We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local seafood”

Number Five Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Description: Mark and Jasmine welcome you to Number Five, we serve fresh sp cials of Mevagissey fish, delicious hand cut chips our famous homemade steak-mince burger or our new homemade falafel burger. Or just a snack or sandwich, our fresh soup is always homemade. Why not try our new tapas menu available in the day. Just pop in for a pot of tea or our lush Italian barista coffee made by our trained staff! Cake and homemade scones with Roddas clotted cream is available for the compulsory Cornish cream tea (don't forget it's jam first in Cornwall! ) Evening meals from 6pm, and our chefs will prepare your food to order, wether it's an evening fish special, a steak or a vegetarian dish I'm sure you will be delighted. (Call to book a table with us.) Save room for one of our gorgeous puds! We also have loads of gluten free, so just remind us if you need anything (everything from gf scones to a handmade gf beer batter! You will be spoilt for choice!) we also have dairy free and vegan so please ask.
Restaurant details
Description: Mark and Jasmine welcome you to Number Five, we serve fresh sp cials of Mevagissey fish, delicious hand cut chips our famous homemade steak-mince burger or our new homemade falafel burger. Or just a snack or sandwich, our fresh soup is always homemade. Why not try our new tapas menu available in the day. Just pop in for a pot of tea or our lush Italian barista coffee made by our trained staff! Cake and homemade scones with Roddas clotted cream is available for the compulsory Cornish cream tea (don't forget it's jam first in Cornwall! ) Evening meals from 6pm, and our chefs will prepare your food to order, wether it's an evening fish special, a steak or a vegetarian dish I'm sure you will be delighted. (Call to book a table with us.) Save room for one of our gorgeous puds! We also have loads of gluten free, so just remind us if you need anything (everything from gf scones to a handmade gf beer batter! You will be spoilt for choice!) we also have dairy free and vegan so please ask.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We visited this cafe for Sunday lunch, the weekend before Easter. There is a very nice welcoming atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. We were particularly impressed with the local seafood dishes. We had the crab sandwich which was excellent, very fresh and not filled out with excessive mayonnaise. The bread was also very fresh. We also had the fish and chips which again were bought locally and really fresh.

This cafe offers locally sourced seafood in a very unassuming and friendly environment. We spoke to the chefs as we left. They were friendly and very happy to discuss their dishes and where they source the ingredients. We had lunch for four adults and two children. Including drinks, the bill came to a very reasonable £48.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thanks, I'm so pleased everything was so good. We do pride ourselves on our fresh local produce, homemade food and friendly staff. I'm so happy you also felt we were good value, we strive to keep our prices as competitive as possible without compromising on quality.

Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Jane B (previous review) was obviously not functioning when she popped in for breakfast as I have nothing but praise for our fabulous meal on a busy Saturday night!

This was our second visit (visited summer 2016) and we loved it even more than last time. We are a family of four (8 year old twins) and we were pleasantly welcomed. Children's menu is excellent and all freshly prepared. We ate scallops & crab followed by beautifully cooked Steaks. The wine was lovely and very reasonably priced.

We will definitely be back and will tell all our friends!!

Thanks,
Gin O'Clock Cottage

Thank Louloumac999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Many thanks for the kind review. I remember you both with the twins and I'm so glad you enjoyed the meals and wine. The girls were so lovely and well behaved and a pleasure to serve. I noticed you provided your own colouring but you are welcome to use ours if you call again.

Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Food was very nice but the staff were rude and unwelcoming! The two chefs were the most miserable people you could only imagine too meet, and made it worse they weren't hidden in the kitchen, as the kitchen is front of house.
The two waitresses were pleasant enough, the younger one seemed a little afraid of the chef!

We were also overcharged!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Oh dear, you seem to have had a bad day in Mevagissey with 2 x 1 star reviews in one go.
I am sorry none of our staff are certain who you are, and as the overcharging seems to be an afterthought with no details, I'm unsure if this was a simple mistake which was rectified?
Our chefs ARE miserable, I will try to ensure they smile at all times whilst cooking, but obviously they are working and often too busy to chat.
I feel the poor review was a little harsh given that the service was 'pleasant' and food 'very good'.

Regards Debbie
Moc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Visited twice on consecutive evenings, on both visits the food was exceptional, the service was excellent, and the peach melba dessert was a joy to eat.

The staff were friendly, even explaining where the vegetables were sourced.

The fish dishes were cooked to perfection, the chef has to be congratulated on preparing first class meals.

If you want cheap microwaved JD Wetherspoons type pub grub don't go here, but if you want good quality food cooked and presented well then book a table and enjoy.

The specials board is always worth a look.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norbet_Thrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thanks for the lovely review, I am so happy your meals were exceptional and you returned for another evening! Lovely comments about our staff too thank you. We hope you visit us again.

Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Just by chance found this very nice restaurant. Ate in there one night so good booked for next night. Had special main courses both nights, very good. Mussels as starter were excellent. Friendly service. Prices very good for the quality and quantity of food. Give it a try if visiting Mevagissy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mumma-green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Number Five Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Many thanks for the review, I'm so thrilled everything was so good and you booked again for another meal! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number Five Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Number Five Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing