We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
General Warren Inne
Ranked #1 of 3 Malvern B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Our second stay in this charming tavern and inn. The innkeeper and managers again seemed very helpful. As we entered, we peaked in the rustic bar with warm fireplace that looked so warm and inviting, as it must have for the travelers on horse, from a different time. We headed up the stairs to our room; and entered to see the old plank floors, the fireplace, the old windows, and rustic painted walls. Before you decide to stay here, remember this is an old inn, and if you are not that comfortable with creaky plank floors, old style windows with drafts, and imperfections in old walls and ceilings, you probably wouldn't want to stay here. On the other hand, if you love history and charm, this might very well be the place for you. And be sure to dine in and/or grab a drink in the tavern; that's an important part of the overall experience. Remember too, the bathroom in your room will be tiny - still amazing though how they added bathrooms to this old place, built well before indoor bathrooms.

Room Tip: Talk to the innkeeper before reserving a room - each of the rooms has a different feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deltraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

We sought out this restaurant because it was highly rated for its Beef Wellington, one of our favorites. For starters, I had the Snapper soup and my wife the New England Clam Chowder. Both were very good.

The Beef Wellington was perfect, mine was medium rare and my wife was medium.

We finished with a Bananas Foster. Again perfect. Staff very friendly. Will be going back and that's a 60 mile trip each way

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on a Thursday evening as we were up for a college visit from Massachusetts and were looking for a great meal after a long drive. We ordered the potato leak soup, mushroom tart, mesclun watermelon salad, Cape Cod cod with lentils, Atlantic Salmon, and coconut cream pie for dessert. Everything with the exception of the salads and pie were completely unde-seasoned. This was the first time we have ever had to add salt to restaurant food. Conversely the lentils were nearly inedible due to the amount of salt-- it's only flavoring, that it was seasoned with. The mushroom tart was atrocious with a variety of herbs that did not compliment each other. Both seafood entrees were over-cooked and dried out. The only nice portion of the meal was the waitress. With wine, our meal total for 2 without gratuity was over $150. Based on our experience, it's difficult to believe that people actually frequent this restaurant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and service. We tried the crab cake and beef wellington which were delicious. I had the "award winning best cheesecake in Chester County " and it was the best cheesecake I ever ate. Sandy, our server, was excellent. Management needs to add more servers during the busy times. We would definitely recommend this fine dining establishment and look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I cannot say enough about Patrick and the team at General Warren. My daughter and new husband live abroad, so as the mother of the bride I was responsible for all the planning. Patrick was a great sounding board and provided guidance regarding menu planning, decor, ceremony options and accommodations. He and his pastry chef helped us create the most beautiful and delicious cake and took the stress out of ordering it from a bakery and transporting it. The food was spectacular and our guests could not say enough about the generous portions, the creatively prepared entrees, and the availability of hors d'oeuvres during the cocktail hour. Several people remarked that they were so good that they were almost too full for their meal. Additionally the wine list is excellent and the quality and variety of beer and spirits was impressive. The bartenders ensured that everyone got what they ordered as soon as they ordered it. You can't beat the setting. We had the event Saturday afternoon which meant we had the entire site to ourselves. Our guests were free to mingle at the bar and on the outside deck and grounds. We had the main dining room for the meal and the smaller dining room at the back of the property for the cake display and photo booth. The service was impeccable. The team made sure that glasses were continuously filled, appetizers were abundant, plates were cleared timely and they paid special attention to ensure the bride and groom had time to themselves and got something to eat amidst the festivities. I HIGHLY recommend the General Warren!!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.3 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
19.7 km away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 km away
The Pennsbury Inn
The Pennsbury Inn
#2 of 3 in Chadds Ford
133 reviews
1.4 km away
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
1.6 km away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Warren Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Warren Inne

Address: 9 Old Lancaster Rd, Malvern, PA 19355-2132
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Price Range: RM 666 - RM 968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today's guest at The Historic General Warren Inne will find the perfect blend of old world charm, excellence in American cuisine, fine wines and delightful overnight accommodations. Our Inne is centrally located in Malvern, Pennsylvania in the heart of Chester County. Conveniently located a short distance to a wide variety of area attractions including Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum, tour QVC, or travel to Pennsylvania Dutch Amish Country. Looking for relaxing accommodations outside the city? General Warren Inne is located less than an hour from downtown Philadelphia-explore the Constitution Center, Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Philadelphia Art Museum and so much more without the expense and the hustle and bustle of staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your General Warren Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Warren Inne Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing