We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Long Weekend”
Review of Harmony Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harmony Homestay
Ranked #23 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Is there much to do in Cornwall on a long weekend in December? Yes there is. Friday was a trip to the local brewery (St Austell - good beer) but this was for Christmas shopping in the gift shop - then up to Tavistock for the Dickensian Christmas Market; Saturday took us to St Ives for more Christmas shopping & then to Mevagissey for the Christmas lights switch-on; Sunday - Falmouth, followed by a Sound & Light Experience at the Eden Project; Monday - a quick flight in a Cessna 2-seater from Bodmin Airfield (as you do!) shopping in Fowey and an evening Carol Concert at the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

All of this supported by the outstanding hospitality & excellent breakfasts provided by Charlie & Nigel at Harmony Homestay B&B; where you will find a warm welcome and comfortable, immaculately clean accommodation. Plus, they are only a 10-minute from St Austell Railway Station where you can pick up bus & train links for the whole of Cornwall (it's worth noting that most of the above activity was achieved using public transport).

Without doubt Harmony offers five-star hospitality and accommodation, we have stayed with them several times now in the last few years & their high standards are always maintained. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Luxury B&B accommodation at a very good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

Have just returned from a long weekend at Harmony Homestay and can't quite believe how much we crammed into a 4 night stay. Only 6 hours by train from Derby with a quick change at Plymouth and straight through on the way home. We managed a trip to St Austell Brewery and the Tavistock Dickensian Christmas Market on the Friday. Shopping in St Ives (lots of special events on including Santa arriving by lifeboat) and the switching on of the Mevagissey Christmas lights on Saturday. A trip to Falmouth followed by an evening visit to the Eden Project to experience the festival of light and sound on Sunday. A flying experience at Bodmin airfield on Monday morning to see Cornwall from the air and a visit to Fowey in the afternoon. All topped off by an evening visit to The Lost Gardens of Heligan for late night shopping accompanied by the wonderful local choir Notability (including our host Charlie in fine voice). The public transport links were excellent even in December and only 5 minutes walk from Harmony to the bus and train station makes it the ideal location even without a car. Charlie and Nigel are wonderful hosts and we have already booked to stay again next year to experience Mevagissey Feast Week

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms and they are very well equipped and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We enjoy this part of Cornwall and have been looking for a new base since our previous B&B closed due to the owners retiring.
Good location and close to main transport links, not that you are aware of the main roads etc. whilst there! Our stay at Harmony Homestay was very comfortable - Charlie and Nigel are wonderful hosts and we were very well looked after. Next visit is already booked and it can't come quickly enough!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank deborahweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

St Austell is well situated as a base to explore Cornwall. Harmony Homestay offered great accomodation, fabulous breakfast and local knowledge to help us with our stay in Cornwall. Charlie and Nigel were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. Nigel was happy to help us plan our travels and Charlie provided us with a great breakfast to start the day. A very hospitable couple. Would recommend and definitely would stay there again on our next trip.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GayGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Heading down to Cornwall - my birthplace - for my Dad's 80th birthday celebrations, I wasn't sure what to expect as I always stay with family - what I got was a warm welcome, a spotless, dust free spacious quiet room, extremely well appointed, with a large ensuite and instant hot water, plus a lovely filling breakfast. Vegetarians are well catered for!

Andrew and Sunit

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
3.3 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
2.1 km away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
CLC Trenython Manor
4.8 km away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
1.1 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Homestay

Address: 7 Trevear Close, St Austell PL25 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: RM 329 - RM 438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Homestay offers comfortable, modern, ensuite facilities in a friendly, warm and cosy environment from £60 per night if staying a week or more in a double room. It's quiet yet central St Austell location, which lies close to the Sea, provides a rural Cornish aspect which is ideal for promoting relaxation and convenient access to all that Cornwall has to offer. The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Eden Project just minutes away.With free off road parking a comfy bed, a lovely ensuite, a fresh home cooked breakfast. This could be the base you are looking for, a home from home whilst you are on holiday exploring the whole of Cornwall. Great Public transport links can get you everywhere so car not needed from here.There are some great walks in Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty just a few minutes from our doorstep. Try us and you'll see for yourself. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing