We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice visit to State College”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
York, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice visit to State College”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I recently moved to State College, and stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for a few days until my furniture arrived. Clean, pleasant, and quiet rooms. Great breakfast. Outstanding staff and customer service. Excellent value for the money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checklist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the service the staff offered, and hope that you think of us if you have guests visiting you in the future! We'd love to be your extra bedroom for your out of town guests! Once again, thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    208
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
452
109
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a very nice hotel on East College Avenue. It is a new hotel and I have stayed at other hotels in and around state college. This hotel was a little bit cheaper than other hotels in the area. For the price, I was extremely satisfied. The hotel does not have a lot of dining options within walking distance of the htel but it is a great location for the Bryce Jordan and the football stadium. Downtown State college is just down the road from the hotel so it is not that much of a problem. The staff was great and they let me check out late after Thon weekend and did not charge me, even though it was several hours after check out time. It was truly appreciated. The rooms are a little small. We were in the regular room with 2 queen beds. It is just my husband and I so it was fine, but if you were with a family it may pay to reverse a suite. The shower pressure is not great, but it had a good shower head. The sink is in the bathroom - I personally like when it is outside the shower area. And not other mirror except in the bathroom which is commom problem with hotels. In the room safe which was also a bonus I did not expect! You could here when other rooms were entering or exiting their room but not much other noise. Because we were there for Thon weekend, we did not take advantage of the free breakfast. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our new hotel, and hopefully in the future we'll find a restaurant for the property in front of our building. I'm sure that will be appreciated by most of our overnight guests! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Attending our first THON weekend as parents of a PSU student, so a nice place and "comfortable" bed after standing each day was the wish. This new facility (new as of Oct. 2011) granted the wish. Quick check in and friendly folks at the front counter. The room itself was very nice. Just a traditional room (2 King beds) Worked well for 4 of us (wife & myself & 2 kids under 14). Microwave in the room and small fridge. Very comfortable beds and clean all around.
We had to run out to get seats at THON (which we couldn't sit in! The irony) so we did not take advantage of the FREE breakfast. It was a hit & run stay but I highly recommend due to it's newness and friendly staff. There are doors on each end you can access with room key which was helpful for a bit less walking with hands full at the end of the evening.
The thermostat was accurate which is not always the case in a hotel.

Room Tip: Honestly, the place is doing so well with keeping up with their newness that all the rooms I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JmRaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It's great you were able to enjoy the big weekend in State College and particpate with THON. We're proud of the Students of PSU, and I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and it was comfortable for you! We hope you come visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Hotel is brand new, opening in October 2011. Upon arrival check-in was quick, staff was attentive. Given little gift bag with bottle of water and snack chips. There is always coffee, fruit and cookies in lobby for guests.

Room was very nice. There is a thermostat on the wall so you can actually set the temp. you want and not just have heat or A/C on. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice, with a huge walk-in shower. Flat screen TV and free internet in room as well. After being in our room for a few minutes the front desk called to see if everything was acceptable, which I thought was nice.

They have a nice dining room, which offered free nachos that evening. The breakfast was THE BEST complimentary breakfast I've ever had. There were your standard muffins, cereal, waffle maker but there were also eggs, bacon, hash browns with containers of cheese, peppers, onions, etc. to make it your own. There was also oatmeal, with nuts, berries and other things to add to that and my favorite, greek yogurt with granola and berries you could add. There was an assortment of drinks and fresh fruit as well. Also, you were using real dishes, glasses and silverware, not plastic trying to cut a waffle. There were 2 staff people in the dining room taking dishes or helping you out if needed.

The pool and hot tub area was nice. The workout center looked nice with up-to-date equipment, there were 2 treadmills, and elliptical and a couple of bikes. We didn't use the workout center but did use the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klmrace, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're glad you enjoyed our propety and look forward to you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.5 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
3.4 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price range (per night): RM458 - RM946
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing