We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portmellon Cove Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
134
10
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
10
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden roomwell stocked mini barlocal pubmarmaladepiece of paradisepretty gardenpeaceful havenminute walkbeautiful gardensitting areabreakfast was excellenthigh standardstunning viewsa lovely place to staychapel pointa special placeon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

On arrival at Portmellon Cove Guest House we were greeted very politely by Roy and Sarah and found the room to be perfect in every way for our needs. It was clean and very comfortable and the views of the garden overlooking the Bay were amazing. The breakfast was the finest we have been served for a very long time, and kept us going until our evening meal. Roy and Sarah were very attentive when we needed information. We will certainly be visiting Portmellon Cove Guest House again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

3 nights booked in this highly rated guest house. When we arrived and were escorted to our room we were struck by the strong smell of damp on the lower floor where our room was. The décor was depressing - browns and beiges with the ubiquitous beigish carpeting. The room, as advertised, had a sea view - looking out over the pub car park and through a web of telephone wires serving parts of the village. There were some very nice touches such as an extremely well stocked mini bar and supply of sweets and biscuits. There was also fresh milk and very sweet teddies sitting on the bed. There was also a thoughtfully placed red rose in a stem vase on the chest of drawers. The bedding was an odd brocaded counterpane cum thick bedspread, not a duvet - and the pillowslips were also of the same slightly disquieting brocaded type of fabric. There was also a spider web and dead spider by the wardrobe. Much had been made in the advertising of the super friendly welcome to be expected from the landlord and landlady but we only saw the landlady - who was helpful yet seemed very edgy and nervous throughout. We heard the landlord and caught a brief glimpse of him as we passed the office next to the dining room but he neither emerged nor spoke to us or the other guests as far as we were aware. Breakfast was cooked to order - the scrambled egg and salmon was very good. The landlady's own granola and preserves were also good. But the full English, with much awaited white pudding, was small although well-cooked whilst the white pudding took the form of two very small greasy rounds with no particular taste. Something felt distinctly off about the place - I definitely wouldn't go back nor would I recommend it. Everything felt like it had seen better days and there was something sad about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nova F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Owner at Portmellon Cove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

We were surprised and dismayed to receive this rather negative review six weeks after these guests' stay.
We try hard to provide a comfortable, relaxing, peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings and offer an attentive but unobtrusive service. As our other reviews will confirm we usually exceed guests' expectations and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Perfect all round. Lovely touches with fresh flowers in the room and on the table at breakfast. Breakfast was excellent with home made marmalade and granola and a beautiful view from the dining room.
Loved all the extras of fresh flowers, a mini bar in the room and lots of quality toiletries. This guest house is definitely worth a visit. We will be back.

Room Tip: Heligan room is excellent and spacious
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Portmellon Cove Guest House is a lovely place to stay in Mevagissey. Perfectly placed to offer the most beautiful view on the sea. Breathtaking everytime.
We stayed in the Heligan room. Super confortable bed, great room, even though a bit cold at times. We struggled to turn the heating up... The decor is a bit old fashioned but we had a lovely stay.
Breakfast could be improved but the view from the dining room makes you forget about this over-cooked egg in seconds!

Room Tip: given the location of the house, any room would have the same view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OliviaSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome from Sarah and Roy awaited us, and the hospitality continued for our entire stay. Our room was lovely with stunning views of Portmellon Cove. Breakfast was perfect, with so much choice.....didn't need to eat again until dinner time!!! A very well-stocked mini bar with snacks is a nice touch too! A perfect night's sleep on a comfy bed.....we've already booked a return visit! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews