We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
150
4
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
4
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and battention to detailatlantic roomfruit saladwarm welcomefantastic viewscooked breakfastsouth west coast path walkdrawing roomfull englishwonderful weekendshort walk to the villagebank holiday weekendgreat bathroomlizard villagebreakfast roomdays walking
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at Penmenner House. What can I say, the best B and B we have stayed in. Susan and Geoff are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. Their attention to detail is amazing, the room lovely and excellent breakfasts. The cream tea we received on arrival was such a nice welcome.The location is really good too, if you are going to the Lizard you should definitely stay here! If we are down that way again won't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mayor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back if you are this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Penmenner House in July following 5, slightly wet and windy, nights camping and were very warmly received by Geoff and Susan. Penmenner House is a stunning B and B with beautiful and tasteful decoration throughout. We stayed in the Pen Olver room which, although a twin room, was made into a super duper kingsize bed in anticipation of our stay (bliss!). The attention to detail that has gone into Penmenner House is a credit to Geoff and Susan who make sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay including access to fresh milk (no UHT here!) and bottled water. My husband enjoyed the full Cornish breakfast he had during his stay and my vegan requests were met with ease. I must make a special mention of the freshly baked bread we had for breakfast which was simply delicious! We would not hesitate to recommend Penmenner House to friends and strangers alike, it is a beautiful and welcoming B and B which is in a fantastic location to explore the Lizard Peninsular.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HMcBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and we are really glad that you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

A wonderful place to stay. Luxuriously comfortable room, peaceful and calm environment and warm friendly hosts who make you feel special and attended to. A rare find in a beautiful part of the UK. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lowdenrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here. The Lizard is indeed a beautiful place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Four tired SW Coast Path walkers are greeted by Geoff at this lovely property a few minutes from the path. What’s more, and totally unexpected, a cream tea awaits us. Large bedrooms are comfortable, clean, and classily decorated and furnished. Breakfast is a feast. Basically, our one-night stay is luxury at modest prices given the quality of what is provided. Penmenner House is also just a few minutes from local pubs - in the evening we relax, drink and eat in the garden of The Witchball which we highly recommend. I cannot complete this review however without writing of Sue and Geoff’s amazingly calm equanimity in the face of the incident of the Hot Chocolate and the Cream Carpet. I hope we haven't blotted (pun intended!) our copy books for a return stay. We recommend this B&B very highly; perfect - nothing else to add!! - book early!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike_the_Blues_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your great review. The hot chocolate incident provided us with an evening of entertainment as you and your family treated us to a session of impromptu Morris Dancing as you carried out the clean up operation. You certainly haven't 'blotted your copy book' as you put it, and you would all definitely be welcome back when you are this way again. We might move the wobbly book ends to a safer place though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We would highly recommend Penmener house for your stay on The Lizard. Everything about this luxury stay was perfect. Very friendly hosts who have thought of everything to make their guests feel special and relaxed in their beautiful B & B.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diane_barltrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you also for recommending it to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews