We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penmenner House
Ranked #2 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Lovely stay, comfy room and super friendly hosts. The Full English is the Morning was one of the best. Really good location in the Lizard, great sea views from room and house. Very welcoming and accommodating of the dog as well. Would definitely recommend and hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Lighthouse room is lovely!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bossy_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts, especially as it was served in such an 'interesting' way on your final morning.
Thank you for seeing the funny side! We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Our first stay with the new owners, been a few times before and happy to say its as good as ever! Excellent breakfast cooked and presented perfectly. Very welcoming hosts and one of the most comfortable beds ever :) If you like Cornwall you will love this place, perfect for walking, fantastic views and only minutes from the SWC path. There is a great pub in the village, only 10 minutes stroll away plus shops and a great chip shop too.

Room Tip: All good, The lighthouse room is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveK0974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our comfy beds and breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Lovely short break. Very attentive hosts, Susan and Geoff. Everything thought of. Lovely bright clean rooms, Great views, Good Food. So much attention to detail and thought had gone into the accommodation. Fab break in fab area. The hotel inspector is redundant as far as this lovely hotel is concerned.

Room Tip: All rooms good, all quiet. Great stay in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for your great review. We do appreciate it and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived wet and tired and we were taken care of splendidly by Susanna and Geoff. Our room "with a view" was warm and cosy and every detail was taken care of. We were served tea and scones in the drawing room where we sat by the fire. Beautiful and sumptuous breakfast with Cornish hogs pudding. A treat. We felt thoroughly spoilt.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank miekebreuning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a shame to have to light the log burner at this time of year, but we want to make sure that our guests are warm and cosy, whatever the weather. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Not only the hosts also the ather guests were nice and friendly. Room and bath very clean. The breakfast with ererything you can imagin, all good food very delicious. The house is old but sympathic and all in best conditions. Only the walls between the rooms could be thicker.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O3866DWmichaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here.
As you say, it is and old house, which is full of character, and which we are continually improving. Some of our walls are extremely thick, as the electrician who has had to drill through some of them will affirm. As we do further work to the house, we are adding extra thickness and insulation to the other walls as we go.
We hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Lizard hotels
0.7 km away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 km away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in The Lizard
238 reviews
0.5 km away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in The Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner House Penmenner Road, The Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range: RM329 - RM383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing