We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
294
213
97
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
213
97
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club la costa steam room st austell bay time share changing rooms spa facilities pool table bedroom lodge woodland walk main building eden project sea view bar and restaurant hotel grounds self catering family room high standard
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We were sent a letter by CLC world resorts to 'Be Our Guest' for 3 nights bed and breakfast with use of the Spa. The Customer Service team assured me that the only requirement was to listen to the marketing team while we were there. No hard sell or pressure.
We rarely go away together so we decided to do it! The hotel is lovely and is in a really good setting - overlooking St Austell Harbour and only 4 miles from the lovely Fowey. The staff were all super and very polite although we felt that there were very few staff for the size of the hotel.
We had arranged that the 'afternoon tea' with the marketing team would be on the Weds afternoon - our last day. We were met at our room and taken for a lovely afternoon tea. Then we went down to the Exhibition Suite and were given the hard sell!! We sat for 3 hours being told how great CLC World Resorts are and how many great holidays we could have with the membership. We were very polite for 2.5 hours but then when we said that we were not interested the attitude of the senior negotiator changed and she was very disrespectful and rude. She still did not get the message and continued to try to sell us the membership. In the end we had to stand up to go before she admitted defeat. We were made to feel that we had 'cheated' them and should not have accepted their offer to stay for free. I would not want to be a member of CLC World Resorts - not because of their product but because of the way they sell their product! It was a very uncomfortable experience and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for giving us your time at our presentation. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and its location and thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Our guests should never feel uncomfortable at our presentation so please be assured that your feedback will be forwarded to the management team and action will be taken as it is important to us to maintain the high standards for professionalism and courtesy we expect of our holiday consultants. We wish you well on your future travels.
Resort Manager, Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

CLC Trenython Manor is essentially a timeshare "hotel" available for those taking sales presentations and for members of CLC's system to exchange to or rent. We stayed in the main manor house, not the lodges. The best features by far are the staff and the restaurant, both were exceptional. The accommodation is ok - Premier Inn have better beds and room decor but the rooms have pretty much what you need and there's plenty of hot water from the powerful showers. The pool is good but the changing rooms are cramped and permanently wet, decent little gym and good sauna/steam room. We didn't use the Spa, there was no reception for it, it was booking only and had an uninviting feeling about it.
WiFi in the lobby and bar is free and of a good speed, but it's non existent in the rooms and restaurant (which is a good thing if you have teenagers!)
The sales pitch for timeshare drags on for 3 hours or more and you have to hurry them along otherwise they repeat themselves and dwell on minutiae.
Overall Trenython Manor is a great base for the surrounding area, St Austell does have a lot going for it but Fowey, Charlestown and Mevagissey are all delightful. there are some good restaurants in the area although the Trenython Manor is better value than most. The Eden Project is very nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms appear large and of similar standard in the main house.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 294stuart793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our restaurant. Thank you for your feedback about the presentation, I will pass your comments on to the team.

Resort Manager, Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Despite an initial hiccup with the hot water, which was swiftly resolved, we had the usual lovely stay. Enjoyed using the pool. Unfortunately wifi was not working in the hotel. We stayed in a superior lodge which could not have been more comfortable. However having visited several times, the decor and sofas could do with being refreshed. Was delighted by the selection of dvds and surround sound system.

Room Tip: Wifi is only available in the reception and bar.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed your latest stay with us and I do hope the temporary loss of wifi did not cause too much inconvenience. I have passed on your comments to our refurbishment team and I was glad to see that the DVD selection was good! We hope to see you again.

Resort Manager, Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

good value, and varied menu, unfortunately only young staff on duty in restaurant and bar - no-one overseeing customers. Gin and Tonic served with cocktail stick up the wrong way and range of sherry offered - but pronounciation of the brands by the bar man showed his lack of experience and knowledge of the types of sherry and how to say them! overall the food was delicious, well presented, only let down again by staff!

Room Tip: only visited restaurant unable to comment on rooms
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eps0msilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Stayed as part of the CLC World Promotion. Chalet was clean and well equipped but a little tired for what we hoped was 5*. Food was satisfactory but attention to detail in the restaurant let the whole experience down. Pool, Sauna and Steam Room were well equipped. The Hotel looked much better than the Chalet.

Stayed: March 2016
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Trenython Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was glad to see that you liked the hotel. I have noted your comments and will pass them to the team.

Resort Manager, Trenython Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews