We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a most enjoyable, relaxing, scenic, quaint and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking out from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge living room with lovely sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Looking out from the cottage
Polkirt Forge
living room with lovely sea views
living room
Main bedroom with sea and harbour views
Principal bedroom
Bedroom 2 - King size double or two small singles
Dining / TV room
Our new bathroom (2016)
Our new bathroom (2016)
'Rain' shower
small secluded courtyard
Views across the harbour
Looking down Polkirt Hill
Built on the site of the original Forge in Mevagissey
Looking out  towards the lighthouse from the living toom
Down the steps in front of the cottage - 'our' small beach - at least when the tide is out
Polkirt Hill just up from the cottage
Mevagissey
By the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stuggie19...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a most enjoyable, relaxing, scenic, quaint and fun holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is lovely and larger than we expected ! Extremely well equipt, very much home from home. The outdoor sitting area is very small so we didn't spend time there but handy for hanging out washing. Lorraine the lovely housekeeper made us feel very welcome and even popped round with some milk as she had noticed it missing from our shopping delivery. We found Mevagissey to be a bustling, friendly village and very community minded which is extremely pleasant. Great choice of restaurants, cafes etc really is something to suit all tastes. So much to do in Cornwall will have to make many return visits !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from lounge over the harbour
Liked least: very restricted private outdoor space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We have tried to provide a high standard of accomodation for our guests so it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in Polkirt Forge. Thanks for your booking - hope we may see you again. Carol and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. We have worked hard this year to make Polkirt Forge a nice place to stay and it is gratifying to know that our guests enjoy staying here. Thanks for taking the time to tell us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gebner
Süddeutschland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Carol and I are grateful for such a nice review. More important, we are so pleased that the Forge provided a good base for your holiday in the UK. We hope you will stay with us again. English translation follows with thanks to Google!....

Great apartment
Left on May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Everything perfect, super equipped and lovingly furnished holiday home. Nice view over the harbor from the living room and bedroom. Everything was well organized by the very nice owner. Could not be better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ampolak
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: de inrichtin van de badkamer
Liked least: de inrichting van de keuken (gedatateerd)
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Carol and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Forge. And yes we can confirm that a new kitchen - with dishwasher ! - is planned to be ready for 2017. That will please your granddaughters. ☺ Hopefully they will come back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing