We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #4 of 8 Berry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed in late April 2015 with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday.
Haven't been to before, so what a wonderful introduction to the South Coast! We arrived on Sunday afternoon after driving down from Sydney, and the property is very easy to locate, just off the main road leading into town. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jenny the owner and Billy, the charming Burmese house cat (and most probably the master of the house!) in the courtyard. The B&B has a lovely setting with approximately 20 acres of gardens to explore, a pond as well as a tennis court and a solar heated swimming pool.

Jenny was very courteous, showing us the drawing room, kitchenette and our room as well as the outside courtyard that each room has. She also provided us with some maps and tips on where to eat should we be hungry in the evening. Had to laugh at her mentioning that Billy likes to sleep on the heated tiles, we were expecting to hear him scratching at the door in the middle of the night for some company!

Beautiful rooms, lots of lovely country estate furniture and fittings, bathroom is spacious and there is a bathtub to soak in if you've been trekking through fields all day upon return. Bed is very comfortable, with plenty of extra blankets for warmth, as well as an electric blanket for winter. Each room has a small TV, an iPad and radio, coffee and tea as well as a kettle, ironing board and iron. Pretty much everything you might need on a weekend away. Lots of board games and DVD's available as well.

We met Rick, Jenny's partner later in the evening who is very amusing and provided us the must know knowledge of Berry - where to find the famous Berry doughnut van! We found it - thanks Rick!

Overall, my girlfriend and I absolutely loved our stay at the Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse, and we highly recommend it to anyone looking to experience the delights of Berry and the South Coast. We would re-book and visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view of the rolling hills from the courtyard, so regardless of your choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2015

We were very much looking forward to a relaxing weekend in what promised from the Net etc to be a wonderful B&B.
On arrival the property looked promising until we were greeted ( no smile) by the owner and shown around in a most officious way. Our rooms were large and lead out to a lovely small individual garden. On closer look, the bed is so high off the floor you literally have to climb into it. The tiny TV had to be moved if you wanted to watch in bed. No separate shower in the bathroom- I remind you we are paying over $300 per nt per room. The towels were more like hand towels in size and those horrid little soaps one usually gets in cheap motels were provided.
There was an enormous lounge in which to sit to read a boom or play a game and also to have breakfast but if you wanted a coffee or tea you had to go back to your room to make it or to the small kitchenette across the hall from our rooms which also had inexplicably a treatment bed in it- somewhat lacking in any charm. Back we went to the lounge with our coffee- one would think at these prices and in the era of Nespresso machines the budget would stretch to providing one of these. And what about a nice home made biscuit instead of Cadbury.s favorites that are provided.
There is Muscat available although who in the 21st century drinks Muscat.
A stroll down to the solar heated pool for a dip is impossible- there's a film of dust over the top of it with what looks like cobwebs and insects despite the presence of a non effective pool cleaner.
We sit down to a tasty breakfast abut again the la k of charm-great home made yoghurt served out of the plastic container on which it is bought, jams in an ugly plastic container that has seen better days. The coffees good.
On 1 of the days we decided to buy sandwiches etc in Berry and sit in the lovely courtyard outside the lounge- first we had to clean off the leaves etc from the table and the chairs - we had to drag the coffee we made from our rooms.
This could be a glorious place - wonderfully big gardens- ( the poor agapanthus out the fron were all dying for lack of watering) and spacious rooms if taken over by someone who loves and cares for it and for hospitality.
NRMA gave it 5 stars - don't think their inspectors have been for a while! Far too much money for what you receive!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ONEOFFWONDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

This place is a must if you like old world charm. Very peaceful and quiet with large gardens to walk through. If you opt to have breakfast included you will be treated to lovely local and organic food including eggs from the chickens on site, house made jams and tomato sauce. You can finish your evenings with a nightcap of locally made Muscat in the sitting/dining room if you wish as well. Excellent service by the two owners who are warm and welcoming. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sunny rooms looking out on the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alicia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

My husband booked a weekend at this B&B so we could attend a close friend's wedding. There are limited accommodation options in Berry and the owner of this establishment knows it! This B&B does not allow children and we were looking forward to a lovely weekend away without our 10 month old son.
One month before the wedding I tried to cancel the accommodation because our childcare arrangements cancelled on us. The owner refused to allow any kind of refund, even partial, despite the fact that we gave over a month's notice and there would have been no issues obtaining replacements guests considering all accommodation in the area is already fully booked that weekend.
The owner also refused to make any exception to the "child free" policy, despite the fact that our son is under a year old and so wouldn't really need any facilities at the accommodation.
So, we are stuck with an expensive room that we can't use, and no alternative accommodation options to attend the wedding.
Completely unreasonable and disappointing!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank DDMCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

My husband surprised me with a weekend at this B&B for my birthday and I can say the venue was well chosen. The accommodation is nicely appointed and well thought out with very nice grounds albeit at the time of our visit the gardens were needing some attention. It would have been lovely to have strolled around the acreage but the long grass impeded this experience. The court yard at the back of our room as well was inviting but similarly in need of some attention, again we did not get to venture out. The management was pleasant and welcoming, the breakfast was well catered for with very nice locally sourced foods including, yoghurt, sausages and fresh fruit. I also packed my swimming costume given the write up on the internet however to my surprise when I found it, it appeared the pool had not been used for a long time. Either the web page needs up dating or the pool. The location of the B&B is good, nice and quiet and with easy access to surrounding areas, Seven Mile Beach, the Berry town ship, Restaurants and Kangaroo Valley. We would definately recommend this as a place to stay and take some time out from a busy life style.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec12Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berry
11.7 km away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
729 reviews
39.4 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
839 reviews
17.6 km away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Mt Hay Retreat
Mt Hay Retreat
#1 of 8 in Berry
69 reviews
1.3 km away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
4.9 km away
The Drawing Rooms of Berry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B

Address: 78 Woodhill Mountain Rd, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Berry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berry
Price Range: RM857 - RM1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing