We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our reception seemed friendly enough. When we began unpacking in our room we realized we were probably in the tiniest room in the facility. I went to the front desk to inquire about the room assignment since it was obvious that the occupancy rate was extremely low. The front desk person apologized and said we should have been upgraded when the room was assigned earlier in the day. When asked why we weren’t upgraded when we checked in, there was no real response, other than to offer the upgrade now that we were totally unpacked in our “tiny” room. When I say “tiny”, if someone was sitting at the desk there was no room to walk between them and the bed. The only furnishings in the room other than the bed and the desk chair was a curved loveseat. No room for a side table beside the loveseat. The love seat had to be the most uncomfortable piece of furniture ever manufactured. The room had apparently been recently remodeled, with new wallpaper, new carpet and a new built-in desk. Unfortunately, nothing was done to the tiny bathroom. There was approximately 6 inches to 8 inches of usable space on either side of the sink. The bathtub was apparently the original tub and had developed rust stains as well as what appeared to be mold spots on the caulking and the drain. The bed was comfortable, although sleep was difficult. Whenever the heater would engage, it sounded as if a freight train was coming through our room. This was apparently the original air conditioning/heating unit as it had significant scratches and rust stains on it. We will select other accommodations the next time we are in the area.

One positive was that at check-in the desk clerk did provide a voucher for a free coffee due to our “VIP” status. This was genuinely refreshing as most Courtyards do not offer free coffee in the lobby for guests anymore since they now have a Starbucks facility in house.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisAnneCY, General Manager at Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review of our property John B. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced as it regards to the size of your room and that you were not upgraded prior to arrival. This is completely unacceptable and I have discussed this with my front desk team. As you had stated we are recently renovated with regards to our rooms, however the construction team did not alter the overall shape and size of the rooms as it regards to the bathroom. The noise from the air conditioning unit and rust in the tub also have been addressed with my maintenance personnel. Again, I do apologize. Although you have mentioned you will not stay again, I hope you would reconsider and give us another opportunity to impress you. Thank you again for the review as any and all feedback continues to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are 3 Marriott properties in this area and this Courtyard offered a very attractive price. Many areas have been revitalized here with attractive furnishings. The staff here are all A+. The one downside we encountered was the bedding which offered unusually hard mattresses but perhaps you like hard mattresses. Just up the hill are many shops at the Shops at Montage as well as a Starbucks and Paneras.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmartibOswego_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy W, Manager at Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Though it is good to know you valued our central location and all the great opportunities it offers,plus our amazing staff, we are sorry to hear your experience overall could have been better, due to the comfort of the bed. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience we know we are capable of creating next time you are in the area!

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is under remodeling but it didn't disturb our stay at all. Most of the hotel has been updated and it looks great. You can smell the fresh new carpet and the rooms were very clean. The beds were really comfortable and the entire staff was super nice.

Special thanks to Sye at the small, but very nice, lobby bar, who was so friendly that he had 10 of us fully entertained for over an hour. The front desk was also an absolute pleasure as well.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good price, clean environment, friendly and helpful staff and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I was a little apprehensive about staying here as the reviews were all over the place. This is an older property with some recent renovations, and is pretty representative of suburban Courtyards of the same era. My room was one of the nicer, newer rooms which was clean and well-maintained, no issues. Service at the front desk was fine. Entry way carpeting could use some cleaning, not the most welcoming. Walls are pretty thin - I heard screaming infant and kids for several hours across the way. It seems like this hotel gets a lot of business on weekends from weddings, families and sports teams. All in all not a bad place - Scranton doesn't really have any high-end hotels to compete. I'll probably try the Spring Hill Suites next time since they have a fridge and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, at the end of the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy W, Manager at Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback! We apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the noise complaint, but we are super happy to hear the great comments about your room cleanliness. I will make sure to share your review with our Executive Housekeeper and staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future
-Courtyard Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The hotel is modern and had great customer service. The room was comfortable and clean. It is located near Taylor Pennsylvania which is between Scranton and Wilkes-Barre. The staff makes you feel very welcome and pays attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy W, Manager at Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us. The Front Desk agents will be delighted to hear your compliments. They truly enjoy interacting with our guests. Thanks again!

-Courtyard Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moosic
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
0.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
5.1 km away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Address: 16 Glenmaura National Blvd, Moosic, PA 18507-2126
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range: RM454 - RM617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or fun, the Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre provides you with exactly what you need to make all of your travels successful. Directly off Interstate 81 at Exit 182 our Scranton PA location at the base of Sno Mountain in northeastern Pennsylvania makes us one of the closest hotels to the Sno Mountain Ski Resort and SnoCove Water Park as well as Bank of America, Cigna and Prudential. Our hotel in Scranton PA offers 120 spacious guest rooms with plush bedding and cotton-rich linens designed for comfort and productivity with separate sitting areas, free high-speed Internet access and free in-room coffee. Start or end your day at The Bistro with our healthy menu featuring Starbucks coffee, then relax by the fireplace in our lobby or unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. The Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre also offers a 960-square feet meeting room, making it an ideal location for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre Hotel Moosic
Courtyard Moosic
Moosic Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Moosic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing