We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arches B&B(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bugle Inn(St Austell)
US$81
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage House(St Austell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antonia's Pearls(Charlestown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
365
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspony ridesanimal feedinggruffalo trailwild kidsplay barnzip wiresoft playgames roomindoor poolcream cakehigher hillegg collectingwendy houserose cottageevery morningtoasting marshmallowsfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Very sad to be on our way home from a fantastic week thanks to Farmer Dave, Paul and all the people that work to make a stay at Bosinver so fun, stress-free and relaxing.

We were almost glad when the weather turned and we cancelled planned trips to the beach and Lappa Valley in favour of hanging out on site. Between the two playgrounds, the games room, play barn and swimming pool, all extremely well-equipped and clean, plus the tennis, animal feeding and sheds of stuff to borrow there was more than enough to keep us occupied.

When packing, check out the list of things included as there's very little extra required. Wellies are a must (but even then there are lots available to borrow) and swimming towels, but the cottages have almost everything you could need.

We loved Porthluney and Pentewan beaches and the Eden project, the pony ride and Wild Kids forest school on site, plus Bicton gardens that we visited while stopping in Exeter for a few days, but you really need two weeks here to allow time to indulge in the facilities and also see some of the many local attractions.

Many thanks for our easiest and most enjoyable holiday since having kids! They're already asking when we're coming back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Alix R Thank you for your amazing review, we were delighted to hear that your stay at Bosinver was both a fun and relaxing experience, that is exactly our goal for our guests. We have tried to 'weather proof' as much as possible a stay here on the farm, so it was great to hear that you found lots to do on the more inclement days of your stay, and that the children enjoyed the Wild kids club with Tatum and the pony riding with Helen and Dave . Its also good to know that you found our central position here in Cornwall convenient for getting out and about to some of our wonderful beaches, and local tourist attractions. I hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you back to Bosinver again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a wonderful family stay at Bosinver, the accommodation is outstanding and everything is immaculate. Our children loved the tree swing and adventure playground area. There are plenty of things to keep children occupied during the day if you choose to stay on site, a lovely warm swimming pool, tennis courts, play areas and nature trails. Although our children took their iPads with them, they did not use them once, instead they preferred playing out in the fields and having lots of fun. Dave, Paul, Helen and Pat made sure everything was absolutely perfect. We would thoroughly recommend Bosinver, it's such a lovely and magical place to experience a family holiday where wonderful memories can be made.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mr A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Hi Mr A O We were delighted to receive your wonderful review and thrilled that you found Bosinver to be an outstanding place to enjoy your family holiday. Nothing makes us happier than to know that the Bosinver 'magic' can tear children away from their iPads for just a while, especially if it is to discover all the delights of the great outdoors which we have in abundance here on the farm, we have tried hard to provide something for all ages, from morning animal feeding with Farmer Dave, through to the woodland walks, Wild Kids club, Grufflo trail, trampoline, Wendy House, rope swing, zip wire, Pool, Play barn... and much much more, and we are thrilled to learn that you and the family explored all around our 30 odd acres, and made good use of all these facilities. It was lovely to have you come to stay with us this year, and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We stayed at Bosinver Farm for 7 nights and loved every minute of it. We were a group of 5 adults and 2 children and decided to stay in Jack's Barn which was ideal for our requirements. A large living room, huge dining table and well furnished kitchen. All of the rooms were clean, light and the whole place had a homely feel to it. Jack's Barn could perhaps do with 1 more toilet as it has a large family bathroom upstairs and a small ensuite downstairs but we made do just fine.

Everyone at the farm from Farmer Dave and his son, to Nana Pat, Joan et al were incredibly friendly and helpful. You are largely left to your own devices but there is plenty of advice and guidance from the Bosinver family as and when you need it. My children loved feeding the animals every morning at 9.45am as well as exploring the lake, Gruffalo trail, zip wire, slides, swings and indoor soft play room. There is a games room also for older kids (table tennis, pool etc). The swimming pool was warm and clean with plenty of floats left out for the kids to use.

If I had to point out one area of improvement the gym could do with some new / updated equipment to be in line with the modern standards of the rest of the farm but still there was ample space for 1-2 people to have a workout, tennis courts outside and plenty of places to go jogging.

We spent some incredibly valuable time together as 3 generations of our family and cherished our time at Bosinver.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are quite unique and located at various parts of the farm.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Chetan L Thank you for your amazing review, we are delighted that you enjoyed a great holiday with us, and spent lots of quality time here with your extended family, Jacks Barn is a perfect cottage for exactly that kind of gathering, and we agree there is nothing quite like sitting around a family sized table, enjoying a meal and spending quality time with special people. Its wonderful to hear that the children enjoyed farmer Dave's animal feeding time so much, he really works hard to engage with each and every child and its lovely to watch as the shyer kids come out of their shell during the course of the week, so I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him and the rest of the team. its also great to know that you made good use of all the other facilities we have on offer here on the farm. I hope your stay at Bosinver has left you with happy memories which will last for years to come, and that we can welcome you back to Bosinver in the near future to make even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We stayed at Bosinver in August for 1 week with our 1 and 5 year old and it was a fantastic holiday. We would highly recommend and are returning next year. We stayed in Coliza which was a perfect location for our 5 year old as we could just open the back door and she could go and play. The garden has climb ons, a sandpit, a large trampoline, swings and a lovely wendy house just outside the backdoor (but we had no issues of noise). Highlights included the animal feeding every morning with Farmer Dave (the 13 month old was cock a doodling all week) and a lovely warm swimming pool with floats and noodles provided. Everywhere is spotless and in great condition. We had a wet week so made use of the playbarn with the soft play but also the trails in our wellies. Lots of gear to borrow for the beach, mud or just walking (we tried a baby carrier) and nothing is too much trouble (cake and fresh flowers waiting for us on arrival). Lots to do locally as well - would recommend Camel Creek for 5/6 year olds, Charlestown was lovely and we went crabbing in Mevagissey. Highly recommend Bosinver to families with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The_Nicholsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi The_Nicholsons, Thank you for this brilliant review.We are delighted that you had a 'fantastic' holiday here at Bosinver. Coliza is a very popular cottage amongst our guests who require a place for the smaller family, and as you say, it is brilliant for children, who love having a play area so close to the cottage, we find that noise is seldom an issue affecting any of the cottages, as we have so many activities spread out over the 30 odd acres that make up Bosinver farm. Farmer Dave is thrilled to hear that he has a.. cock a doodling...fan, especially one so young :-) he does work really hard to see that the children take home great memories of the daily animal feeding. Its great to know that the inclement weather you experienced at times during your stay didn't deter you from having a brilliant time, and that the play barn and pool helped to brighten the days. We are thrilled to hear that you intend to return again next year and we will look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Bosinver 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Booked Jack's Barn for early August to accommodate 2 x 69 yr old grandparents, 4 x adult parents and 4 kiddies (1 x 5y; 2 x 3y and 1 x 9m). With usual poor weather down here the house had to cope with us all in it or at least close by. It did well although at times we would have welcomed another loo downstairs. Large, very well equipped kitchen with great slidey (but safe for the rest of us) floor for crawling baby and substantial sitting area with resilient, comfy chairs / sofas etc. TV, dvd OK and wifi adequate. Heating and hot water simple to control.
Bedrooms - ours was downstairs and undisturbed by the 02.30 and 06.00 revelry upstairs. Stairgate was effective. We are used to more bedroom floor area (and a larger bed) but this was no problem and did keep clutter to a minimum. Our shower was fairly small but grandpa managed OK despite his bulk.
There was a small garden that we did not use as the estate fields and amenities were literally on our doorstep.
All the amenities were first rate and not at all crowded despite rain. WE enjoyed taking all the kids to the brilliant playbarn - they are used to these things and rated Bosinver's as fantastic. The extremely well kept heated pool was marvellous for all of us. Again we are used to these locally at home and Bosinver's compared brilliantly. The small, diverse farm was designed for safe, educational interaction with the kids. They fed the chickens, roosters, ducks, geese, goats, sheep (was there a pig?) every morning and came back with their collection of eggs for their second breakfast. Farmer Dave and his colleagues were lovely, patient and helpful at all times. He was always there without being at all intrusive.
Introductory pony rides with Nanny Pat and her assistants on the Tuesday went down well - we shall be interested to see how our children manage their kids aspirations re. horses!
Car parking easy but we did push it a bit with three fairly large motors.
Around and about - Mevagissey was close by, interesting - good restaurants and relatively easy parking. Charlestown impossible for parking. Beaches - good selection in the Pat and Davids guide book but again parking was always tight and the roads a bit hairy for the inexperienced. Heligan was tremendous. Inn at Polgooth pretty good for our sort of group but should beware going too much towards chips / dogs and fast food. Large supermarkets close by in St Austell to supplement the arrival delivery - we had forgotten how much young families can get through.
In summary - this set up was ideal for the three generations. We could have just stayed on site all week and still enjoyed it. Not cheap but you get what you pay for - well done and thank you all staff.
Will probably do similar next year and certainly book as early as possible. Pity we can't control the weather!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi travellerLondonUk Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely and wide-ranging review, we are delighted to hear that Bosinver proved to be an ideal center for you and your extended family to have a relaxed and memorable holiday , and that Jack's Barn in particular proved to be a big hit with the grown ups, and even more so by a little slidey baby :-) Its pleasing for us to hear just how much the children took from their experiences here on the farm, we work hard to provide things that are both fun and informative for the children, hopefully helping them to take memories away that will last long after their holiday has ended. Your kind words are appreciated by all the staff. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bosinver again very soon, when with a bit of luck the weather will be kinder to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews