We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home at Kennett House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My Mother and I stayed here during a mother daughter trip to Longwood Gardens.

The owner and Inn Keeper, Gilja, was a delight and she was quick to make us feel comfortable and relaxed in her Inn.

The Inn had a lovely porch with chairs for sitting outside in the nice weather months and two different sitting areas within the house; one on the first floor with a fireplace and large comfy couches and the other on the second floor (where all 4 guest rooms were located) that had a table and charis that would be perfect for a round of cards or a boardgame.

The inn was really very quiet even though all rooms were booked the night we stayed.

We stayed in the Delaware room and really enjoyed the sitting room with windows on three sides. Our room was small, but that was not a problem at all and frequently what you find in historic Inns. The room was very accomidating, cozy and clean. The bathroom was also small but had enough room us.

The Inn Keeper created a devine breakfast for us all and she was very accomidating to my vegetarian/flexatarian diet and created a devine mushroom omelet.

I am sure to visit Longwood gardens again and I will, with out a doubt, stay at the Kennett House again.

Room Tip: Deleware room was very nice
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2015

My husband and I took a trip to Longwood Gardens. Based on recommendations, we booked a room at the Kennent House Bed and Breakfast. We were delighted to be greeted with a warm, friendly welcome from the proprietor, Gilja. We stayed in the Delaware room which boasted a new bathroom. The room was spotless! The updated facilities added to the comfort of our stay. Our delicious breakfast was artistically presented thus whetting our appetites. The room, food and attention from Gilja resulted in a wonderfully relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Resource2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The accommodations are in beautiful Kennett Square and B&B is within walking distance to the charming down town. The host was welcoming and very helpful with any queries. The rooms/ suites are beautifully appointed (THE HOUSE ITSELF IS A LANDMARK) and the gardens and wrap around porch allow you to linger outside, Breakfast was excellent. Book early because it is a very popular place.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed in the Longwood Suite for 2 nights while visiting Longwood Gardens.. From our arrival to departure, our stay was fantastic.. while, checking in, Gilja gave us many sightseeing and dining ideas.. She even had discount non-timed tickets to Longwood Gardens and discount tickets to the Brandywine River Museum. We were able to walk the few blocks into Kennett Square to the shops and restaurants.. The Longwood suite had a very spacious bedroom with comfortable king bed and a separate sitting room with a very comfortable sofa.. The bathroom was a nice size with a good shower.. The breakfast each morning was yummy.. fresh fruit, french toast one morning, fresh fruit and mushroom omelet the next morning. Very good coffee...And Gilja always asked if there were any dietary restrictions.. Beautiful house and a great front porch with rocking chairs.. Surpassed our expectations and made our visit most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

My sisters and I spent a delightful week-end at Kennett House. Gilja was the perfect host. Helpful and attentive. The breakfasts were wonderful and we all hated to leave! We would definitely stay here again and enjoy all the area has to offer.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank csfMaineusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
607 reviews
2.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
11.3 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
18.2 km away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: RM525 - RM735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing