We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Anchorage
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
56
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinemiddle beachdelightful holidaybig fluffy towelsfishfully equipped kitchenprivate bungalowserviced dailyjust returned from a weekstand aloneself catering accommodationbedroom unitcomfy bedfour nightsned's beachspecial thanksper night
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just spent a long weekend at Earl's Anchorage. The room ("Kathleen") was excellent - well equipped, large, and comfortable. The whole place extremely clean and well cared for. We went to the associated Anchorage restaurant "down town" the first night and it was so good we went back for the next two nights. Difficult to fault - and we are hard markers.
The accommodation is at the top of the hill which might but some off but we were happy for the walking exercise. Anyway the Lord Howe restaurants will all pick you up and drop you off as part of the service if you choose.
Our only negative is that internet access is by cable and slow. Certainly no big deal but don't expect a high speed VPN connection.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Earls Anchorage has a great location, and very private, you can walk through Stephens Reserve, a wonderful temperate forest to the main beach. In the other direction is Ned's beach and close to the walking tracks to Transit Hill and Malabar. Units are very nice, cleaned and aired each day so it has the feeling of new each time you return from the outdoors. At night you can hear the sea, which is always a lovely extra for a holiday. We rented the two bedroom unit with great mates and there is plenty of room for two couples to spread, cameras, cards, scrabble in inclement weather. The Anchorage resturant, down the hill from the units, was also very good and we enjoyed lunch there every day and some evenings. A wonderful week.

Room Tip: we stayed in No 6 Euca, at the bottom next to the reserve.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anguscows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had 4 nights on lord Howe and the accommodation at earls was by far the best self contained accommodation we saw. The bungalows are cleaned every day and they are spacious and private,giving you plenty of space to stretch out and relax. The location is great , in the middle of the island far enough away from everything to be secluded but close enough so you're not spending heaps of time traveling from one placeto another.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MegSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had 7 days on LHI staying at Earls Anchorage in August 2011. The unit was fantastic. Large, airy, clean, very well equipped and set in lovely gardens – see the photos. We stayed in Kathleen. Support and service from Kathy was outstanding.

The package included breakfast at Humpty Micks (also run by the same people) so it was a great bike ride down the hill for a lazy start to the morning.

Evening meals are no problem. Humpty Micks can do something prepared (including fish of the day!) that you pick up during the day and cook that evening, buy something at the shop or go to one of the in-house restaurants around the island (there are a couple in easy walking distance from Earls Anchorage (but take your torch).

All in all a fantastic relaxing week away.

Room Tip: All units will be great
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank habdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I know it sounds like a sailor's retreat or dive hotel, but Earl's is a superior set of modern bungalows set in a leafy and private garden environment. I was in Tarpon which is a spacious, spotless 1 bedroom and living room layout with kitchen and dining area. It was perfect down to the long hot tub, fast internet (for LHI!) and satellite TV--more so because my two days there out of ten on the island as a travel writer were soaking outside but soothing indoors.

The bed is enormous and perfectly firm to my liking and body type with the joy of lots of pillows. It was peaceful, quiet and comforting the whole time and though there were others in the place, I didn't see them due to the layout of the property. There is a 'transit lounge' for those who have early or late flights and the cleanliness of everything is immaculate due to their devoted and diligent cleaner.

It is the only air-conditioned property on the island and has the added benefit of in-room phones as well as an Ethernet link to the net rather than dicey wireless. The only downside was having to leave. Couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews