We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the service & low alcohol cocktails”
Review of The Taproom

The Taproom
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

There’s a lively atmosphere in this restaurant and the food is nice but it’s let down by the service and poor quality cocktails which were very low in alcohol - had 3 cocktails but couldn’t tell that I’d had a drink. Having watched the bar tender make my Aperol Spritz I could see why - a dash of Aperol, a splash of Prosecco, topped up with soda?! Not a measure in sight.

We waited an hour for our main courses and when they arrived a dish was missing. When we chased it, the staff were very apologetic but delivered the wrong dish! As it was similar to what we’d ordered and we were hungry we accepted the dish. We followed another family out who were also complaining about the ‘terrible service’. Not enough staff to service a very full restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank stellac579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Stumbled across this place and glad we did. Friendly welcome into the Hawaii’n themed bar and was advised by the waitress to try the “amazing” poke bowls, she was not wrong. Brilliant food and great service.

For the owners; buy a couple of IKEA high chairs and put a small selection of children’s meals on the menu. We saw three other families whilst we were were but you are not currently catered for children (easily changed). Place is brilliant and staff made my two young boys very welcome.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank danjn365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021

We have just returned home after 10 days at Daymer Bay. We enjoyed two dinners and a lunch at this fabulous restaurant. The staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. We ate out every day and this restaurant was the best. Each time we had four main courses, put them in the middle of the table and shared all 4, wonderful. The food is made freshly and decorated with flowers, each meal was a piece of art. I would recommend this delightful restaurant to everyone, I would also recommend booking as when there we saw people being turned away as they were fully booked.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Ali577889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Stopped on the off-chance. Quirky bar with a Hawaiian theme. Really pleasant views across to Padstow.

Good menu, we had nachos as wanted a snack and drinks but others had full meals and they looked very tasty.

Dogs are welcome and without asking they brought over clean water bowls which was a really nice touch and shows their attention to detail.

Will be back when next in the area. There is a ferry to Padstow and wish we had known that as would have being easier to park in Rock than in Padstow.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Basseth0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021

Very disappointed with The Tap Room, £16 for a Pizza! Ok I get that we are in the middle of a pandemic and the can’t get the customers but seriously.
Placed order with waiter, then changed to a waitress who to be honest needs some training, they forgot one of our pizzas which we waited 10 minutes for and they still charged us, had to ask for more drinks, didn’t clear our empties, also had to ask for sauces, crap service to be honest roman£100 + bill

Won’t be returning

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Adam3385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Taproom also viewed

 

Been to The Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.