We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor start great finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Our stay at The Cornwall Hotel got off to a bad start as on arrival we were told the spa was closed. This was disappointing. However the enthusiasm and professionalism of the staff over the course of our stay, the quality of the food and the pleasant rooms and surroundings nearly made up for this.
The staff were warm and helpful throughout, the breakfasts and dinner delightful and our room spacious, comfortable and attractive.
Had the spa been open I've no doubt this would have been five stars.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank garethc486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a deal. We ate in the bar the first night and thoroughly enjoyed the food and thought that if the bar food was that goo then the restaurant food would be great. We were not disappointed in the slightest on the second night the food was exceptional. The breakfast in the mornings was really good as-well with a good range of hot breakfast. We didn’t use any of the spa facilities while we were there. The pool was closed for maintenance when we stayed but the hotel had made other arrangements for guests to use the pool at a holiday park about 5 minutes up the road which was really good of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our little stay away. All the staff that we spoke to were really friendly and so helpful especially when it came to seating in the restaurant with the pram. One staff member in particular called Sabina was really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bo8852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

despite the awful weather still had a very enjoyable stay. Mike in the restaurant was very attentive and made our stay very special. The spa is lovely and they had one of the hottest steam rooms I have ever been in . The pool was lovely. The restaurant was great with what I can say is the best fish and chips I have EVER eaten. The fish had a tempura style batter that stayed crispy the whole meal through. The beer was only average. Breakfast were very tasty. The room was clean and comfortable. The elevator was very slow. Check out was a bit of a nuisance as someone was cleaning an aston martin and a bentley, and had the drive cordoned off so I had to trundle the bags a fair way down the drive until I could get to my car

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main hotel, as it has more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Recently had afternoon tea here for my wife's birthday. Very nicely done: a variety of sandwiches, scone with jam and cream, a selection of small cakes, plenty of tea, and Prosecco to start. The room is quiet and tastefully furnished, and service is attentive without being obtrusive. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Left after one night, as the swimming pool closed, no information on website. My fiancée was very disappointed as I was working in the area,so was unable to use the facilities while I was at work. Food in restaurant was good, one of the best burgers I have ever had. Our room was clean and very spacious. It was disappointed that we had to leave due to miss advertising.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank iandebdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallHotel, Manager at The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear iandebdavies,
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, ‘one of the best burgers’ you’ve ever had is praise indeed! However, we are so sorry to have let you down in other aspects. We did talk together about arranging a taxi to the local pool, all expenses paid, and also a complimentary dinner, but I completely understand that this wasn’t what you were looking for on this occasion.
Please feel assured that you will be able to see the changes to the spa next time you stay and, should you decide to bring your fiancée again, please do let me know – we would genuinely like to do something special to make up for the disappointment caused by the temporary pool closure.
Warm wishes,
Ari Nauni
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
4.2 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
23.9 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.2 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
960 reviews
11.2 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
2.9 km away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range: RM404 - RM1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing