We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst meal i have EVER had !”

The Point Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 237 Restaurants in Port Stephens
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A short drive from Nelson Bay, The Point Restaurant offers an award winning dining experience in Port Stephens. Surround yourself with 180 degree views of the picturesque waterways surrounding Soldiers Point Marina while you tantalise your tastebuds with exquisite food and an impressive wine list to match. The Point Restaurant provides a relaxed dining experience fused with fresh local seafood and breathtaking views of Soldiers Point waterways, with sunsets to dine for. Whether it’s an intimate dinner for two, a function or a wedding, The Point Restaurant is the perfect setting. Sip cocktails while you enjoy the soft glow from the legendary Soldiers Point sunset. Mother nature puts on a show all year round for diners at The Point Restaurant – her best display in Nelson Bay.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Honestly .. what can i say, our experience was so terrible. every single item on the menu came out the freezer ( it all tasted like old freezer ice) .and cooked in dirty fry oil or a microwave.the only drink option was a lemon squash. food was terrible and the price was crazy ... please do not go there. i dont know how a place like this could still be in business. WORST BLOODY FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD.

YUCK ! please can the owner sack all the kitchen staff anf burn the place down !

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank daniellG3426IF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2021

We had dinner at The Point last night, found that the service was less than satisfactory and the food quality poor. Order a Peroni and Perseco to start, 20 minutes later the waiter advised they were out of both and could we order something different which we did, while waiting the dinner wine arrived?. We both ordered the Barramundi with seasonal vegetables, it seemed the the fish had been cooked in a microwave as it was that hot with the vegetables under cooked. Won't be returning will spend our $200 somewhere else next time, very disappointing.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 971grahameb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

I cannot fault the staff, the view, the food, the location, the wine list. It was all suburb even when I ordered the wrong dish it was simply fixed, no issues. Oysters were first class, as good as some I have collected and eaten fresh. The barramundi was cooked to perfection. The scallops amazing. Spatchcock, juicy with a nice crunchy skin. Risotto cooked as if I was at an italian resturant. Desserts couldn't be faulted. Kids loved that they got lollies rather than an actual dessert which was a nice change than a bowl of cheap nasty ice cream that most restaurants offer kids. We will be back to try more of the menu even though it is a 3 hour drive from home

Date of visit: March 2021
3  Thank Waldo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

We dined here on Saturday evening and both food and service were great. We both had scallops to start, my husband had Barramundi and I had Lamb for mains. We have been here many times and always return when we visit Nelson Bay.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank YS4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2021

Booked outside table through open table. Arrived early to have a drink before dinner. Informed that because nice night table was given to someone else could we wait till they leave. What could we do. We said we would have a drink. 30 minutes later we approached the staff who we trying not to make eye contact. Barman said he would look into it. Barman found us a table inside away from windows. Sunset and water views fading. Ask barman about our booked table he said cannot do anything just a barman. Planned dinner with family watching sunset and water views gone. Lady who gave our table away not seen for rest of evening.
On returning home receive email from opentable (booking app) that we had not attended our booking and that this can adversely affect the restaurant.
Giving my booked table to someone, waiting 30 before having to approach staff what was going on with our booking adversely effected my evening. The point don’t book at the point

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank Forgottendinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Point Restaurant also viewed

Soldiers Point, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Lemon Tree Passage, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.