We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bucktail Camping Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QUALITY INN & SUITES(Mansfield)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Motel(Wellsboro)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Motel(Wellsboro)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$126
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
7
5
5
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
5
5
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Teenagers at the playground right next to our camper at 2:30 in the morning. While trying to play mini-golf with our grandchildren we were verbally attacked by two teenage boys. When I asked them to clean up their language around the little children they got in my face and my husband's. Thought we were going to be physically assaulted. We reported this to the teenage employee of the campground who did absolutely nothing, Another employee watched as these boys hit golf balls toward campers and told them to stop. When they didn't, nothing was done and they continued. We have been to Bucky's several times because the grandchildren enjoy the activities but we will not return.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank SandiK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Stayed for 4 nights. Sites are very small and very close to one another. Had some extra activities for the kids that other campgrounds don't have but not worth the price. They were doing tree trimming when I was there. The untrained staff worked on same tree next to my site for 2 days. When I complained to the staff, I got a very disrespectful reply. Will not be going back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank darrenb142016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We have been camping for years and found this to be one of the worst campgrounds that we have stayed at. The sites on the lower level are right on top of each other so thank goodness we were on the upper North Pole Loop. Needless to say these sites have strange hookups and are not level either.

When we made the reservation we asked to be near a bathhouse and we were guaranteed that the upper loop had one but upon inspection there was ONE shower for that area so you had to walk down to the pool or lower level bath house. The bathhouse was clean but very small for the entire upper loop.

The roads themselves are VERY dusty and cars were covered with dirt by the end of the Memorial Day weekend - we saw campers actually using their water hoses to wet the road to help with the dust.

Once in our site we found a strange puddle of water that was their the entire weekend (we are not sure if it was a sewer leak or an underground spring) had to watch where you walked. Also, they advertise free wi-fi - well we had it for the first night and an hour on Saturday morning and then NOTHING - we asked about it at the office and they told us that they have problems with the wi-fi and are in the process of changing carriers - should this not be done over the winter while they are closed not wait until the summer season where you charge a high rate and then do not provide the service advertised?

On Saturday we lost electricity for about an hour - we checked with other campers in our area and they were out as well. We went to the office and they did send someone up right away - until they found the problem and fixed it our motorhome got extremely HOT - they found out it was the main breaker so they got it fixed and then we heard that they had to watch the ampage through the line. We thought this was amusing because in the paper you get a checkin with the map and rules one of the rules states "Electric is for lights only - air conditioners and heaters are to be run on a limited basis" - how do you change $70/night and then tell people when it is 90 degrees out to only run their a/c on a limited basis? Come on!

When it comes to the "activities" most campgrounds hand out a schedule at checkin so guests know when things are happening - here it is a mess - previous posts are correct that the rides only run once or twice a day and it takes forever to get on - it is worse than an amusement park. The mini-golf course did look in good shape but it was so hot we did not try it out. The frisbee golf is a joke - it is just yellow painted fire rings around the pool - some of the "holes" are right next to other campsites/camp fire rings so you do not have the room to actually play the game.

We did take time on Sunday to visit three other campgrounds in the area and found them to be nicer and less costly even for a holiday so when we travel to this area again next year (we are trying to complete the Pine Creek Rail Trail) we will be staying with them instead of this expensive and horrible campground.

Overall, the campground was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

It was off season so not everything was open but the kids still had a fun (ages 4 & 7). It's old and outdated but good old school family fun. Vintage arcade games, Minigolf, pool, (small) zip line, ball pit, playground, merry-go-round??, wooden pirate ship.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Mel91837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I have been bringing my family to Bucktail for the past four years, at least three times each Summer. There is always something to keep the kids entertained. From the themed activites, to the rides, the swimming pool, mini-golf and the largest sandbox you will ever see. Yes, there are unsupervised children running around the campground. My children are not part of that group. I am at the campground to have fun WITH my kids, and there are plenty of opportunities to do just that. I have stayed in every style of cabin Bucktail offers. All have always been clean and are a perfect escape from everyday life. The staff is welcoming and always willing to help when needed. My next vacation at Bucktail is next weekend, and our family can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BT-UpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews