We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday”

The Travellers Rest Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Travellers Rest Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Travellers Rest is a beautiful Cornish village pub nestled between Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay beaches, just a mile away from Newquay Airport. This pub is ideally located to relax and unwind as you take in the sights of the North Cornwall coast. Dating back to the 17th Century the pub has a cosy, friendly atmosphere and a fantastic range of the finest beers, ciders, spirits, wines and coffee. Our menu changes on a regular basis depending on what produce we get in from our local suppliers. We are passionate about great quality, home cooked, locally sourced , seasonal fresh food. At the heart of our pub you'll find our team. Its our mission to ensure each and every one of our customers, including children and pooches feel welcome and relaxed. ​ Martin, Natalie, and the Team at the Travellers look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

PERFECT way to finish off our lovely Easter Sunday family fun day in Cornwall! As close as you’re going to get to a yummy home cooked roast! Was clearly a very very busy day but the service wasn’t compromised! Nice friendly family atmosphere & we can’t wait to try some more of the menu next weekend as we have rebooked! Worth the 20 minute drive from our caravan & our family said was well worth their drive from Plymouth! Thanks very much!

Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hayley P,

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review about your Easter visit. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your roast and found it a nice, family friendly atmosphere. It was lovely to see you back again at the weekend. Thanks also to your family for making such a long journey and for their feedback.

We hope to see you all again next time you're down.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went in last night for a quick meal. Ordered just spare rips starter for myself. Very yummy. Good clean pub lovely environment and friendly staffs. Hubby had fish & chips. All good. We always come here everytime we visit mawgan porth. Will def come back. Happy customers.

Thank Mengky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mengky T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your meals and left happy customers. We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Mawgan Porth.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in for a pint on a blustery day, good array of beers on offer, saw some of the food being given to customers and it looked nice, next time we will definitely have a meal.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1969steveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 1969steveb,

Thanks so much for writing a review about your visit. We are really pleased to see you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again for a meal next time you're in the area.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unassuming from the outside, but the large car park was well stocked with vehicles, which is always a good sign. Particularly nice carvery for lunch - meat and veg all good (particularly gammon). Very hospitable waiting staff and cosy atmosphere. Cheap too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi John H,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your Sunday lunch visit. We are really pleased you gave us a try and enjoyed your carvery. We are hoping to have the exterior of the building painted this spring to give our lovely pub a bit of a facelift. She is a little tired on the outside but as the old adage goes never judge a book by its cover and we are really pleased you looked past this and came in to give us a shot. We are delighted you found the atmosphere cosy and our team hospitable. We will make sure your feedback is passed on.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An amazing evening had by us all. Our meals were amazing from Starters to Desserts. Service at this pub is 5* all the staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. We ordered Gin and tonic they had no Gin glasses as they were all bring used, but as soon as the got some back behind the bar, they were washed and brought over so we could swap our glasses over. This was despite the pub being extremely busy. We had an open fire, live music and a fantastic atmosphere. If you get the chance visit the Travellers you won't be disappointed.

Thank Lazydaisy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W, Owner at The Travellers Rest Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lazydaisy73,

Thank you so much for the fab review you have written with regards to your St Patricks Day visit. We had lots of fun so are really pleased to see you enjoyed it too. Ahhh the Gin glasses are so popular and very often don't get returned (hence why we start running low on busy nights) but we were more than happy to ensure you received the correct glasses once we has some returned back. We are delighted you found our team friendly and your meals amazing.

We really hope to be able to welcome you all back again soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Travellers Rest Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Travellers Rest Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing