still red and raw inside which we quickly brought to the attention of the waitress. The Manager then came and said there was no more of this left but provided three more prawn toasts - it took a while for these to arrive.

It was after this course that our plates were removed, and we awaited our next course. We were supplied warm plates but then waited a long time for the food to arrive. After around 25 minutes, there had been no interaction from the staff about why there was such a delay. One of us made a light-hearted comment, to which the response was “it’s ready now”. We then waited a further 10 minutes, by which time our plates were cold and we had to ask them to be replaced. When the food arrived (35 minutes after we finished the last course) there was no apology or acknowledgement of the wait and the food was luke-warm.

What was more, we noticed a number of other parties arriving and leaving in the time that we were awaiting our food. The restaurant wasn’t busy so we had no idea why we had been treated this way. We were disappointed with the service, lack of acknowledgement and food quality for that evening.

We won’t be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank X232XUjessicaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We've visited here a number of times, I live locally.

The Early Bird Menu is good value, especially for those who don't want to over-burdened with massive amounts of food, which usually end up being left on the plate, as in some restaurants we've visited.

A reasonable selection on offer, we've been a number of times and the staff are always courteous and polite.

We'll be there next month for our birthdays, we usually have a joint celebration, as they're only 3 days apart in June

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulHT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Food was a good choice on early bird menu.two starters and a main I had hot and sour soup was very nice then had salt and pepper mushrooms they were ok batter was a little soggy then I had tofu/beancurd in curry sauce and rice and noodles for my mains noodles were salty and on the whole good was a little on the bland side I thought but other than that staff are pleasant and it is always a pleasure to eat in here.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Turtlegirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tao's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing