We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$143
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
61
15
7
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
15
7
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitecontinental breakfastbeef wellingtonsitting roomsconeschester countygreat mealcheesecakewarm fireplacespring housesteep stairslove historythird floorvalley forgenight staygreat place to staypatrick
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We sought out this restaurant because it was highly rated for its Beef Wellington, one of our favorites. For starters, I had the Snapper soup and my wife the New England Clam Chowder. Both were very good.

The Beef Wellington was perfect, mine was medium rare and my wife was medium.

We finished with a Bananas Foster. Again perfect. Staff very friendly. Will be going back and that's a 60 mile trip each way

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on a Thursday evening as we were up for a college visit from Massachusetts and were looking for a great meal after a long drive. We ordered the potato leak soup, mushroom tart, mesclun watermelon salad, Cape Cod cod with lentils, Atlantic Salmon, and coconut cream pie for dessert. Everything with the exception of the salads and pie were completely unde-seasoned. This was the first time we have ever had to add salt to restaurant food. Conversely the lentils were nearly inedible due to the amount of salt-- it's only flavoring, that it was seasoned with. The mushroom tart was atrocious with a variety of herbs that did not compliment each other. Both seafood entrees were over-cooked and dried out. The only nice portion of the meal was the waitress. With wine, our meal total for 2 without gratuity was over $150. Based on our experience, it's difficult to believe that people actually frequent this restaurant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and service. We tried the crab cake and beef wellington which were delicious. I had the "award winning best cheesecake in Chester County " and it was the best cheesecake I ever ate. Sandy, our server, was excellent. Management needs to add more servers during the busy times. We would definitely recommend this fine dining establishment and look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FRANK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I cannot say enough about Patrick and the team at General Warren. My daughter and new husband live abroad, so as the mother of the bride I was responsible for all the planning. Patrick was a great sounding board and provided guidance regarding menu planning, decor, ceremony options and accommodations. He and his pastry chef helped us create the most beautiful and delicious cake and took the stress out of ordering it from a bakery and transporting it. The food was spectacular and our guests could not say enough about the generous portions, the creatively prepared entrees, and the availability of hors d'oeuvres during the cocktail hour. Several people remarked that they were so good that they were almost too full for their meal. Additionally the wine list is excellent and the quality and variety of beer and spirits was impressive. The bartenders ensured that everyone got what they ordered as soon as they ordered it. You can't beat the setting. We had the event Saturday afternoon which meant we had the entire site to ourselves. Our guests were free to mingle at the bar and on the outside deck and grounds. We had the main dining room for the meal and the smaller dining room at the back of the property for the cake display and photo booth. The service was impeccable. The team made sure that glasses were continuously filled, appetizers were abundant, plates were cleared timely and they paid special attention to ensure the bride and groom had time to themselves and got something to eat amidst the festivities. I HIGHLY recommend the General Warren!!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We have been to the bar several times for happy hour, but this was our first time for happy hour on the patio. Absolutely beautiful!
Service here is amazing. So friendly. Our server, Celeste, treated us like long time friends.
Food was fresh and delicious! Vegan flatbread to start. Crab cake sandwich for me. Filled with crabmeat. My husband had a salad with chicken. Chicken was meaty and he said delicious. Their salad dressings are perfect. Chocolate cake for dessert. It was so light!
Drinks also delicious. Raspberry lemonade with muddled raspberries. So refreshing. Rose wine; very fine!
We had a wonderful evening. Planning on going back with a group and reserve the spring house.
The manager has managed to assemble the most friendly service in Chester county!
Will be back...is tomorrow too soon?

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CosmoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews