We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You have to stay here to appreciate how fantastic...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Secure off road parking right next to your accommodation Have a meal on your own private patio area and enjoy the ample garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Vicarage - View from the rear
Secure off road parking right next to your accommodation
Have a meal on your own private patio area and enjoy the ample garden
The living room - showing TV and fireplace
Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the cosy log fire
Spacious dining area
Kitchen with full oven/hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer
Prepare a meal of local sea food in your well equipped kitchen
Spacious master bedroom with king size bed and en-suite shower room
Master bedroom en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom with double bed and en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom with double bed and en-suite shower room
Rear bedroom en-suite shower room
View over the secluded garden
Gwithian Beach - North Coast 8 Miles
The Lizard - South Coast 15 Miles
Eden Project - St Austell
Make the most of the many beaches
Take up a new sport!
Relax and get away from it all
Enjoy your stay!
Warm and welcoming at any time of year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sjwilk0
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You have to stay here to appreciate how fantastic it is”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I recently stayed at the Old Vicarage and had a fantastic time. The house and setting is stunning, and the accommodation wing itself is self contained, private and is more than equal to any 5 star + hotel standard. The accommodation itself is brand new and modern and there was nothing that we needed to ask for. The owners were really friendly and helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. We will definitely be returning and have already recommended this holiday rental to several friends and colleagues!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A E
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absoulte perfect place -- it doesn't get any better”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect! We took overseas family for a getaway and The Old Vicarage was indeed the best property we could have chosen. Being so centrally located to many areas of the Southwest, it was easy access to everything we had on our list to see and enjoy. The property is EXCELLENT in every way and the attention to detail made our stay just like 'home'. Thank you Debbie and Paul and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of detail to the property and to the needs of those staying
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahStQ
2 reviews
“Best holiday cottage you'll find!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for 3 night in March, everything has been thought of. Everything you need for a great break. Beautifully decorated, kitchen with everything you would need, hundreds of DVDs, loads of games. Perfect if the weather isn't at it's best. Breakfast goodies all stocked in the kitchen as well as a full biscuit tin. There is a guidebook with lots of recommendations of things to do/see, good restaurants etc. Will definitely be returning!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
50andout
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this.....perfect!”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

From our first email contact with Debbie, the owner of the property, I felt confident that we would have a great experience at The Old Vicarage. I often feel like its a huge leap of faith booking and then paying for accommodation when you are on the other side of the world, but Debbie's professionalism and warmth in her initial and ongoing dealings with us was outstanding. The property is, as other reviewers have commented, genuinely "5 star", which when married with a warm welcome and generous provision of breakfast and other supplies (milk, bread, butter, jam, eggs and bacon) makes for a very comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. The two en suite bedrooms are luxuriously appointed, and we all had a great sleep each night of our stay - there is no noise at this property and the beds are superb. Bathrooms are brand new, spotlessly clean and the provision of locally made shower products is just another example of the generosity of the owners. A cook will want for nothing in the kitchen, with good quality cooking utensils and all the essentials (coffee, tea, oil, spices, cling wrap etc) provided. The main living room was our favorite place though, featuring the original Old Vicarage date stamped brick in the wall over the wood burning fire, the surround sound DVD/TV and the unbelievable collection of DVDs, books and Cornish maps, walking and surfing guides and general tourist information. The information pack provided by the owners about the property and the local area is professional and comprehensive - certainly the best that we have encountered anywhere we have traveled in the last 25 years.
This is truly a very special place and we were very sad to leave. I would encourage anyone looking to stay in this area of Cornwall, which is perfectly positioned between the north and south coast, to book at the Old Vicarage and experience the warmth and character of this wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essie0101
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just stay here!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our first experience in Cornwall and we couln't have picked a better place to stay. As previous reviews stated, the old Vicarage is a 5+ rated holiday stay. Thanks to the owners you feel right at home and the breakfast provided was more than sufficient.
Really enjoyed our stay of a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The inside space, the garden and the proximity to all attractions
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing