We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont(Belmont)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Motel Belmont(Belmont)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn(Belmont)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Motel(Warners Bay)
US$86
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warners at the Bay(Warners Bay)
US$82
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalina Motel Lake Macquarie(Toronto)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pippi's at the Point(Speers Point)
US$62
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gunyah Hotel(Belmont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
26
15
19
15
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
15
19
15
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew managementlake macquariefamily functionroom was cleanbad reviewsspectacular viewsbbq arealate at nightlovely spotwould stay againa great staysunsetlakeviewconditionerrebeccaclosurefoyer
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

When we visited in very wet weather, the hotel was not very welcoming. We found it hard finding any staff to be able to check in and found nobody to check out with. Fortunately we were visiting relatives, so food wasn't an issue, but although the restaurant looked functional as the tables were laid up, no food was available either in the evening or at breakfast. The room was passable, but was definitely in need of modernisation and TLC. It was clean to a point. I would not return unless there were dramatic changes. The hotel is in a very good spot next to the lake, so has a lot of potential.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank kazza154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Have stayed hear a lot over the last 4 years & seen a lot of different owners the new owners need to have a look at their office worker & cleaner the rooms in the past where always cleaned,towels,toilet paper,soaps & everything replaced & cheeked daily but not the case anymore & service was a joke will never stay here again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank working-away7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The place is under new management and is undergoing a refurbishment of the property to bring it back to what it used to be like. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The sunsets here are truly breath taking, by far the best on Lake Macquarie. A special mention must go to the manager Julie, who eye for detail and the personal attention she gives is second to none. The rest of the staff are very friendly and are all willjng to go that extra mile to make sure that your stay is most enjoyable. In the not to distant future this Hotel will be back to its glory days under the watchful eye of the incredible Julie. I thank you for making my stay such an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank phdman069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I spent the weekend with my two young daughters enjoying the hospitality of Julie and Deb amazingly. The spectacular views, complex and chilled nature of the place whilst it undergoes upgrades in other sections is nothing but refreshing.
My youngest caught her first fish on the jetty (we were lucky as it was undersized, so pulled the hook and threw the little lucky on back to swim for another day) whilst we also enjoyed the great lakeside park, and kids play area's along the foreshore a stones throw south.
Can't say much more than we've booked more weekends already in advance, and looking forward to many more!
Thank you Julie and Deb :)

Room Tip: Front rooms have the most amazing view Rear ones are larger and open onto a great grassed courtyard area
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Butenhofner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Stayed here on cousins recommendation, but place seemed to have gone down hill since he last visited. It was difficult to find any staff and when we did they were very brusque. Nobody was around when we checked out at 0900. It would appear they do not serve breakfast even if we wanted it, though the restaurant was laid up.
Everywhere looked in need of major refurbishment and tidying up.
Would I stay again - it would have to improve a hundred fold!!

Room Tip: Good lakeside views from some rooms
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews