We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas are average at best but still a great family vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ridge Top Village at Shawnee
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I'll start by saying that all the staff we encountered or had direct dealings with were very courteous and helpful. As an overview, Wyndam Resorts at Shawnee consist of several "villages" including Ridge Top where we stayed and River Village II where our daughter and her family stayed. The grounds were well kept and inviting. The recreation center, which is use by all the villages, hosts your main reception area, several meeting/activity rooms, an indoor basketball court, indoor pool, game room and an outdoor pool. There is also an outdoor patio area and a field with grills, picnic tables, small playground, volleyball court, etc. As most of the villages are a distance from the rec center, the resort offers shuttle service to and from the center and between the various villages.

We stayed here as a timeshare exchange. As we had been to this resort before, we were aware that many of the units have outside stairs going to the villas. When we stayed before it was in River Village I and there were something like 60 stairs leading to the door of our villa....craziness. Although I know that no promises can be made, I did call ahead to request a refurbished unit and one without many stairs. I specifically requested a Summit unit because I had read previous reviews. We arrived about an hour and a half early so our Summit unit was not yet ready. They were, however, able to book us into a unit refurbished last year with only 3 outside steps. Perfect!

Now, understand that my idea of refurbished and their idea of refurbished might be a bit different. The kitchen had a newer microwave and a new washer. The dryer, stove and dishwasher were quite old. The toaster was so small the bread stuck out of the top...kind of funny actually. The spigot on the sink was so loose, we had it replaced while we were there. The temperature of the hot water was scalding and the stove top got so hot when you used the oven it was dangerous to touch it...I got burned.

The dining area boasted a large table that seated 8 comfortably...we added an extra chair and a stool to accommodate all the grandkids.

The living area was adequate with a queen sleeper sofa, a love seat and an additional chair. It had a wood burning fireplace and a flat screened TV.

There was a screened porch with a couple of chairs overlooking the yard...no actual view of anything except the trees.

Downstairs there is also a 1/2 bath. While it works, if you are of any size it would be difficult as it is so, so narrow.

Going upstairs, the "Master Bedroom" is anything but masterful. There was a queen sized bed and a tiny dresser holding a tiny, very old TV. The closet was adequate however the "master" bath couldn't have been much more than 6' wide...small vanity sink, stand up shower, toilet.

The 2nd bedroom was extremely spacious with 2 queen sized beds, a closet and a small dresser with, again, a tiny, very old TV.

The mattresses could not have been new! They were very uncomfortable and you tended to roll to the center. Didn't seem refurbished to me!!

The 2nd bathroom was more than adequate with a single vanity sink, toilet, large whirlpool tub and a stand alone shower.

If you're looking for a fancy place, this is not it. Understand that this resort has been here a long time and is a ski resort in the winter so it tends to be on the rustic side. From our travels around the resort, units with a view were few and far between. I know from previous experience that River Village I and DePuy Village overlook the Delaware River and the golf course at the Shawnee Inn. All in all our unit was adequate and clean.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished unit with few stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a great place. We were in ridge top unit 252, which is big, has a 2nd level, Jacuzzi, screened in deck, full kitchen, 3 baths with showers. If you plan to use the kitchen a lot, you should bring more utensils. For example, there were no tongs.
The resort is spread out, so you have to drive everywhere, but there were many things to do: 2 outdoor swimming pools, indoor pool, tennis courts, ping pong, game room. When we arrived, about 4pm, our unit wasn't ready (check in was 4 and the room was ready after 7). Because of the delay, they gave us free wifi (otherwise, you pay for each device, about $30 each, for a week). The quality of the wifi was fair. They also gave us free mini golf which was good. (It's normally only $5/person) There are two courses which were excellent.
They have a weekly welcoming party which had some snacks and 3 free drinks of alcoholic beverages, no limit to non alcohol.
You have access to other properties such as the Shawnee Inn which was nice. It has a golf course and driving range and is on the Delaware river, so you can go kayaking for a fee. We had a great family trip and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SammySyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We were really on the fence about booking this property after reading many of the negative reviews. Very glad that we did in the end. If you are looking for the lap of luxury, this will not be your place, but for a family with young kids that needed a clean, decent place with lots of space and comfort, it hit the mark. Customer Service from the staff was uniformly excellent, that does not happen by accident. The unit was spacious and had everything we needed. The old linoleum was offset by newer carpet and wallpaper, TV's in every room, 2 1/2 baths, screened in porch, etc. The pools were decent, didn't participate much in the organized activities , but enjoyed having a chance to shoot baskets in the gym with the kids. We got the unit for the right price and found value. Thanks (in part) for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hail2Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This place is older but it was quiet, clean and comfortable for a week's stay. The beds were comfortable. Plenty of parking near us. The indoor pool was nice since it was chilly outside. There's a small play structure and 2 swings for kids. Our unit had a big screened in porch-saw a lot of wildlife run through the backyard (deer, turkeys, groundhogs, etc.). Close to waterfalls and hiking.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank steellily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Frying pans don't have coating and almost impossible to get decent eggs. The kitchen knives can be barely usable. The lockers need locks. The wifi is very slow and you have to pay $30 per a week per a device

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee on Delaware
5 km away
Quality Inn - East Stroudsburg POCONOS
Quality Inn - East Stroudsburg P...
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
679 reviews
12.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stroudsburg Bartonsville
22.1 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
976 reviews
17.6 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotrun
5,885 reviews
8.1 km away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge Top Village at Shawnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge Top Village at Shawnee

Address: River Road, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Shawnee on Delaware
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Number of rooms: 233
Also Known As:
Ridge Top Village At Shawnee Hotel Shawnee On Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing