We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almond tort”
Review of Prantl's Bakery

Prantl's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 54 Dessert in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shadyside
Description: Prantl's Bakery is a Pittsburgh institution. Its "Burnt Almond Torte" and 100+ sinful sweets have been a tradition for the last 40 years. In fact, there's been a bakery in continuous operation at the flagship Shadyside store for over 100 years. Prantl's is a bakery in the German tradition, with old-fashioned fruit Danish and nut-filled coffeecakes, but we can't help but get excited about some of our "new favorites" as well, like key lime pie and our buttery croissants. In addition to our mouth watering special order cakes, we are famous for our "Burnt Almond Torte", which was conceived by Henry Prantl after a trip to California. There was an almond glut the year he went and the Almond Board was trying to get bakers to use almonds in new and inspiring ways. Henry picked up a few ideas and brought them back to Pittsburgh where he refined them into our current recipe for "Burnt Almond Torte", a unique and addictive dessert. If you've never had one, you really do have to try one. If you have had one, you know what we're talking about! Henry and Jane Prantl retired from the business in 2007. The bakery is now owned and operated by John M. Felice, who strives to maintain the tradition of high quality baked goods. We hope you agree . .
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

If you have no reason to go to a bakery find one, it's all about the almond torte, it is worth the trip. Then order a double chocolate cake for your birthday, you will be in heaven!

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the review Michael. So glad you enjoy our products!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

A Pittsburgh favorite ,a must go to. So many things to choose from. The almond torte is delicious. The lady locks reminf me of my grandmas. Yummy

Thank Sas16001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

So glad our lady locks bring back good memories for you. You will have to try to various other Jr. Pastries that we have to satisfy your sweet tooth too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The burnt almond torte with custard is simply delicious and can not be duplicated! They have other stuff that is good also, but the torte is rated The Best Cake in America! It is a must try!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

That you so much for your Torte Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

My family and i were craving goodies so i heard about this place from a family friend. Well needless to say we bought a cake. And it was.."dry!" Not too impressive!

Thank LBAKERSTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We are sorry for your experience, and would love for you to give us a try again! If you would like, please order a cake of your choice from the store, and let the cashier know that Claudia has authorized a replacement cake at no charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Incredible. Went to an event at the Omni William Penn this weekend and knew instantly that the Burnt Almond Torte cake was from Prantl's. A Pittsburgh must.

Thank ladyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you! Yes, we partner with the Omni William Penn for their many events. You must have some excellent taste buds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prantl's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Prantl's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing